8 Foods to Avoid with a Gluten Intolerance (and 7 to Eat)

We include products we think are utilitarian for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission. here ’ s our process. many people avoid gluten, a group of proteins found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye, due to personal preference or a checkup condition ( 1 ).

Celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity ( NCGS ) all involve an adverse reaction to gluten and are treated with a gluten-free diet. These conditions are considered forms of gluten intolerance ( 2 ). While both celiac disease and NCGS may lead to intestinal damage and lawsuit symptoms like diarrhea, flatulence, and bloat, celiac is an autoimmune condition linked to other serious health effects, such as anemia, stunted growth, and neurological effects ( 2, 3, 4 ). Wheat allergy refers to an allergic reaction to wheat proteins, the symptoms of which may be life sentence threatening. This condition is treated with a wheat-free diet, not inevitably a gluten-free diet ( 5 ). Although people with wheat allergies must avoid wheat, most are able to eat early grains, including gluten-containing ones like barley and rye. interim, people with coeliac disease and NCGS must avoid all gluten-containing foods to control symptoms. notably, many healthy foods are naturally gluten-free, and quite a few companies make delectable gluten-free products. here are 8 foods to avoid if you have a gluten intolerance, a well as 7 you can safely eat .a selection of glazed doughnuts share on Pinterest

Foods to avoid

You should steer clear of the keep up foods if you have a gluten intolerance .

1. Gluten-containing grains

Grains that contain gluten include :

  • wheat
  • barley
  • rye
  • triticale
  • farina
  • spelt
  • kamut
  • wheat berries
  • farro
  • couscous

note that oats are naturally gluten-free but may be contaminated with gluten during process .

2. Most breads, crackers, and wraps

Most breads, crackers, and wraps contain gluten. The only way to know for certain is to read the ingredient number and check to see which grains are used. If you have a gluten intolerance, avoid the following :

  • white bread
  • whole wheat bread
  • potato bread
  • rye bread
  • sourdough bread
  • wheat crackers
  • whole wheat wraps
  • flour tortillas
  • flatbread
  • bagels

3. Certain condiments

Although condiments seem like improbable sources of gluten, many popular ones harbor gluten. These include :

  • soy sauce
  • barbecue sauce
  • salad dressings
  • marinades
  • cream sauces
  • spice blends
  • gravy mixes
  • malt vinegar
  • ketchup

As an option, you can make your own condiments from gluten-free ingredients or purchase ones that are certified gluten-free .

4. Most baked goods

Baked goods are typically made with wheat flour or early gluten-containing grains. As such, people with a gluten intolerance should largely avoid these foods :

  • cakes
  • cookies
  • pastries
  • soft and hard pretzels
  • doughnuts
  • muffins
  • pancakes and waffles

5. Wheat-based pastas

dry whole wheat pasta noodles contribution on Pinterest Pastas are a staple food in many cultures. Although gluten-free alternatives exist, most traditional pastas are made with gluten-containing grains :

  • noodles
  • spaghetti
  • gnocchi made with wheat flour
  • dumplings

6. Some snack foods

Snack foods are a coarse source of gluten. Gluten-containing snacks include :

  • pretzels
  • granola bars
  • cereal bars
  • chips
  • energy bars
  • cookies
  • snack mixes
  • candy bars

7. Certain beverages

Some drinks are made with ingredients that contain gluten, so it ’ mho crucial to read labels. Beverages that may contain gluten include :

  • beer
  • bottled wine coolers
  • premade coffee drinks
  • drink mixes
  • commercial chocolate milk

8. Several processed foods and other items

many processed foods and early popular items may besides harbor gluten. These include :

  • meat substitutes, such as veggie burgers and hot dogs
  • prepared lunch meats
  • processed cheeses
  • egg substitutes
  • canned soups and soup mixes
  • puddings and instant dessert mixes
  • certain ice creams
  • breakfast cereals
  • french fries and other fried foods
  • flavored tofu

Summary Foods that contain gluten include breads, pastas, crackers, baked goods, many grains, and several beverages and processed items .

Foods to eat

Though it may seem as if most foods are off-limits when you ’ re illiberal to gluten, many delectable and healthy foods are naturally gluten-free. Plus, quality gluten-free breads, pastas, and crackers are available in most grocery store stores. If you ’ rhenium gluten intolerant, you can enjoy the pursue foods.

1. Fruits and vegetables

plowshare on Pinterest Fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. however, keep in mind that certain products, such as battered vegetables and candy-coated fruit, may contain gluten. The trace are some options :

  • apples
  • avocados
  • berries
  • bananas
  • citrus fruits
  • plums
  • peaches
  • spinach
  • kale
  • onions
  • sweet potatoes
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • carrots
  • peppers
  • butternut squash
  • zucchini
  • Brussels sprouts
  • mushrooms

2. Legumes

Beans and lentils are gluten-free, which is why they ’ ra normally used to make pasta alternatives and other gluten-free products. They include :

  • red lentils
  • black beans
  • chickpeas
  • kidney beans
  • cannellini beans
  • pinto beans
  • peas
  • adzuki beans

3. Gluten-free grains and grain products

Although many grains are off-limits for people with a gluten intolerance, some grains are gluten-free. They include :

  • quinoa
  • buckwheat
  • millet
  • sorghum
  • oats
  • millet
  • amaranth
  • wild rice
  • corn
  • teff
  • brown rice
  • gluten-free breads, crackers, and other baked goods made from these grains

To reduce the risk of cross-contamination, be sure to lone buy products that have been certified gluten-free .

4. Animal proteins

animal proteins like the following are naturally gluten-free :

  • eggs
  • meat
  • poultry
  • fish
  • shellfish
  • dairy products like yogurt and cheese

5. Nuts and seeds

Nuts and seeds are gluten-free and provide a nutrient-rich beginning of fat. What ’ s more, they can be made into gluten-free flours. good choices of nuts, seeds, and their butters include :

  • pumpkin seeds
  • sunflower seeds
  • cashews
  • almonds
  • peanut butter
  • macadamia nuts
  • walnuts
  • almond butter
  • pecans
  • hazelnuts
  • Brazil nuts
  • pistachios

6. Certain seasonings and condiments

The follow seasonings and condiments are safe for those pursuit gluten-free diets :

  • apple cider vinegar
  • fresh herbs like basil, rosemary, and cilantro
  • pesto
  • most salsas
  • most dried herbs and spices
  • coconut aminos
  • hummus
  • guacamole
  • sauerkraut
  • tahini
  • mustard

7. Healthy fats and oils

contribution on Pinterest Most sources of healthy fatty, such as the surveil, are gluten-free .

  • full fat yogurt
  • cheese
  • olive oil
  • avocado oil
  • nuts, seeds, and nut butters
  • avocados
  • unsweetened coconut

Summary Foods that are safe to eat if you have a gluten intolerance include nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, pisces, poultry, dairy products, gluten-free grains, and legumes .

Tips for eating out 

many restaurants don ’ thymine offer gluten-free meals, so it ’ south authoritative to know what ’ s safe to order if you have gluten intolerance and are going out to eat. If you have celiac disease, NCGS, or a wheat allergy, it ’ south authoritative that you inform the waitstaff. The restaurant is much more probably to take your condition badly if they know you can ’ t have gluten for medical reasons. In general, you should stay away from pasta, bread, and ingrain dishes unless the restaurant offers gluten-free options like brown university rice pasta or gluten-free grains. You ’ ll besides need to steer clear of bread baskets. rather, ask the waitstaff to bring a gluten-free appetizer like edamame, a caprese or simple salad, or crudités plate with hummus. Fried foods, such as french fries, fried chicken, fried fish, and mozzarella sticks normally contain gluten, so you should avoid these foods equally well. When choosing a meal, keep it dim-witted and use the postdate steps to create a gluten-free meal :

  • Choose a protein source: fish, shrimp, chicken, beef, beans, plain tofu, lentils, etc.
  • Choose a gluten-free starch or grain: potatoes, sweet potatoes, winter squash, amaranth, quinoa, brown rice, etc.
  • Choose a non-starchy vegetable: broccoli, cauliflower, pepper, mushrooms, zucchini, spinach, green beans, etc.

Customizable salads and gluten-free ingrain bowls make great meal choices. If you don ’ thyroxine trust the salad dressings or sauces used at restaurants, you can bring your own from home. Simply pour a minor amount into a portable glass jolt or bottle. To ensure that you ’ ll have gluten-free options, it ’ s advisable to scan the menu before choosing to eat at a restaurant. You can besides call ahead to discuss your options with the staff .

summary When you go out to eat, check the menu for gluten-free items and be sure to inform the waiter if you have a gluten sensitivity .

Read more: Who Invented Pizza?

The bottom line

If you ’ re illiberal to gluten, you must avoid all gluten-containing foods. Foods with gluten include many grains and most breads, pastas, and baked goods. numerous condiments and processed foods harbor gluten deoxyadenosine monophosphate well. It ’ south best to focus on the many delicious, healthy foods that you can eat. These include veggies, fruits, eggs, fish, dairy, nuts, and seeds, angstrom well as gluten-free grains .