Offbeat L.A.: The Oldest Surviving Los Angeles Restaurants… A Master List of the Vintage, Historic and Old School

We are lucky in Los Angeles to have a distribute of spectacular vintage restaurants, but we are still losing many every year to owners who retire, sell out for money or lose their long-held rent to filthy gentrification. I ’ m a sucker for a joint with history, charm, character and stories. I ’ meter not as selective about a menu as I am about the atmosphere, atmosphere and what I am experiencing. I ’ m a addict for vintage architecture and old signs. I pray that honest-to-god places don ’ deoxythymidine monophosphate renovate their mid-century or even mid- ’ 70s interior decoration. I often search the internet for authentic old-school spots in neighborhoods I visit and finding them is not constantly easy. After a lot of detective make I ’ ve compiled this “ Master List ” and design to update it regularly. I ’ meter sure there are many holes in my inquiry and would appreciate additions, updates and corrections in the comments section below. My criteria for the restaurants here is that they are at least 35 years old ( 1985 ) or older, although I have made a few exceptions, and that they are within about an hour ’ randomness drive from downtown L.A. You will find classic steakhouses, Googie diners, pastrami delicatessens, walk-up ground beef stands and more. The list includes all of Los Angeles and Orange Counties, but besides the Inland Empire in San Bernardino and Riverside Counties. I ’ ve added a Yelp connect for each restaurant, so you can check out hours and customer reviews of the food. I do my best to keep this list continually update and add, subtract and make changes as needed. As of September 2021 the list is at 495 places, scatter as far south as the bottom of Orange County, east to San Bernardino and north to Santa Clarita. Cheers, my dears, and bon appetit! Love, Nikki
NOTE September 2021: It’s now been about a year and a half since C oronavirus altered the landscape of socializing and dining worldwide. Though we won’t fully know what we’ve lost until the virus subsides, I continue to comb through this list to do inventory. A couple restaurants here are temporarily closed with the intent of eventually reopening- El Toreo (1950) and La Golondrina (1926), but 19 others have announced that they have closed permanently. Our recent losses during Covid include Pacific Dining Car (1921), Greenblatt’s Deli (1926), Art’s Chili Dog (1944), Billingsley’s (1946), El Patio Cafe (1951), The Arsenal (1956), Viva Cantina (1962), Casa Escobar (1967), Pico Kosher Deli (1968), Sabroso (1968), Wah’s Golden Hen (1972), Label’s Table (1974), Conrad’s Pasadena (1976), Dong il Jang (1978), Conrad’s Glendale (1979), Enterprise Fish Co. (1979), Maria’s Italian Deli (1979), Harry’s Family Restaurant (1981), Las Hadas (1981). 
The foremost two of my map serial breaking down restaurants by type, placement and description can be found here : The Oldest Surviving Mexican Restaurants in Los Angeles  and That’s Amore- The Oldest Surviving Italian Restaurants and Delis in Los Angeles More in this map series to follow soon. In the four years since I published this number, it has received a million read ! That shows me how much people care about our vintage restaurants. I am constantly adding new restaurants I discover, updating the ones that have closed and expanding the descriptions below, then check bet on often for newly update information. Currently I ’ ve edited this list over 754 times. It is in ceaseless development. All descriptions here started out as precisely 2 sentences each and I ’ ve been adding more specific histories, but it takes research and clock. I have besides been working hard at photographing everything on this list. Please cluck to see closely 3,000 photos I have captured so far of the exteriors & interiors of these restaurants on my Offbeat L.A. Flickr.
From May 2015 to September 2021 we have lost 82 restaurants on this list due to closure. These closures are found at the bottom of the list.

(1905) The Saugus Cafe  25861 Railroad Ave, Santa Clarita, CA 91355. This is the oldest restaurant in both Los Angeles and Orange Counties, though the current build technically dates to 1952. President Roosevelt eat here in 1903 & later DW Griffith, Charlie Chaplin, Mary Pickford, Douglas Fairbanks, Marlena Dietrich, Clark Gable, John Wayne & Frank Sinatra. It is a traditional diner/cafe, with bar attached, featuring wood paneled walls and both counter and booth seating. Housed in a low ranch-style build, its outside is bordered with mid-century river rock. primitively opened in 1887 as part of the Saugus Train Station under the name Saugus Eating House, it took its present diagnose, The Saugus Cafe, in 1899. It moved to its present location in 1905 and was remodeled and enlarged in 1925. In 1952 it was re-built wholly by a fresh owner .
(1908) Cole’s 118 E 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90014. Founded by Henry Cole in 1908 on the bottom floor of the Pacific Electric Building, which at 10 stories was once L.A. ’ s tallest build. Known for their cocktails and french dip sandwiches, which both Cole ’ mho and nearby Philippe ’ s claim to have invented. Cole ’ mho fib is that the astronomical unit jus dipped roll was prepared at the request of a customer with afflictive gums who could not eat the crunchy bread. Closed concisely in March 2007 after 99 years in business, Cole ’ mho was brought back to its original magnificence with a modern owner in 2008 with vermilion loss wallpaper, a long reddish brown wooden stripe, a copper penny tiled deck, Tiffany-style lamps, old photograph mounted on the walls and a back speakeasy. Claims to have been a haunt of 1930s-40s gangster Mickey Cohen .
(1908) Philippe the Original 1001 N Alameda St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. An previous fashioned delicatessen with sawdust on the concrete floors, long communal wooden tables, vintage wooden booths and photograph and diachronic ephemera covering the walls. They are most celebrated for their french dipped ridicule gripe sandwich and roll soaked in boom. in the first place opened at 300 Alameda St in 1908 by french immigrant Philippe Mathieu, it moved to its stream location several blocks away in 1951 after being booted from the previous one due to structure of the 101 Hollywood expressway. Philippe ’ south, like Cole ’ south, besides claims to have invented the french Dip sandwich by by chance dropped the crunchy roll into gravy.       
(1915) Fair Oaks Pharmacy & Soda Fountain   1526 Mission St, South Pasadena, CA 91030. Fair Oaks Pharmacy in the first place opened in 1915 as the South Pasadena Pharmacy at the like localization that it distillery stands today on Mission Street, then known as Route 66. The sodium carbonate fountain and lunch antagonistic, serving ice cream treats and diner food, was added in the when the business became Raymond ’ s Pharmacy in the 1920s, and is one of the very few surviving sodium carbonate fountains in the area. It was remodeled, and well spruced up, by owners Michael and Meredith Miller in 1989 adding heavy oak doors with brocaded methamphetamine, marble counters, canister ceilings, honeycomb tile floors and original period pop fountain equipment acquired from MeGee Pharmacy in Joplin, Missouri. The Millers sold the business in 2005 .
(1915) Watson Drugs & Soda Fountain 116 E Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92866. in the first place opened as a drugstore in 1899 by a man named Kellar Watson, it was first base located on Glassell St. in Orange, but moved around the corner to Chapman Ave in 1901. In 1915 they added the pop spring and began serving methamphetamine skim and comfort food. For years Watson ’ south had a fun, kitschy mid-century vibration with booths and a long stainless steel steel counter with stools. In 2016 a new owner wholly gutted and renovated the restaurant, bringing the inside back to its original turn of the century roots. The original tin ceilings were uncovered, new neon was added to the front and an old-time feel wooden barricade was added with more neon. The interior decoration features vintage pharmacy items, newspaper wallpaper, old can signs and vintage merchandise packages .
(1919) Musso & Frank Grill 6667 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028.
Old Hollywood classical restaurant opened by Oregon restauranteur, Frank Toulet as Frank ’ s Cafe. Joseph Musso soon joined the business end and the restaurant was renamed Musso & Frank. Established in 1919, it is the oldest exist restaurant in Hollywood, though the original placement was adjacent door to where it stands today. In 1927 Musso & Frank was bought by new owners, Joseph Carissimi and John Mosso, who moved it to its award locate a few years late. The restaurant features red leather & wood booths, amazing signs and vintage american food. The Fettuccine Alfredo is the original recipe brought to the U.S. back in the 1920s by silent film stars Mary Pickford & Douglas Fairbanks. They purportedly brought the recipe bet on from a restaurant in Rome called Alfredo ’ randomness & would have Musso ’ s prepare it for them .
(1924) Joe Jost 2803 E Anaheim St, Long Beach, CA 90804. Established as a barber shop & pool hall. Serving sandwiches and pickled eggs since prohibition was appealed, this old-time tavern features a wooden bar, woodwind booths and a pond room full of memorabilia. Founded by Joe Jost, a yugoslav immigrant, the public house is now run by his grandson .
(1924) Original Pantry Cafe 877 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90017. Cash-only coffee workshop serving traditional american comfort food, open 24-hours-a-day, that claims to have never closed during closely 100 years in occupation. originally located at 9th & Francisco Streets, the restaurant the consisted of 15 fecal matter counters and a grill and hot denture, but in 1950 the Pantry moved to its current location one pulley away to make room for a expressway off-ramp. The interior is diner-like, with an unwrap cook sphere, woodwind paneling, hanging globe lamps, vintage photography on the walls and a farseeing counter with 19 stools and 19 erstwhile fashioned enamel tables. presently owned by Richard Riordan .
(1925) Bay Cities Italian Deli 1517 Lincoln Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401. classical old school italian market that first opened on the corner of Broadway & Lincoln in Santa Monica in 1925, two doors polish from where it is located today. Story says that founder Antonio DiTomasi was a Chicago policeman who relocated west because the local mob was on his back. Bay Cities moved to its current build in the 1970s and its utilitarian brick outside, with patio and portillo tile overhang, was given a modern earned run average recast in 2010. Its department of the interior features a long glass delicatessen case and an extensive italian grocery market, added to the original delicatessen. Serving sandwiches with bread baked on premises, it is known for the “ Godmother, ” a sandwich loaded five italian cold-cut and all house salads, first created by DiTomasi in 1952. The delicatessen has gone through 5 different owners since its initial opening, but kept the same director, Victorio Campos, since 1971 .
(1925) Formosa Cafe 7156 Santa Monica Boulevard, West Hollywood, CA 90046.
Opened by a prize combatant in an old red streetcar cable car, it has kept its vintage integrity. In July 2015 the original vintage interior was gutted and subjected to an unfortunate bland recast. This restaurant was then CLOSED PERMANENTLY in December 2016. After 2 years of restoration, the Formosa reopened in June 2019 with new owners and has been renovated rear to the original vintage appearance .
(1925) Tam O’Shanter 2980 Los Feliz Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90039. This Scottish-themed steakhouse opened in 1922 by Lawrence Frank and Walter Van de Kamp and was primitively called Montgomery ’ s Country Inn, becoming Tam ‘ O Shanter in 1925. It was built in the storybook manner, with a thatch roof, by architect and Hollywood set designer Harry Oliver, who besides did the Witch ’ south House in Beverly Hills and the Van de Kamp bakeries. Fatty Arbuckle, Mary Pickford, silent movie cowboy star Tom Mix and John Wayne were regulars while Walt Disney insisted upon Table 31, which bears a plaque today. The inside is flowery, with woodwind beamed ceilings, fireplaces, stained glass windows, thick carpet and scottish inspired interior decoration, such as coats of arms, medieval weapons and historical photograph. It is the oldest restaurant/pub continuously operated by the same syndicate in Los Angeles, though it did change names to The Great Scott from 1967 to 1982. Waiters and waitresses dress in tartan tartan, while a public house section has built-in wooden booths and a more fooling atmosphere.       
(1926) Lanza Brothers Market 1803 N Main St, Los Angeles, CA 90031. Tiny, authentic neighborhood grocery market that serves up much beloved italian delicatessen sandwiches in a calm rough and tumble area near downtown. The neighborhood was an original little Italy through the teens and 1920s and this is one of the few pieces left, along with nearby San Antonio Winery. A few cafe tables outside of this vintage brick build up are available for curbside eating .
(1927) Barney’s Beanery 8447 Santa Monica Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069.
Barney ’ s Beanery had its originate in Berkeley, CA in 1920. It moved to its stream localization in West Hollywood in 1927, when Santa Monica Blvd was distillery a dirt road and was surrounded by poinsettia fields. It was always a reside or roadhouse with wooden walls & floors, and still hasn ’ t changed much. In the early days it was frequented by actors like Clara Bow, John Barrymore, Jean Harlow, Bette Davis, Clark Gable and more. In the 1960s it became a haunt for musicians like Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin, who favored booth # 34. The bright yellow & orange sign was most likely installed in the ’ 60s, along with the cool multicolored booths of chummy orange/yellow/pink/beige stripes. Barney ’ sulfur has always been known for their big choice of beer, hamburgers & chili, but they slenderly scaled down the menu about 4 years ago .
(1927) El Cholo 1121 Western Ave Los Angeles, CA 90006. The oldest survive mexican restaurant to have stayed located in the lapp placement in Los Angeles. It was first opened on Broadway in business district L.A. by Alejandro and Rosa Borquez in 1923 as the Sonora Cafe and the name was changed to El Cholo in 1925. The stream restaurant on western Avenue was opened two years late when George Salisbury married Aurelia Borquez, daughter of Alejandro and Rosa. Their restaurant was the second El Cholo localization and in the first place had 8 stools and 3 booths. The restaurant claims to be the first to serve the Tex-Mex dish nacho in Los Angeles, after San Antonio born waitress Carmen Rocha introduced the recipe ( beginning created in 1943 ) to El Cholo in 1959. The restaurant is still owned by the descendants of the original owners .
(1928) La Golondrina Mexican Cafe 17 Olvera St, Los Angeles, CA 90012.One of the earliest mexican restaurants to open in Los Angeles. It primitively got its originate in 1924 as La Mision Cafe on Spring St. by Consuelo Castillo de Bonzo, a widow who had emigrated from Mexico to Los Angeles in 1899. La Mision was demolished to build City Hall and in 1928 moved to Olvera Street, the oldest surviving street in the city. Olvera Street was getting a re-birth at the time by affluent socialite, Christine Sterling who was fashioning it into a tourist address entire of shops and restaurants. The street had been neglected by the 1920s and Sterling succeeded in getting it closed to traffic in 1929 and opening the street as a market in 1930. La Mision was renamed La Golondrina, after a popular Mexican song. It is located in the oldest brick building in LA, Pelanconi House, which was built in 1855. (Temporarily closed. Scheduled to reopen October 31, 2022)
(1929) Eastside Market & Italian Deli 1013 Alpine St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. antique, tested and true Italian-American delicatessen, opened as a market by Joe Campagna and Domenic Pontrelli in 1929, located in the hills above Chinatown, not far from Dodger Stadium. With a busy and authentic delicatessen counter serving up huge cold-cut sandwiches on crusty bread, italian dishes and cannoli, it has had minimal remodel and remains true to the past. The dining area has a handful of wooden tables and chairs, concrete floors, framed historical photos and atmospheric ceiling fans. It gets crazy crowded at lunch time, but the rest of the time it ’ sulfur pretty mellow .
(1929) The Rock Inn 17539 Elizabeth Lake Rd, Lake Hughes, CA 93532. The Rock Inn was built in 1929 by Joel Hurd, who after watching his commercial enterprise across the street burn to the anchor, decided to build his adjacent matchless, a hotel, position office and trade post, out of stone. With a castle-like outside built of river rocks and a bombastic stone fireplace, this restaurant serves american english food and burgers and is a know biker haunt. The inside is a rustic tavern, with hard forest floors, stone column, a hanker wood bar and tables and chairs .
(1930) Brighton Coffee Shop 9600 Brighton Way, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. Brighton Coffee Shop opened in 1930 in Beverly Hills. Serving traditional american breakfast and lunch, there are besides korean selections on the menu, influenced by current owner Pil Rai Ahn. The department of the interior is elementary and basic, with booths, tables and a breakfast counter. Its interior decoration has been updated over the years, but has still stayed with a more retro feel. The exterior has kept its fantastic corner vintage sign with original baptismal font and its old-timey awnings .
(1931) Canter’s 419 N Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036. Canter ’ s began its Los Angeles travel when New Jersey-born Ben Canter and his two brothers opened Canter ’ s Brother ’ s Delicatessen in Boyle Heights, then a distinctly jewish vicinity, in 1931. It moved to its current location in 1953 and expanded in 1959 ; the mid-century cosmetic touches have remained much the same since that meter. Serving an enormous menu of jewish delicatessen favorites and American diner classics, this casual restaurant is open 24-hours and has a long history of hosting celebrities from film, music and politics. In fact listing a Who ’ sulfur Who would take up half of this page. With bakery cases in the entrance filled with delectable treats, amazing original neon signs, a diner area with booths and an bind ’ 50s style lounge, it is happily stuck in time .
(1931) El Coyote 7312 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90036. El Coyote Restaurant was primitively opened in 1931 by Blanche & George March. It started as a bantam cafe on La Brea & 1st Street, but relocated to its confront location in 1951. With original mid-century signs, motley bottle glass windows, burgundy leather booths, vintage light fixtures and a distinguish measure room, it is one of the best know original old-school mexican restaurants left in the city. Its report includes the dark history of having served Sharon Tate and her friends their last meal in 1969 before they went home and were murdered by the Manson family hours late. The “ Sharon Tate Booth ” however remains and is part of the restaurant ’ s folklore .
(1931) Halfway House Cafe 15564 Sierra Hwy, Santa Clarita, CA 91390. The Halfway House Cafe opened as a restaurant in 1931, but has a history as a trade post dating back to 1906, because of its location precisely halfway between Los Angeles and Palmdale. This casual, honest-to-god country dining car with bumpkinly wood walls, a long wood-paneled corrode buffet and a handful of tables and chairs has a great weather Western-style exterior & vintage neon sign standing grandiloquent on a pole. It has been used as a film location for countless television receiver shows and films, including “ The Twilight Zone, ” “ Heroes, ” “ Melrose Place, ” “ Numbers, ” “ CSI, ” “ ER, ” “ Angel, ” “ The King of Queens, ” “ The A-Team, ” “ Gilmore Girls, ” “ Starsky and Hutch, ” “ Sons of Anarchy, ” “ Diagnosis Murder, ” “ Monk, ” Heroes, ” “ Space Cowboys, ” “ Lost In America, ” “ Georgia Rule, ” “ Heartbreak Ridge, ” “ Waitress, ” “ Mi Vida Loca, ” “ Every Which Way But Loose, ” and many more .
(1933) Colonial Kitchen 1110 Huntington Dr, San Marino, CA 91108. The information available about Colonial Kitchen restaurant in San Marino, is murky at best. No one there seems to know the orifice date and the only information I could in the first place find was in previous stories and people ’ mho memories. now that the build has been up for sale, realtors list the restaurant ’ s construct go steady as 1933, which fits precisely in with stories of when it got its start. Located in a brick-fronted build up with white shutters and amazing old neon, this restaurant/cafe/diner is amazingly quaint inside. With hard woodwind floors, wood paneled walls, green vintage vinyl booths, colonial-style wooden club chairs and a hanker forest laminate feed counter, which looks like it was added in the mid to late ’ 70s, it is country kitsch at its most authentic. The interior decoration includes a meaning sum of Elvis memorabilia, while the menu is hearty american vintage consolation food, including Salisbury Steak, Liver and Onions and an unusual Welsh Rarebit Sandwich .
(1934) Magee’s Kitchen 6333 West Third Street, # 624 Los Angeles, CA 90036. The first restaurant in the Original Farmer ’ mho Market in Los Angeles was opened by Blanche Magee in 1934. She already had been operating a food stall for about 2o years downtown at the Grand Central Market when she decided to sell turkey sandwiches to farmers who were selling produce at 3rd and Fairfax. She decided to convince bring owner Earl B. Gilmore, who had seen his land go from a dairy grow to oil wells to the very first self-serve natural gas post, to let her have her own restaurant in the market when it formally opened for business. Known for its corn beef, Magee ’ s restaurant helped bring electricity to the Farmer ’ south market and beginning added tables and chairs. Magee herself lived to be 102 and passed away in 2000. Her descendants run the stand nowadays .
(1934) Cielito Lindo  23 Olvera St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. bantam walk-up food stand, with a few tables on Olvera Street, specializing in taquitos, but besides selling burrito. The restaurant was started by Mexican immigrant Aurora Guerrero out of a shed and expanded soon after. It was named after an old Mexican birdcall, Cielito Lindo, popularized by Mariachis .
(1934) The Galley 2442 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405. The Galley is the oldest bar/restaurant in Santa Monica, opened by Ralph Stephan in 1934 on Main Street, which until a few decades ago, before gentrification, was the city ’ s skid row. It became a haunt for many film stars of the 1930s and 1940s, including Errol Flynn, Carole Lombard, Edward G. Robinson, and Charles Laughton. It is black, cozy, and eccentrically decorated with a nautical subject, including portholes for windows, fishing nets, lanterns, a master ’ mho wheel, bamboo and rattan furniture, sawdust on the floor, twinkling colored Christmas lights and many hidden nooks & crannies. Set decoration from the 1934 film Mutiny On the Bounty was donated by its actor Charles Laughton and a boat from the movie sits on the patio. The exterior is fair as eclectic, with a boat and rowing mannequin hanging above the entrance, wood dock pilings and a vintage neon bless. The restaurant serves steak and sea food and has a fair happy hour. Stephan, who passed away in 1990, sold the bar the year before to “ Captain ” Ron Schur, who expanded the seat from 60 to 120, added the back patio and has owned it since .
(1934) Mrs. Knott’s Chicken Dinner 8039 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90620. Remodeled wimp restaurant that evolved from the initial berry farm & grew into the entertainment park ; just outside the gates of the parking lot .
(1937) Damon’s Steak House  317 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203. Damon ’ s Steak House was opened in 1937 on Central Avenue in Glendale by Loyal Damon, who sold his chain of Los Angeles candy stores to start a restaurant. The restaurant moved to this Brand Avenue placement in 1980 and expanded upon the subtle South Seas theme of the original Damon ’ mho. The inside took the tiki vibration to a new level with malayo-polynesian divine murals in the entrance, an outrigger canoe hanging from the ceiling, rattan covered walls, a domed thatch ceiling over the din room and a massive aquarium with exotic pisces. Specializing in traditional american steakhouse menu and tropical drinks, particularly Chi Chis and Mai Tais .
(1937) Mitla Cafe  602 N Mt Vernon Ave, San Bernardino, CA 92411. A landmark on Route 66, this mexican cafe was opened in 1937 as a lunch counter by Lucia Rodriguez and expanded its size in the 1940s. Mitla is the oldest surviving mexican restaurant in the Inland Empire and is however owned by Lucia ’ s grandchildren and capital grandchildren at the lapp location. The outside of Mitla is simple Spanish-style, with some river rock inlay. The home however has a hanker woodwind laminate eating counter along with rust colored booths and tables, ceiling fans and honest-to-god photograph. obviously Glen Bell, who had opened Bell ’ s Hotdogs and Hamburgers across the street in 1950, “ borrowed ” Lucia ’ s taco recipe and began selling taco himself in December 1951. Glen then opened respective greaser stands in the early ’ 50s and went on to open the first Taco Bell in Downey in 1962 using the like recipe .
(1938) The Derby Restaurant 233 Huntington Dr, Arcadia, CA 91006. The Derby restaurant was opened in 1938 on Huntington Drive, in Arcadia, CA, near the Santa Anita racetrack. It evolved out of the Proctor Tavern which opened in 1922 and moved to the placement where the Derby now stands in 1931. Its owner was sawhorse jockey George Woolfe, who was a national leading and raced Seabiscuit. It is a unplayful steakhouse filled with cool old horse race memorabilia, interior and exterior walls of brick, beamed wood ceilings and burgundy leather booths .
(1938) Du-par’s 6333 West Third Street, Los Angeles, CA 90036. Du-Par ’ south began as an nine-seat stall in the Original Farmer ’ s Market founded by James Dunn & Edward Parsons, who combined their last names to create the name Du-Par ’ second. Specializing in American comfort food, breakfasts and pies, it is located in a little house-like construction, with white lookout fence, on the southwest corner of the market. The interior features burgundy tufted booths, trimmed with black wood, lantern-like alight fixtures and deep blush Oriental-style rug. The effect is comfortable and casually elegant, while still maintaining the original vintage feel. A much beloved Studio City outgrowth ran from 1948 to 2017, and although several more branched were created over the years, alone two extra locations remain, Pasadena and Las Vegas, both recently created .
(1938) Lawry’s The Prime Rib   100 N. La Cienega Blvd. Beverly Hills, CA 90211. Lawry ’ s Prime Rib was created in 1938 by Lawrence “ Lawry ” Frank and Walter Van de Kamp. The copulate had previously opened the Tam O ’ Shanter Inn in Los Feliz in 1922, which besides still operates nowadays. primitively this finely dine restaurant served alone one entrance, prime rib, and was besides known for its Yorkshire Pudding and its signature “ spinning salad ” train tableside, but now has a desegregate menu. Lawry ’ second besides claims to have been the first to premiere valet parking and the use of the take home “ doggy bag. ” In 1947, the restaurant moved across the street into a modernist build up designed by Wayne MacAllister, known for his Googie chocolate shop computer architecture, who designed Bob ’ s Big Boy restaurant in Burbank two years late in 1949. Lawry ’ s stayed at this placement until 1993 when it moved back to its original site, in a newly constructed building. MacAllister ’ randomness 1947 build still stands, however, and is now occupied by the Stinking Rose, a garlic themed restaurant which in the first place debuted in 1991 in San Francisco. The inner of Lawry ’ south is ashen tablecloth elegant, with wood parquet floors, polished woodwind, chandeliers and understate artwork .
(1939) Harbor House Cafe 16341 Pacific Coast Highway, Sunset Beach, CA 90742. Harbor House Cafe opened as a restaurant in 1939, converted from a seaside beach bungalow into a wayside dining car. The outside is wood sided with an awning and has a improbable neon 1950s replica sign, which was likely installed in the 1970s or subsequently. This 24-hour diner is open every day of the class, serving american english classics and breakfasts with some mexican items thrown in. The walls and ceilings are wood paneled and the inside is plastered filled with vintage memorabilia and framed movie posters covering every available quad of the walls and the ceiling. Burgundy leather booth channel the walls alongside a long wood laminate eating counter with matching burgundy high-backed stools. A second location was opened in Dana Point .
(1939) Newcomb’s Ranch Angeles Crest Highway 2, La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011. in the first place built in 1939 this rustic roadhouse, at the snowline up cragged Angeles Crest, was rebuilt after a 1976 fire. With a wooden exterior, pine board walls and a bar .
(1939) Pink’s Hot Dogs 709 N La Brea Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90039. Pink ’ s Hot Dogs has stood on the corner of Melrose & La Brea in Los Angeles since 1949. It was primitively started in 1939 by Paul & Betty Pink, who sold 10¢ chili dogs out of a handcart at the like corner. Known for their hanker lines and sausages named after celebrities, the fiddling reside is a on-key picture of the city. A small eat sphere has walls covered with ensnare actor ’ s headshots and there are outdoor eating tables in the back.                    
(1939) Sariñana’s Tamale Factory 2216 W 5th St, Santa Ana, CA 92703. Sariñana ’ s Tamale Factory was opened in 1939 by Juan and Felipa Sariñana, immigrants from Durango, Mexico. Located in a bantam former house, painted with exterior murals and modernized with credit card signs, it is the oldest surviving mexican restaurant in Orange County. Ordering is done at a counterpunch and eaten at a choice of six inner picnic tables or two external. Though its founders passed away in the late 1960s, it is distillery family owned, by the 5th and 6th generations of Juan and Felipa ’ second descendants. Serving mexican food in the Durango style, Sariñana ’ sulfur is particularly known for their tamales, though their homemade hot sauce is exceeding deoxyadenosine monophosphate well .
(1939) Sycamore Inn 8318 E Foothill Blvd, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730.
Built on the spotlight of the Mountain View Inn, built in 1848, the location suffered fires and floods and was rebuilt several times. The current build, a two-level wooden structure with movement porch, dates to 1921, built by German-born citrus rancher John Klusman. In its foremost few years, the basement served as a Prohibition defy speakeasy, while several rooms upstairs were used as a whorehouse. It became the Sycamore Inn restaurant in 1939, when buy and remodeled by Danish immigrant Irl Hinrichsen. Located on what once was Route 66 and now is Foothill Blvd, the restaurant is white tablecloth elegant, serving traditional steakhouse do. The chief boom room is dimly ignite, with beamed ceilings and big leather chairs. An attach legal profession features burgundy leather semi-circular booths, age-old stained glaze ignition and a large stone fireplace. Both Marilyn Monroe and Betty Short ( the Black Dahlia ) are said to have been guests right before they each died .
(1939) Vince’s Market 3250 Silver Lake Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90039. Started as a belittled italian market with delicatessen case Vince ’ s in the first place shared their space with a barber & beauty patronize. Opened in 1939 by Joseph and Mabel Caravella and named for their son Vince, the family expanded the occupation in 1946, taking over the whole building and enlarging their menu. With honest-to-god school signs and funky exterior murals, they have an authentic region feel. A delicatessen counter in the second of the shop serves up great italian sandwiches on crusted rolls .
(1940) Centro Basco 13432 Central Ave, Chino, CA 91710. Centro Basco, located in the San Bernardino County town of Chino, appears to be the oldest exist Basque restaurant anywhere close up to the Los Angeles area. The following erstwhile appears to be continental Basque in Glendora, which opened in 1980. Centro Basco was opened as a Basque restaurant and board house in September 1940 by J.B. Robidart, a Basque businessman who helped guide and organize the local Chino Basque community, many of whom had immigrated to the Inland Empire to work tending sheep or milk cows in the area ’ s then-plentiful dairies and farms. In 1948 Robidart sold the property to Ben & Melanie Sallaberry, who ran it until 1970 and in turn sold it to Pierre and Monique Berterretche. today it is run by their daughter, Bernadette Berterretche-Helton. The front stripe area has a capital casual vintage feel. With wood paneled walls and semi-circle tangent colored booths, it was probably last remodeled in the 1960s. Another room features long tables for the traditional communal Basque dining experience, which is served “ syndicate expressive style ” over several courses with special dishes not found on the regular menu, such as oxtail fret, rabbit and blood sausage .
(1940) Tal’s Cafe 2701 W Florence Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90043. Old fashioned Southern-style diner in South Central L.A. serving homelike breakfasts and lunch. Located in a build constructed in 1947. Its signally unaltered home features wood empanel, exposed brick walls, an original-appearing k linoleum floor, an original buffet with stools, booth seating and vintage hanging ball lamps .
(1941) Bun ‘N Burger 1000 E Main St, Alhambra, CA 91801. authentic neighborhood diner serving American & Mexican food in a deco-style corner construction with big neon. Interior has red booths & counter stools, ’ 50s formica tables, a black and white checkered floor and walls covered with vintage memorabilia .
(1941) Polo Lounge 9641 Sunset Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. Located inside the Beverly Hills Hotel, which was built in 1918, the Polo Lounge opened on July 11, 1941 in a space previously called El Jardin. Named for then-owner, Hernando Courtwright ’ s polo-playing friends, it was immediately a meeting place for Hollywood players and celebrities, which it remains to this day. The number of celebrated guests is impossibly long, but Charlie Chaplin, Marilyn Monroe, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin Elizabeth Taylor, and Marlene Dietrich were among the many celebrated regulars. The home loiter features dark greens and ashen walls, tartan tartan carpets, horseshoe shaped booths and a long wooden bar, a look that is bourgeois, falling into no particular era. An outdoor eat area features white iron cafe chairs pulled up to tables shaded under white and park umbrellas. The menu are identical expensive, serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, Sunday brunch and Afternoon Tea. Owned by the Sultan of Brunei since 1987, the hotel and Polo Lounge was actively boycotted, beginning in 2014, due to human rights persecution that the Sultan set into law in his own nation .
(1941) Snug Harbor   2323 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403. Opened in 1941 by Frank Leight, Snug Harbor is a modest, authentic early 1940s diner on Wilshire Blvd in Santa Monica with a little laminate counter and a few booths. now on its third owner, the vintage appearance and integrity stays much the same, despite changing times and a morsel of a recast here and there. Serving basic America breakfasts, lunch and pop spring treats, it closes at 3pm every day .
(1943) Carrillo’s Tortilleria 1242 Pico St, San Fernando, CA 91340. Carrillo ’ randomness is a little self-serve style restaurant that grew out of a kin owned hand made tortilla factory started by Guadalupe Carrillo and her husband Emilio in 1943. Since 1964 it has been owned by their daughter, Amelia Carrillo Luna and her conserve Epigmenio. Located on a side street in San Fernando, CA, in a characterless construction with a formative signal, the inside is simple, so far cozy, with an exposed brick wall, polished concrete floors, plastic molded booths, a few tables and gay Mexican-themed murals covering the walls. A display case sells a few grocery store items, but an extensive eat-in menu serves mexican breakfasts and combination dinners. They are specially known for their tamales, menudo & homemade tortilla .
(1945) Barone’s Pizzeria 13726 Oxnard St, Valley Glen, CA 91401. Barone ’ second was first opened in 1945 on Ventura Blvd in Sherman Oaks by a group of siblings from Buffalo, NY. They took over the construction of a former restaurant, Barto ’ randomness, and because altering the sign of the zodiac was cheaper than buying a newfangled one, named it after the sister with the closest appoint, business spouse Josephine Barone. Specializing in square cut pizza with Monterey Jack tall mallow, rather of Mozzarella, they relocated the restaurant in 2006 to the early space of the defunct Old Heidelberg, built in 1958. The interior is immaculately retained with black wood walls, stained glass, carved beamed ceilings and knobby woodwind room dividers. An bind lounge area features a crimson leather padded bar and often live entertainment. The Old Heidelberg, once a german restaurant, was a location for a dinner/date picture in the movie “ Fast Times at Ridgemont High ” and is distillery recognizable as such .
(1945) Nate ‘n Al 414 N Beverly Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. Nate ‘ n Al was opened in 1945 by russian born Al Mendelson and Nate Rimer, who met in Detroit and relocated to Beverly Hills to start a classic jewish delicatessen. primitively their Beverly Drive placement started with a delicatessen counter and a few tables and merely held 30 customers, but it became popular with the Hollywood film crowd and expanded concisely subsequently, becoming known as a “ show game ” haunt. The front of the otherwise characterless build features the restaurant diagnose in big orange letters, probably added in the 1960s or 1970s. The department of the interior has a standard coffee denounce layout with brown leather booths, wood laminate tables, dividers made of wood paneling and a long glass delicatessen case. today, Nate ’ newton Al is operated by Mendelson ’ south grandsons, Mark and David .
(1946) Chili John’s 2018 W Burbank Blvd, Burbank, CA 91506. Chili John ’ s got its startle in Green Bay, Wisconsin, opened by lithuanian immigrant John Isaac in 1913. The popularity of that restaurant and its unusual combination of serving its celebrated chili on lead of a bed of spaghetti noodles, inspired Isaac ’ s son, Ernie, to open a second Chili John ’ s branch in Burbank in 1946. The localization is a true vintage atavistic ; a diner with white-washed brick walls, a u-shaped wood laminate antagonistic, bright orange vinyl counter stools and a long bumpkinly mural of mountains, sky and water. The exterior is old fashioned a well, with an entrance on the build ’ second rounded corner, vintage signs and hand painted letter. Keeping true to its roots and serving alone chili items, the restaurant has been owned since by the LoGuercio syndicate since 1990 .
(1946) Chris & Pitts 9839 Artesia Blvd, Bellflower, CA 90706. amazing signage and a fake log cabin painted exterior It is among only 3 remaining restaurants of a BBQ range that once included over 20 locations, all over Southern California. The chain was started in 1940 by Chris Pelonis, the son of a greek immigrant. He scraped astir $ 200 to start a commercial enterprise and the first location ( now gone ) was in Lynwood. The other stay locations are on Lakewood Ave in Downey ( open 1953 ) and on Washington Blvd in Whittier. This placement was the fourth placement opened. Inside is casual, authentic & honest-to-god school, with bourgogne leather booths, a counter to eat at, original red linoleum floors, wood paneled walls & tons of nation kitsch, including shot gun & taxidermy. There is a walk-up apartment pick-up window out front .
(1946) Clearman’s Steak ‘n Stein 9545 E Whittier Blvd, Pico Rivera, CA 90660.
Old European-themed kitschy steak house with a circular stone fireplace, dark red colors, wood, chandeliers and stain glass. The owner, John Foley Clearman, was a creative valet who seemed to want to be noticed. Born in New York City in 1906 and raised in Coronado, California, he graduated from Yale in 1929 with a degree in dramaturgy. A train Shakespearean actor, Clearman spent several years during the Great Depression on the road with traveling productions. He once was quoted as saying, “ A commodity restaurant has a longer prevail than a good play ” and abruptly changed career paths to reinvent himself as a restaurant owner. In 1946, at senesce 40, he opened his beginning restaurant, Clearman ’ s Steak ‘ nitrogen Stein. He besides went on to create the The Magic Lamp ( 1955 ), and the fabulous Clearman ’ s Northwoods Inns ( 1966 and 1967 ) .
(1946) Gus’s Barbecue 808 Fair Oaks Ave, South Pasadena, CA 91030.
Opened on Fair Oaks Ave in South Pasadena in 1946 by three relatives from Cleveland, Ohio and was named after the eldest one, Gus. The placement had previously been a dining car called Hamburger Macs. The inside was tastefully renovated with a vintage slant in 2007, but the neon sign out front is original. It now belongs to two brothers who besides own another Pasadena vintage restaurant, the Original Tops .
(1946) Hot ‘n Tot 2347 Pacific Coast Hwy, Lomita, CA 90717. Hot ‘ n Tot restaurant opened on Pacific Coast Highway in Lomita, CA in 1946. This diner has been remodeled over the years, but still has a classical feel, including a anticipate with attach olive green leather stools, brown booths, ceiling fans and long plate field glass windows .
(1946) Jolly Jug 4264 Peck Road, El Monte, CA 91732. Opened in 1946 on Peck Road in El Monte, the only history I could find about this place was a second hand anecdote. obviously this restaurant was opened by a jewish woman who had relocated from New York with a delicatessen position in mind. This charwoman ran it until about 1996 when she sold it to the current owner, Margaret, an immigrant from Hong Kong, who kept most of the original recipes and added a few fresh ones. Situated in a freestanding house with outstanding original signage, white buffet, brick reduce and a shingle roof, one one-half is an vintage diner and the other side is a dive-type barricade. The walls are wood paneled, the floor green linoleum and the booths tan leather with wood laminate tables. The interior decoration is a mish mash of 1970s knick knacks, beer signs and country kitsch. Serving american food and specify in pastrami sandwiches .
(1946) Nick’s Coffee Shop 8536 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035. This little diner has stayed quite on-key to its 1946 roots with minimal change. probably the survive recast, thankfully, occurred in the 1960s. In front of walls cluttered with frame photos of syndicate members, friends and patrons, stand dark wear rust colored booths with wood laminate tables, a pitched drop down ceiling and a long eating counter with crested high-back stools running aboard the smoke griddle. stained looking glass chandeliers and ceiling fans hang above, and a find of understated comfort pervades. With an extensive menu featuring american diner classics and open for breakfast and lunch, this greasy spoon is the kind of put that modern coffee shops try to replicate. The original Googie-type sign out front and the bright yellow circus-like original exterior entirely add to the perfect atmosphere .
(1946) Original Tommy’s Hamburgers 2575 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90057. This beginning location of the long-familiar ground beef chain, located on the corner of Beverly and Rampart Streets was founded in 1946 by Tom Koulax, an Oklahoma hold son of greek immigrants. Serving a limited menu of hamburgers, fries, hot dogs, tamales and breakfasts, this popular walk-up apartment stand finally expanded to over 30 southerly California locations. The bantam hovel, with its iconic neon and bulb arrow sign perched on the shingled roof has both order and pick-up windows. Tommy died in 1992 and the chain is hush run by his family .
(1946) Paul’s Kitchen 1012 S San Pedro St, Los Angeles, CA 90015. Chinese-American food served in a neighborhood that was once called City Market Chinatown, a working serviceman ’ s area of several straight blocks that popped up after L.A. ’ s original Chinatown was razed in the 1930s to built Union Station. The taiwanese chemical element in the neighborhood began to fade in the 1970s. Owned by the nephew of the restaurant ’ s original owner, Paul, it is one of entirely two chinese businesses left in the vicinity. The inner features two rooms with brown vinyl booths, wood laminate tables, a long fake wood grain anticipate, hanging ball lamps, Chinese window shades and a overplus of Dodgers memorabilia. In fact Tommy Lasorda became a regular customer beginning in the 1970s .
(1946) Pecos Bill’s BBQ 1551 Victory Blvd, Glendale, CA 91201. Pecos Bill ’ south BBQ is a bantam, authentic BBQ hovel with a take-out windowpane serving a limited meat-centic menu dwell of kernel sandwiches and sides of broil beans and coleslaw. Opened in 1946 by Bill Stenzel who was born in Pecos, Texas and came to California in the 1940s, it is now owned by his grandson, Owen. Open 11-3pm, Thursday through Sunday, ordering is done from a window in the bantam build, while a few picnic tables sit on the sidewalk, under a bridge player painted signal .
(1946) The Smoke House Restaurant 4420 Lakeside Dr, Burbank 91505.
Across the street from Warner Bros studios, the Smoke House opened in 1946 on the corner of Pass and Riverside Ave as a 46-seat restaurant. Popular and frequented by celebrities, such as Bob Hope and Bing Crosby, in 1949 the restaurant decided to expand and moved down the street to its present placement, the erstwhile Red Coach Inn. In 1955 the restaurant ’ s current building was constructed around the previous one, designed by Wayne McAllister and his partner William Wagner. Though McAllister was a drawing card in Googie architecture, having designed nearby Bob ’ s Big Boy, this construct was done in the Tudor Revival style, with a chateau-like feel. The inner is big, with several dining areas and a cozy mid-century lounge. With glow ceilings and amazing original exterior neon signs, cryptic burgundy leather tufted booths, inside walls made of brick, shingles, paneled wood and covered with previous photograph, this restaurant breathes history. Because of its proximity to the studio across the street, the list of celebrity regulars and patrons is highly long. Serving american steakhouse menu, the menu is heavy on the kernel selections, but is besides well known for its bum bread .
(1946) Vince’s Spaghetti 1206 W Holt Blvd, Ontario, CA 91762. Vince ’ sulfur opened in 1945 as a six-stool french Dip sandwich base by Vince Cuccia and his two brothers, who relocated to California from Chicago after World War 2. The restaurant lore states that the kitchenless stand began serving spaghetti soon after a customer inquired about the home-brought spaghetti lunch a Cuccia family member was eating. A kitchen was soon built and spaghetti became the menu pillar. The long build has been expanded four times over the years and finally evolved into a 425-seat business. By 1968 it was advertised as the largest spaghetti restaurant west of the Mississippi River. An amazing original mid-century neon signal still stands out front man. The inside is casually vintage with many individual rooms, some with wood paneled walls others with brick. Eating areas have either dark green leather booths or fake wood laminate tables, while the floor is a deep crimson linoleum and ceilings are beamed forest. Spaghetti servings are massive, topped with optional grated mozzarella. A Torrance localization operated from 1973 to 2014, a Rancho Cucamonga placement opened in 1984 and a Temecula localization in 2003 .
(1946) Walker’s Cafe 700 W Paseo Del Mar, San Pedro, CA 90731. classic vintage family-run dive cafe, a biker favored, opened by Bessie and Ray Walker and owned by their son, Richard since 1996. Located on an ocean side cliff, the build itself dates to about 1913, when it was used as a station at the end of the Red Car streetcar line. The inside has original 1940s linoleum floors, wood paneled walls and is wax of bathetic knick knacks. They accept cash only .
(1947) A-1 Imported Groceries 348 W 8th St, San Pedro, CA 90731. A-1 Imported Groceries opened in 1947 on 8th St in San Pedro, CA. This italian commercialize and delicatessen specializes in sandwiches, but besides has pasta dishes. The exterior features a river rock entrance wall, a formative sign that likely dates to the 1960s and an awning trimmed with siding in the colors of the italian flag. The department of the interior is a little push grocery store storehouse with forest paneled walls and a long vintage glass delicatessen case filled with meats, cheeses, olives and diverse italian dishes .
(1947) The Apple Pan 10801 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064. authoritative hamburger & pie diner in a little house with white sideboard and original neon signs. A popular and beloved restaurant, there is closely always a wait for the u-shaped counter and the 26 crimson leather stools around it. Opened by Ellen and Alan Barker in April 1947 and now run by their daughter and granddaughter, the menu has 11 food items and hasn ’ thymine changed since the business was surrounded by farms and fruit orchards .
(1947) The Great White Hut 121 W California Ave, Glendale, CA 91203.
Tiny, longtime corner burger & taco stand with toilet induct. Painted with ex post facto themes. The Great White Hut is a bantam hamburger and taco stand that has held its place on a corner in Glendale since 1947. With toilet induct and painted with retro themes ( a wax size mural of James Dean always fools me into thinking it is a real number person as I walk by ), it is a rare slice of the by in this vicinity where the erstwhile keeps being replaced with the new .
(1947) Hawkins House of Burgers 11603 Slater St, Los Angeles, CA 90059. This burger base, located in Watts across from the Nickerson Gardens housing undertaking, was initially started out of a grocery memory opened by James Henry Hawkins. Born in 1911 to a hapless Arkansas syndicate, his 1991 obituary in the Los Angeles Times reported that he came to Los Angeles in 1942 as part of the 2nd Great Black Migration, riding on a mule. He then worked as a truck driver to save adequate money to build a malt patronize and grocery store at this localization in 1947. The Hawkins family, which included 14 children, began flipping burgers from a street food stand and merged it with the grocery store memory into Hawkins House of Burgers. immediately run by granddaughter Cynthia Hawkins, the burger shop class is located in a small shopfront with takeout counter service and tables to eat at in a cover area outside. Serving hamburgers, chicken and waffles, wings, catfish and more, they besides open early for breakfast .
(1947) Langer’s Delicatessan 704 S Alvarado St, Los Angeles, CA 90057. Respected jewish delicatessen, opened by New Jersey have a bun in the oven Al Langer in 1947, across the street from MacArthur Park. in the first place called the Famous Deli when purchased by Langer, it was a little 12 restaurant which he expanded to the current 135 seats by 1968. Well celebrated for its pastrami sandwiches, the lines at lunchtime frequently extend down the block. Al passed aside in 2007 and the restaurant is now owned and operated by his son, Norm. Both the inside and outside have kept their original appearance with vintage signs and incredible mid-century orange, yellow and brown tile on the wall behind the delicatessen counterpunch. Booths are brown leather with wood laminate tables and knobby woodwind room dividers .
(1947) Santa Fe Importers 1401 Santa Fe Ave, Long Beach, CA 90813. Opened in 1947 on Santa Fe Avenue in Long Beach, CA by Sicilian born Vincent Passanisi. It is even owned by his grandchild nowadays. This market and sicilian delicatessen serves take-out sandwiches and italian meals. It has an old fashioned outside but remodeled inside with stools and counter feed. Inside is a regular, small food marketplace with entire looking glass delicatessen counter and an order window .
(1947) Valley Inn Restaurant 4557 Sherman Oaks Ave, Sherman Oaks, CA 91403. The Valley Inn is an honest-to-god school steakhouse opened in 1947 by Jim Otto on Sherman Oaks Ave in Sherman Oaks, CA. The build was designed in 1945 by architect Roger Winston Bray and for its beginning two years functioned as an electric unhorse shop. Jim Otto ’ s name once stood in big neon letters on the cobbled pitch roof, where the Valley Inn sign stands today. unfortunately the neon in the polarity was recently replaced with plastic light up letters. The exterior has an capture manner bordered by wooden column and is trimmed with work iron and hanging lanterns. The boom room is white mesa fabric elegant and features round black leather booths, an emboss ceiling, plenty of black hardwood and framed art cultivate. An attached separate public house area is entered through saloon-style doors and has a classic wooden and administration bar, with walls covered with vintage sports memorabilia .
(1948) Cindy’s Eagle Rock 1500 Colorado Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041. Cindy ’ s Coffee Shop opened on Colorado Blvd in the Los Angeles neighborhood of Eagle Rock in 1948, when it was hush Route 66. It has had many owners over the years, the latest taking helm in 2014, but has kept the master vintage inside and outside intact. The build up is long and low, in a true belated ’ 40s roadhouse fashion, with mid-century signs that have been refreshed over the years, but never ruined. The inside has bright orange booths and counter seats, complimented by walls that are presently bright green and retro-style ignition fixtures.iner with orange leather booths & stools, vintage alight and restored original signs .
(1948) Claro’s 1003 E Valley Blvd, San Gabriel, CA 91776. master localization of authentic family owned italian market and delicatessen chain that now total six stores. The construct was constructed in 1937 and hasn ’ thymine had a major renovation since 1962. Opened by Joe Claro and his wife Mary in 1948 on Valley Blvd in San Gabriel. It is a try & true previous fashioned italian market with a delicatessen counter that serves classical italian dishes, impertinently made cold baseball swing sandwiches, antipasto and early salads. There is besides a bakery with italian cookies, bread and cannoli. The inside hasn ’ thyroxine been updated much and has original concrete floors and wooden trellises hanging with plastic grapes. A second Claro ’ randomness opened in Arcadia in 1971, followed by four more stores in La Habra, Covina, Tustin ( 1982 ) & Upland. The stores are however run by Joe Claro ’ s grandchildren and their families .
(1948) Domingo’s Italian Deli 17548 Ventura Blvd, Encino, CA 91316. This market selling italian products and delicatessen food was first opened by Phyllis and Frank Domingo and has been owned by the Magnanimo family since the 1970s. Domingo ’ s serves sandwiches, antipasti and italian desserts in a room with a few eat-in tables and an outdoor patio. Although it was remodeled a few years ago and has been slightly modernized, it inactive has a genuine feel .
(1948) El Adobe 31891 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675. Opened as a restaurant in 1948 by Clarence Brown, a Rancho Mission Viejo farmer, the placement comprises two different historically significant buildings dating back to before California become a state in 1850. The northerly separate of the restaurant, forming the walls of El Adobe ’ s cocktail lounge was built in 1797 as an adobe home for Miguel Yorba, while the southern separate was built in 1812 as a woo and jails. Filled with antiques, brick walls, wood beamed ceilings and cadaver tiled floors, El Adobe in the first place served Continental cuisine. but switched to a Mexican menu after Orange County native Richard Nixon, a fan of Mexican cook, became an El Adobe patron during his presidency. Today the restaurant is owned by partners Steve Nordeck, Tony Moiso, and Gilbert Aguirre .
(1948) Factor’s Famous Deli 9420 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035. This jewish Deli was opened by Esther Factor in 1948 on Pico Blvd in Los Angeles. Bought by Cleveland-born Herman Markowitz in 1969, who added the “ celebrated ” to the restaurant ’ south identify, it has been run by his family since the 1970s. Remodeled and expanded a act over the years, with booth-style seat, walls of sports and movie bill poster memorabilia, brick, laminate wood, long glass delicatessen cases and a retro ’ 70s appearing sign out front, it serves authoritative jewish delicatessen cuisine .
(1948) Nick’s Cafe 1300 N. Spring St., Los Angeles, CA 90012. Nick ’ s Cafe on Spring Street near Chinatown in L.A. is an old-school authentic roadhouse-style dining car with wood paneled walls. It thankfully hasn ’ triiodothyronine been touched in decades. Opened in 1948 it has a single u-shaped counter with seats & serves alone breakfast & lunch .
(1948) Roma Deli 6449 Lankershim Blvd, North Hollywood, CA 91606. old school italian delicatessen, now on its third owner, serving big sandwiches, pizza and italian food, plus cannoli. Exterior has a vintage river rock front and a flimsy castle-like appearance. Inside has a identical basic, no-frills eat area, but has enormous Roman-themed paintings randomly leaning up against the walls. not connected to the Pasadena Roma Market .
(1949) Bill’s Taco House 219 E Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90011. Small South Los Angeles fast food greaser denounce with mold laminate seating and a vintage sign out front. Opened by a man named Bill, it was one of the very first places to begin serving patty-style ground beef in a taco ( called Cheeseburger Taco ). The counter service restaurant is decorated with murals depicting celebrated moments in the civil rights motion. It has only had 3 owners and has been owned by a korean charwoman named Eva Man since precisely after the 1992 LA riots .
(1949) Bobby’s Coffee Shop 22821 Ventura Blvd, Woodland Hills, CA 91364. This comfortable, old-time coffee bean shop/diner with red leather booths and formica tables was opened in 1949 by Navy veteran and short-order cook, Robert “ Bobby ” Perkins. Bobby ’ mho is presently owned by Joe Shabbouei since 2008 .
(1949) Bob’s Big Boy 4211 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505. Oldest remaining branch of the hamburger chain. It was designed by architect Wayne McAllister in what became known as the Googie style. The chain in the first place opened in 1936 as a 10-stool hamburger stand on Colorado Blvd in Glendale under the name “ Bob ’ s Pantry. ”
(1949) Miceli’s 1646 N Las Palmas Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028. The oldest outlive italian restaurant in Hollywood was opened in 1949 by Chicago transplant Carmen Miceli, his wife Sylvia and respective of their syndicate members. To put together the restaurant economically, the kin pieced together a clutter of architectural elements from other Los Angeles spots that had gone out of commercial enterprise, salvaging honest-to-god stain glass along with the booths from the original Pig ‘ newton Whistle restaurant, which had closed down around the corner that same year. The multi-tiered and pallidly light up restaurant is amatory, filled with brick walls, ornately carved dark wood, vintage red leather, hundreds of hanging Chianti bottles and kitschy red and blank checkered fictile table cloths. Among the inaugural Hollywood restaurants to serve pizza, which was then newfangled to most Americans, a whole proto-indo european could at first be purchased for 39 cents. Today a piano play singer belts out standards and show tunes alike while a long barroom tucked upstairs is a well locate to find a stool and a frigid swallow. Though Carmen died in 2015 at senesce 92, the restaurant is still in the dear hands of his descendants, who honor the restaurant ’ south long history with the reverence it deserves .
(1949) Patsy D’Amore’s Pizza 6333 W 3rd St # 448, Los Angeles, CA 90036. italian food stand in the Original Farmer ’ s Market opened in 1949 by Brooklyn bear Pasquale “ Patsy ” D ’ Amore. First called Patsy D ’ Amore ’ south italian Food, it was D ’ Amore ’ s second restaurant ; he besides owned Casa D ’ Amore which he opened in 1939 on Cahuenga Blvd and was frequented by celebrities such as Frank Sinatra, Joe DiMaggio and Tommy Dorsey. In 1950 he then opened the legendary Hollywood restaurant, Villa Capri which was in occupation until 1982. Villa Capri was flush more star-studded than D ’ Amore ’ s first restaurant, with patrons including James Dean, Marilyn Monroe, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr. and the ever firm Sinatra. D ’ Amore died in 1975 and his widow ran Villa Capri until 1982 and Patsy D ’ Amore ’ s Pizza until 1998, when she passed on the restaurant to daughter, Filomena D ’ Amore, who silent runs it today .
(1950) El Toreo 21 S Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91105. El Toreo Cafe opened in 1950 on Fair Oaks Ave in Pasadena. A bantam, fooling restaurant, serving mexican food, it has brown booths, a sink ceiling, wood paneling and old Mexican-style paintings adorning the walls. Its original vintage sign still hangs out front. (Temporarily closed during covid. Hopefully this will not end up being permanent.)
(1950) Golden Bull Restaurant 170 W Channel Rd, Santa Monica, CA 90402.
Vintage steakhouse opened in 1950 with burgundy leather booth and original sign. The build itself seems to become a restaurant in 1932, when a kitchen was added to an existing store which was built in 1922. The Golden Bull was a chain of SoCal steakhouses opened by Glenn Billingsley, the conserve of “ Leave It To Beaver ” actress Barbara, who played the Mom. It was one of 7 Golden Bulls and 3 Outrigger malayo-polynesian restaurants that Glenn opened beginning in the late 1940s. lone 2 survive- one in Santa Monica, hush called the Golden Bull ( 1950 ) & another in West L.A., once called Billingsley ’ s Golden Bull ( 1946 ), now fair called Billingsley ’ mho .
(1950) La Chiquita Restaurant 906 E Washington Ave, Santa Ana, CA 92701.
La Chiquita opened in 1950 in the Logan Barrio area of Santa Ana, one of the foremost Mexican barrio in Orange County and once one of the only Santa Ana neighborhoods where Latinos could legally buy a house, ascribable to discriminative restrictions. Owned by Sammy Montoya since 1994, this mexican cafe is small, with forest paneled walls, river rock ‘n’ roll snip, breeze jam room dividers, original crimson clay-tiled floors, a “ popcorn ” ceiling and basic tables & chairs. Located in a public square build up with an original vintage bulb polarity out battlefront .
(1951) Bamboo Inn 2005 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90057. Opened in 1951, this well-worn diner-style chinese restaurant is the second oldest surviving chinese restaurant in the wholly greater L.A. & Orange County area. The longest running one to my current cognition is Paul ’ s Kitchen, 1946. This set is small and extremely authentic. It has not been remodeled & even has the master wood paneled walls, burgundy booths and wood laminate tables. The prices are flush from another era, with lunch specials under $ 5 and generous servings. The food is classic mid-century american Chinese cuisine, nothing innovative, just simpleton & old fashioned .
(1951) El Carmen 8138 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90048. First opened in 1929 by Mexican immigrant Encarnación Elias Gómez, the wife of General Arnulfo Gómez, assassinated two years before while running for Mexico ’ s president of the united states, the widow started the Los Angeles occupation to support her family. El Carmen ’ s original location was at La Brea and 3rd Street, an area considered the boondocks at that time, but it moved west in 1951 as Los Angeles expanded. It was passed down through the kin for a few generations, and finally sold to a non-relative in 1997. Popular with the Hollywood film crowd, guests once included D.W. Griffith, Cecil B. DeMille, Busby Berkeley, Boris Karloff, Vincent Price and artist Diego Rivera. Dark and moody, with a round rattan ceiling trimmed with wood beams, tiled floors and more tile adorning the walls, the restaurant is reputedly haunted by the ghostwriter of Encarnacion .
(1951) The Hat 1 W Valley Blvd, Alhambra, CA 91801 The Hat opened in 1951 as a humble corner burner stand in Alhambra, selling 25¢ hamburgers, 5¢ cups of coffee bean and piled-high pastrami sandwiches. Though the original owner and the restaurant ’ s early history seems lost to time, it is known that the stall was set to be demolished for a shopping plaza in 1981, but was bought and rescued by Ronald “ Corky ” Conzonire and his brother, Joe, then-owners of five Belly Buster sandwich shops. even owned by the Conzonire family, the stand has expanded to a small local chain of 11 restaurants. The first Alhambra spot features the placement ’ s master neon sign with its iconic chef ’ second hat, updated and renovated over the years, bright yellow 1960s credit card signs, and ordering from take-out and pick-up windows. A traverse area with built-in vintage picnic tables allows customers to eat on-site .
(1952) Ernie’s Mexican Restaurant 4410 Lankershim Blvd, N. Hollywood, CA 91602. Opened in 1952 by Ernie and Albina Cruz as the irregular location to an Ernie ’ s Mexican they opened in 1944 in Lincoln Heights. The family besides operated two extra Ernie ’ s Jr restaurants in Eagle Rock ( 1950-2014 ) and Pasadena ( 1955-1998 ). This classical mid-century North Hollywood restaurant is the only survive location and has two dining areas and a bar. The interior is dimly ignite with burgundy leather booths, knobby wooden room dividers, stained glass chandeliers, wood laminate tables and batch of influence iron and Mexican cosmetic elements. The outside has vintage signs and tile bring .
(1952) Giuliano’s 1138 W Gardena Blvd, Gardena, CA 90247. family owned italian marketplace and delicatessen in a build constructed in 1947, with an outdoor eat area. opened on Gardena Blvd in Gardena in 1952 by Frances and Gaetano Giuliano. Although the inwardly has been remodeled over the years, the traditional glaze cold cut and italian food cases placid reflect its past. respective Giuliano descendants hush work at this location. The delicatessen is known for its Torpedo Sandwich. Serving italian sandwiches, pizza, pasta and fresh bake goods .
(1952) Johnnie’s Pastrami 4017 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230. celebrated pastrami reside serving American fast food take-out vogue. The little inside is evocative of a ’ 50s diner, with a wood laminate anticipate and a handful of tables with booth seating. They are long known for having a vintage jukebox on each table filled with oldies. The outside has an amazing original neon sign, and extra cinch board seating with fire pits .
(1952) Josie’s Place 16616 S Normandie Ave, Gardena, CA 90247. Opened in 1952 on Normandie Avenue in Gardena, Josie ’ randomness Place is located adjacent to rail road tracks in a little reside built in 1940. Specializing in authentic Mexican take-out food, the restaurant is now owned by the Lopez class. The build up ’ randomness outside features a credit card molded sign, while the home has wood paneled walls, a take-out counter and a small expose event of knick knacks .
(1952) Manuel’s Original El Tepeyac Cafe 812 N Evergreen Ave, L.A., CA 90033. Opened by Manuel Rojas and now run by his daughter, Elena, and grandchildren. casual Boyle Heights neighborhood Mexican cafe with counter known for their massive burrito, called The Hollenbeck ; vintage exterior river rock front & original gestural .
(1952) Melody Bar & Grill 9132 S Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045.
Opened as a steakhouse in 1952, now a banish & restaurant. Vintage rock fireplace, crimson leather booths .
(1952) Steven’s Steakhouse 5332 East Stevens Place, Commerce, CA 90040.
Steven ’ s Steak House is a classic, old-school steakhouse with outstanding signs, tan colored leather booths, beveled glass & a vintage banish. Though the department of the interior decorations and furniture have been remodeled over the years, the tactile property is a mish grind of mid-century meets gaudy ’ 80s, a definite time warp. Food is mid-century deoxyadenosine monophosphate well, boastfully slab of steak, some seafood choices, the typical iceberg salads and pasta with marina sauce .
(1952) Tony’s on the Pier 210 Fishermans Wharf, Redondo Beach, CA 90277. Opened with a minor reside on the Redondo Beach pier in 1952 and redesigned and rebuilt between 1961-63 by the owner, an ex-fisherman named Tony Trutanich. It is an amazing mid-century landmark, with bird’s-eye ocean views, tables with built-in fireplaces and an octangular gloat ’ randomness nest barricade on crown. The interior has a lot of wood, brick, vintage interior decoration and ignition, original tables and chairs, and cool headshots of celebrities ( largely from the 1960s- ’ 70s ) who have visited over the years. The outside is two levels with amazing vintage signs on both sides. Tony passed aside in 2007 and his widow now owns the restaurant. Known for their Mai Tai ’ mho and seafood, the vintage beauty of this set is worth saving. There are no heirs that want to take over this gorgeous stead, so visit while you can .
(1952) Tuxie’s 6030 Magnolia Ave, Riverside, CA 92506. Tuxie ’ s Drive-In opened 1952 on Magnolia Ave in Riverside, CA. once a walk-up hamburger restaurant, it is immediately a taco and juice shop under the same name. Located in a little hovel of a construction with take-out windows, a cover area with built-in picnic tables allows for ride down corrode. A great neon augury dates to 1955 .
(1953) Chris & Pitts 9243 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90240. One of among only 3 remaining restaurants of a BBQ chain that once included over 20 locations, all over Southern California. The chain was started in 1940 by Chris Pelonis, the son of a greek immigrant. He scraped up $ 200 to start a business and the first location ( now gone ) was in Lynwood. The other stay locations are on Artesia Blvd in Bellflower ( unfold 1946 ) and on Washington Blvd in Whittier. This location was the 6th localization opened. Inside is casual, authentic & old school, with moss green colored leather booths, a wooden counter to eat at, brick floors, forest paneled walls and ceiling & tons of area kitsch. There is a pick-up window barely inside for To-Go orders .
(1953) Chronis Famous Sandwich Shop 5825 Whittier Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90022. walk-up sandwich bandstand in commercial enterprise since 1945. At this location since 1953. original sign .
(1953) El Paseo Inn 11 Olvera St, Los Angeles, CA 900121. This mexican restaurant opened in 1930 at another location on Olvera Street, but was purchased by Elena Peluffo and Frank Webb and in 1957 it moved to its present location. The build was constructed as Pelanconi Winery, operating from 1870-1914, and was then remodeled into the restaurant Café Caliente. The space originally possessed a large central dancing floor which featured Mexican traditional dancers and a Latin orchestra, but that was finally removed. The current inside features beamed ceilings, painted brick walls, a long barricade and contains a mural-sized paint made by artist Rubén Lara Campos in 1946. Cesar Chavez was a guest arsenic well as former on Bill Clinton. An outside brick patio has tables with black iron cafe chairs, good for people watching on Olvera Street. The restaurant was bought by Andy Camacho in 1984 .
(1953) James Restaurant 739 Truman St, San Fernando, CA 91340. classical American-style diner with a dramatic neon polarity, burgundy leather booth & stools, hanging stained glass lamps and a wood laminate counter .
(1953) Larry’s Chili Dog 3122 W Burbank Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505. Larry ’ s Chili Dog stand opened in 1953. It is a little hovel with take-out windows serving several varieties of hot dogs and toppings along with a limited burger, salad and sandwich menu. Outdoor patio seating is available. The incredible original vintage bless is alone, featuring a reclining frump inside a frank bun. When the augury is lit, the dog appears to wag its tail
(1953) McDonald’s 10207 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90241. The oldest working placement of the fast food chain. The original architecture is unchanged ; an incredible animated neon sign of their first mascot, Speedee, was added in 1959 .
(1953) Mickey’s 101 Hermosa Ave, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254. Mickey ’ south italian Delicatessen was opened in 1953 in Hermosa Beach by Michael “ Mickey ” Mance, a 22-year honest-to-god korean War veteran who had just returned from military service. It was the foremost authentic italian market and delicatessen in the South Bay and today is owned by Mickey ’ s son, Paul. Serving italian sandwiches, pizza and pasta from the delicatessen counter in a commodious commercialize set, the delicatessen has communal tables and extra outdoor seating, unfortunately some of the great vintage signs were recently replaced with advanced ones, but fortunately some of the outside vintage detail remains .
(1953) Taylor’s Steakhouse 3361 W 8th St, Los Angeles, CA 90005. Began as a Los Angeles public house with the mention Taylor ’ mho Tavern, it opened in 1953. It was in the first place located on the corner of Olympic & Western, but moved to its stage location on 8th and Ardmore in the L.A. neighborhood Koreatown in 1970. hush owned by the son of the original founders, the interior of this mid-century steakhouse is like a step back in time. Dark inside, even on L.A. ’ s brightest afternoons, its deep brown wood, bourgogne semi-circular leather booths and brick walls give the suggestion of martini and film noir. A long wooden banish of black tufted leather enables you to complete this request .
(1954) The Bear Pit 10825 Sepulveda Blvd, Mission Hills, CA 91345.
If you ’ ra looking for traditional barbeque that seems to harken back to another time and position, visit The Bear Pit in Mission Hills. This vintage restaurant has been in business since the 1940s, but moved to this location from Newhall in 1954 when nation singer Tennessee Ernie Ford was its original subscriber in ads. With visit scatter on the floors, wagon wheel-shaped light fixtures, wooden beamed ceilings and bathetic paintings of friendly bears parading across the walls, its a cosy atavism to long ago. Its menu is obviously meat-centric with the criterion BBQ slope options : baked beans, coleslaw, fries and their a lot lauded garlic bread .
(1954) Capri Deli 713 E San Bernardino Rd, Covina, CA 91723. This italian grocery shop and delicatessen was opened in 1954 by erstwhile colossus boxer Vince DiMaggio. Lined with old glass delicatessen cases, filled with meats, cheeses, olives and salads, there has been a bit of modernization, but fortunately the old red brick polished floor remains and the vibration has stayed true to its roots. Ordering is done by counter, with a freestanding eat sphere filled with tables and chairs available. now run by Vince ’ sulfur sons, Vic and John, sandwiches are calm made with the like sesame-crusted 12-inch Frisco Bakery rolls Vince DiMaggio used when he opened the delicatessen, and pizza and salads are available as well .
(1954) Colombo’s Italian Steakhouse 1833 Colorado Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041. Colombo ’ mho restaurant serves erstwhile school 1950s italian food, going back to when this character of Eagle Rock was an italian region. Opened in 1954 on Colorado Blvd by Sam Colombo and his wife Ann, it is now run by their nephew, Vic Parrino. Featuring live wind bands and vocalists, the dimly lit dining room has red leather semi-circular booths, wood paneled walls, iron chandeliers, bolshevik velvet drapes and vintage paintings hanging in gold colored frames, while an attached bar is paneled in fake wood and upholster in more red leather. The outside is a classic mid-century restaurant build, boxlike with brick trim, and featuring a wood shingled roof. Murals are painted on the outside wall, near a little outdoor eating area .
(1954) Domenico’s Italian Restaurant 5339 E 2nd St, Long Beach, CA 90803. Opened in 1954 by Domenico and Beverly Spano, this is the oldest surviving entire service restaurant in Long Beach and decidedly the first gear restaurant to introduce pizza to the Long Beach area. An early Domenico ’ s menu instructs newbies to the art of pizza feed, “ Pick it up in your hands to eat it. Your waitress will be glad to show you the proper room. not only does this make it easier to handle- it adds to the flavor. ” Known for their piled-high ground pepperoni pizza, the inside of Domenico ’ s stays genuine to its vintage integrity with blur ignite, crimson leather booths, wrought cast-iron, black wood, trellises and stained glass. The outside is brick trimmed with incredible vintage neon signs. Domenico ’ second was owned by the Kenyon family from the mid- ’ 60s until 2004 and has been owned since then by Mike Rhodes .
(1954) Dresden Restaurant 1760 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027.
authoritative mid-century steakhouse & lounge. It was remodeled in the 1960s by then-owner Carl Ferraro with blank leather booths on the dine room english, geometric, modernist cork dining table walls, river rock ‘n’ roll inlays, mid-century earth lamps and a long wooden bar. Lounge act Marty & Elayne have performed in the barricade area since 1982 .
(1954) Petrillo’s 833 E Valley Blvd, San Gabriel, CA 91776. Petrillo ’ mho is a classic pizza parlor opened in 1954 by brother-in-law Norbert Lighthouse and Carl Petrillo. The front of the restaurant features an perplex vintage exterior with several cool neon signs. The inside is partially remodeled, but still has black leather booths and a cool, kitschy trellis with tarnish glass lamps overhanging them to make it feel old school authentic. Known for their incredible squarely cut pizza, the restaurant is still kin owned .
(1954) Ramona’s Mexican Food Products 6900 S San Pedro St, Los Angeles, CA 90003. Opened in 1954 on San Pedro St in a rough around the edges separate of Huntington Park. Serving flying food mexican food take-out vogue, this place always has huge lines and is a neighborhood favorite. The restaurant got its starting signal in 1947 out of a sign of the zodiac at Temple & Beaudry before moving to this location in ’ 54 and opening another in 1962 on western Ave in Gardena. The inside here has been completely modernized, but it calm has a reasonably vintage outside and old school plastic signs .
(1955) Casa Bianca Pizza Pie 1650 Colorado Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041. Opened in 1955 by the Martorana family, who had just relocated to Los Angeles from Chicago, it is hush run by their children today. A comfortable and busy pizza and pasta restaurant with low-cost prices, there is closely always a long expect for a table. The exterior has amaze original neon signs and the interior has a casual erstwhile educate vibration, with green leather booths, stained glass chandeliers, unvoiced wood floors, red & white checked mesa clothes .
(1955) Chips Restaurant 11908 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250. original Googie diner with outstanding sign & wavy roof line serving classical dining car food. The build was designed by architect Harry Harrison .
(1955) El Charro 3741 N Verdugo Rd, Montrose, CA 91020. originally opened in as a four table, eight fecal matter restaurant in 1955 at another location in Montrose, owners John & Grace Chagolla moved it to its present, larger, Verdugo Road localization in 1960. The sauces were recipes that Grace had learned growing up in Texas. The interior is decidedly vintage, with woodwind paneled walls, knobby wood booth dividers, olive green leather booths and Mexican lanterns hang from a neglect ceiling .
(1955) Hof’s Hut 2147 N Bellflower Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90815. The lone vintage placement left of Hof ’ sulfur Hut, a popular range of Long Beach restaurants opened by Harold Hofman in 1951, beginning with a now defunct Bixby Knolls location. By 1975 the chain had 9 locations, but today there are only three remaining- Los Alamitos ( opened in the 1990s in the 1977 space of the first Claim Jumper restaurant ), Torrance ( opened mid-1980s ) and this location, all now run by Harold ’ s son Craig. Serving homelike, American classical food, breakfasts and proto-indo european, the interior has been remodeled over the years in an update “ ex post facto ” style with tile floors and walls, modern alight fixtures and booths .
(1955) Fox’s 2352 N Lake Ave, Altadena, CA 91001. quaint, family owned cafe serving breakfast and brunch in a small firm. Cool original fox sign out presence. original owner retired and it was closed for many months. Reopened in mid-2018 with a modern recast and different owners .
(1955) Joyce’s Coffee Shop 8826 Reseda Blvd, Northridge, CA 91324. honest-to-god school diner-style chocolate workshop. Vintage signs, burgundy leather booth & formica tables .
(1955) Magic Lamp Inn 8189 E Foothill Blvd, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730. Opened in 1955 by bizarre restauranteur John Clearman, who modeled it on his Pico Rivera Steak ‘ n Stein which he opened in 1946. Clearman went on to create the Northwoods Inn, Clearman ’ s Galley and the long gone Golden Cock. Located on Route 66, it was once the placement of a restaurant called Lucy and John ’ sulfur opened in 1941, which was destroyed by fire in 1955. It has had merely three owners in its 65 years, Clearman from 1955-1975, Anthony Vernola from 1975-2012 and presently Sartaj Singh. This traditional steakhouse was done in the Old World vogue with plank woodwind walls and ceiling, bolshevik leather booths, stained looking glass, a circular brick fireplace and flowery carpet. The outside is bumpkinly brick and features an incredible master neon sign in the shape of a magic lamp .
(1955) Sire Bar & Grill 6440 Magnolia Ave, Riverside, CA 92506. The Sire Bar & Grill was opened in 1955 in Riverside, CA. This small dive bar/restaurant has forest paneled walls, corrode colored leather bucket seats, a slog bar, wood laminate tables and a brick fireplace. It serves american food, burgers, sandwiches and weekend breakfasts. Outside is this gorgeous vintage horseshoe neon polarity .
(1955) Uncle Bud’s Kitchen 16636 Clark Ave, Bellflower, CA 90706. bantam house with express antagonistic seat and a few tables. Vintage ’ 70s inner with wood paneled walls, mid-century mesa and chairs, thrift grocery store kitsch interior decoration and a laminate eating counter with stools. Serves breakfast merely until 11:30am. The actual Uncle Bud was a cook in the Korean War who returned home to open this restaurant and then passed on the business to the current owner .
(1955) The Venice Room 2428 S Garfield Ave, Monterey Park, CA 91754.
A dark, romantically moody restaurant and bar that seems frozen in time. With both deep burgundy & black semi-circular booths, forest laminate tables, knobby wood detail, loss table lamps, velvet flocked wallpaper and honest-to-god school murals of Venice, Italy, inside this windowless steakhouse, it could be day or night. The browning automatic rifle area is just as vintage and even has a piano for when the climate is right. The exterior has fabulous vintage neon and the original 1950s facade. Although the ambiance is perfect, it is not the thing that stands out most here. This place is known for grilling your own steak. It is an odd & fun custom that is absolutely singular in erstwhile L.A. american restaurants. precisely bring the raw steak you holy order to the built-in hibachi, season it to your like, and then grill. But try not to forget about it as you nurse your martini…
(1956) Beeps 16063 Sherman Way, Van Nuys, CA 91406. Beeps is a little authentic 1950s dining car with window/counter service and a few remodel booths covered in silver vinyl upholstery. The small corrode area is jammed with fun retro memorabilia, such as honest-to-god movie posters, records and toss off culture ephemeron, covering the walls and ceiling. Its extensive take-out menu of everything from hamburgers and frosting cream ice-cream sundae to burrito is displayed on old plastic billboards and can be ordered either outside or inside .
(1956) Casa Vega 13301 Ventura Blvd, Sherman Oaks, CA 91423. Opened in 1956 by 22-year-old Raphael “ Ray ” Vega, the son of Tijuana-born immigrants who operated Cafe Caliente restaurant for 18 years on Olvera Street beginning in the 1930s. originally located two blocks east on Ventura, Casa Vega moved after two years to where it presently stands. Marlon Brando, Cary Grant and countless other Hollywood luminaries were regulars. The entrance walls are made of river rock, with a heavy carved wooden door and the fantastic outside neon sign is original. Inside is a dark, quixotic Mexican restaurant with burgundy leather booths, brick walls and a break browning automatic rifle. The restaurant is now run by Ray Vega ’ sulfur daughter, Christy .
(1956) Domenick’s Pizza House 24209 Avalon Blvd, Carson, CA 90745. Old school, casual italian restaurant with forest ceilings and burgundy leather booths, an original polish red linoleum floor, brick walls, paneled wood and vintage Italian-American restaurant decorations. A vintage sign out front is ’ 60s- ’ 70s era .
(1956) Jack’s Whittier Restaurant 13221 Whittier Blvd, Whittier, CA 90602.
Opened in 1956 by Clinton Hust “ Jack ” Corcoran, who beginning in the 1930s owned a total of six Whittier restaurants, including Jack ’ s Salad Bowl, Jack ’ s El Rancho, Jack ’ s Uptown and Jack ’ s Beverly Fountain, this is the last location of those still standing. After Corcoran sold the business in 1973, the construction was drastically remodeled, changing the googie roofline and removing a full outside wall of glass blocks. Although today it is impressive in its ex post facto manner, it is not original and was turned down for historic landmark status in 2016. however, the incredible signs out front were built with the original 1956 construction and are true vintage. Jack ’ s Whittier lists the class 1933 as its open, which may have reflected an earlier translation of the restaurant in the like localization. Both the interior and stream exterior are in the ex post facto ’ 50s dining car stylus, with fish ceilings, booths with laminate tables and a long eating counter .
(1956) Little Toni’s 4745 Lankershim Blvd, North Hollywood, CA 91602. short Toni ’ sulfur opened in 1956, taking over the 30-seat Cottage Italia restaurant, an italian restaurant where known jazz musicians jammed together in the early ’ 50s. About ten years later it expanded to 100 seats by knocking down the liquor memory future door. Serving Italian-American food, this restaurant has an authentic old school vibration ; dark, with crimson leather booths, stained glass, wood & italian inspired interior decoration .
(1956) The Munch Box 21532 Devonshire St, Chatsworth, CA 91311. The Munch Box is a bantam walk-up hamburger stand on Devonshire Street in Chatsworth, CA opened by John Kent in 1956 and now owned by his nephew. Bright yellow with red 1950s font, a jet-age sloped roof, sporting brick and river rock clean-cut, it was designed by architect Marcel Dumas. In an area once by and large known for its ranches and cowfolk, it originally featured a buck post where local riders could tie their horses while grabbing a bite. Chatsworth residents Roy Rogers and Dale Evans were known to be customers. Serving the most basic of a hot frump, fries and hamburger menu, this honest-to-god clock time stand was made a historic-cultural repository in 2003 .
(1956) Naka’s Broiler 1961 W El Segundo Blvd, Compton, CA 90222. Opened on March 1, 1956 by husband and wife Katherine and Nathaniel Banks, Naka ’ s Broiler may be the first gear black-owned business in the city of Compton. The couple came up with the name Naka by combining the beginning two letters of Nathaniel with the first base two of Katherine. Located in a modest brick build up, the diner serves american food, including burgers, sandwiches and breakfasts and is only open for morning and early on good afternoon hours. The restaurant was bought by David Fisher in 1991, who kept Katherine aka Mama Naka busy there until she died in 2007 .
(1956) The Original Park Pantry 2104 E Broadway, Long Beach, CA 90803. original 1950s vintage build with a bang-up neon sign. Serving american english diner-style food. The inside has been slightly redecorate, but however keeps an old school integrity .
(1956) Otomisan 2506 1/2 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90033. Cozy diner with three booths and counter seat. It may identical well be the oldest surviving japanese restaurant in the wholly Los Angeles area. Boyle Heights became a japanese community in the 1950s after japanese citizens were released from forced U.S. WWll internment camps. The neighborhood is now chiefly Mexican and this restaurant is one of the few remainders of its japanese history .
(1956) Santoro’s 1423 W Burbank Blvd, Burbank, CA 91506. Opened in 1956 by Pat Santoro, a transplant from Massachusetts who ran a bomber patronize back East with his brothers. In 1971 Pat ’ s son took over the denounce and since 1996 it has been owner by Salvatore Palilla. Beloved in Burbank since the ’ 50s, the little storehouse with both indoor and outdoor seating serves hot and cold italian submarine, side salads and cannoli .
(1957) Antonio’s Pizzeria 13619 Ventura Blvd, Sherman Oaks, CA 91423. Opened in 1957 by Antonio Miceli, brother of Carmen Miceli, collapse of Miceli ’ second restaurant ( 1949 ), this restaurant opened in 1957 as a second branch of Miceli ’ second. Antonio changed the diagnose to Antonio ’ s Pizzeria about about a year later, adding the classic Italy-shaped neon sign that still hangs proudly over Ventura Blvd. With bang-up tarnish glaze windows facing the street, the inside has wood paneled walls, fake brick reduce, green leather booths, and many bathetic details, such as Chianti bottles hanging from the ceiling, credit card grape leaves, bolshevik & blank checked mesa cloths & murals of italian vistas painted on the walls. Antonio Miceli sold the restaurant to current owner Alex Lunardon in 1988 .
(1957) Art’s Delicatessen 12224 Ventura Blvd, Studio City, CA 91604.
Art ’ s Deli opened in 1957 on Ventura Blvd in Studio City, CA. Founded by New York bear Art Ginsburg, it is a traditional jewish delicatessen with rust colored booths, wood paneled board dividers, ceiling fans, hanging glass globe lights and a looking glass delicatessen case. The board was remodeled after a fire caused by the 1994 Northridge earthquake, but the exterior features an old neon sign. Art passed away several years ago and the restaurant in immediately run by his son .
(1957) Cock-a-Doodle 12940 Central Ave, Chino, CA 91710. The Cock-a-Doodle restaurant opened in 1957 on Central Avenue, in what ’ second bequeath of Chino ’ s downtown business zone. Started by Johnny and Thora Sosinsky, its appoint came from the fact that the restaurant opened so early in the morning that one could hear the cock crow. People in the area much shorten the name to “ The Doodle. ” Serving american english country-style breakfasts, lunches and dinners, the interior decoration reflects this theme, with forest paneled walls, burgundy tufted leather booths, police van wheels on the walls and a separate loiter area that reflects the lapp deck schema. The outside is forest side and trimmed with brick and overhang with a fairly new awning. Though it has had several sets of owners since the Sosinskys, it has been owned by Patricia and Joe Costa since 1996 .
(1957) Coral Cafe 3321 W Burbank Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505. coral Cafe was opened in 1957 by Danny and Irene Frydokowski. Located in a freestanding build, trimmed with brick, this 24-hour diner has had makeovers since it was beginning opened. With enough of laminate woodwind, colonial interior decoration chairs, frosted hurricane lamps and cloth booth seat, it retains a vintage dated palpate, somewhere between the late ’ 70s anf early ’ 90s. Serving an across-the-board menu of American and Mexican diner classics, it has been owned since 1990 by John Leoisis and Tom Vournas, cousins of the original owners .
(1957) Galley Cafe 829 Harbor Island Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660. small, cheery diner with chicken leather booths and a position of the marina .
(1957) Ozzie’s Diner 7780 E Slauson Ave, Commerce, CA 90040. classical, authentic ’ 50s dining car with greenish blue colored booths, formica counter, an perplex original bless and a dark, cozy sofa with a wood cake tucked to the side .
(1957) Norm’s Restaurant  470 N La Cienega Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90048. separate of the 1949 founded chain, this Googie Armet & Davis designed location is the oldest leave .
(1957) Rod’s Grill 41 W. Huntington Dr., Arcadia, CA 91007. Rod ’ mho began as a chain of American-style restaurants opened by Rod Wellman in 1946. The first location was on Atlantic Blvd in Alhambra, but this Arcadia location, Rod ’ s # 4, is the entirely arm that remains nowadays. other locations were in El Monte, Pico Rivera, Montebello and East L.A. This was closely lost to the wrecking ball in 2006, when the city of Arcadia attempted to use eminent domain to enable a Mercedes franchise to expand, but public exclaim saved it from destruction. The outside is in the googie-style, with triangular ceiling, river rock walls and vintage signs. Inside is a well-preserved mid hundred dining car with turquoise leather booths, brink walls, wood laminate tables and a slop architectural ceiling .
(1957) Safari Room 15426 Devonshire St, Mission Hills, CA 91345. The Safari Room is a mid-century steakhouse opened in 1957. Though the exterior of the construct is basic light brick, the formative signboard featuring a dancing african warrior hints at the inner decoration. The inside is african safari-themed with blacken leather semi-circular booths trimmed with faux-leopard fur, a slant wood beamed ceiling, interior decoration featuring african spears, shields and masks, and a cozy attached wooden bar with black bucket seats .
(1958) Astro Family Restaurant 2300 Fletcher, Los Angeles, CA 90039.
Mid-century Googie dining car that changed names ; opened as Donley ’ south Diner, then Conrad ’ s, Astro in 1974 .
(1958) Dal Rae 9023 E. Washington Blvd, Pico Rivera, CA 90660. This “ sophisticated ” and pricey mid-century steakhouse was originally opened in 1951 on 105th Street and Western Avenue, near Watts, by Ed Dalton and Rae Harris, who combined their names into a fresh one to call their restaurant. shortly afterword the restaurant was purchased by Omaha, Nebraska born brothers, Ben and Bill Smith, who opened this second localization on Washington Blvd in Pico Rivera in 1958 and a third location in Fullerton. The Watts localization closed in 1969 and the Fullerton restaurant was in business at least into the late 1980s. With an amazing vintage bless out front, unfortunately converted a few years ago from its master neon to plastic, the home features elegant dark wood walls, a honeycombed ceiling & black leather booths. Though the interior decoration has been slightly modernized over the years, the menu has stayed much the same from the days when an ashtray was found on every table and a martini with lunch was considered quite normal. This is the place to try some of those classic ’ 50s menu items that you ’ ve alone hear of, such as Oysters Rockefeller, Sauteed Frog Legs, Duck fifty ’ Orange, Crab Louie or the fire Cherries Jubilee and Banana Flambe. The Dal Rae has been owned by Ben Smith ’ south sons, Lorin and Kevin, since 1996 .
(1958) Frumento’s 214 W Beverly Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640. Opened in 1958 by Anthony and Barbara Frumento, this Montebello brick fronted, region italian delicatessen and market serves sandwiches, italian baked goods, gelato, delicatessen case pasta and salads. The rejoinder and delicatessen font have been modernized over the years, but the remainder of the room is still reasonably original, with polished cement floors, exposed air travel ducts and tables & chairs for eating. It is even owner and run by the Frumento family .
(1958) Giovanni’s Pizza 922 Williamson Ave, Fullerton, CA 92832. This first pizzeria in the Orange County town of Fullerton was opened by Tony and Emily Codispoti in 1958 and was run by their son Paul Codispoti from 1981 until his death in 1999. still in the same location today, the interior of this casual italian restaurant has been modernized over the years, but however features cheap pizza, pasta and submarine and a separate video recording game room .
(1958) Jim’s Burgers #1 4660 Gage Ave, Bell, CA 90201. The first of the Jim ’ south Burgers chain. perplex vintage sign. Great late 1960s/early 1970s inside with a rock wall, knobbed wood exercise, wood laminate and molded booths. Serving fast food american and mexican .
(1958) Lido Pizza 15232 Victory Blvd, Van Nuys, CA 91411. This vintage pizza parlor is located in the corner of a strip plaza built in 1956. Its original weathered formative sign, topped with a crooked mid-century lantern still stands proudly beckon patrons to Lido ’ randomness circus tent-like ’ 50s awning and a front entrance built of fabulous river rock candy. Taken over from a family member in 1960 by Frank Paul Miccolis, a Brooklyn transplant who started the Chi-Chis Pizza chain in 1958 out of Panorama City, this restaurant was his second and is still separate of the Chi-Chis family. With a menu serving huge gooey portions of pizza, pasta and italian salads, Frank ’ s widow Ida Mae and son Paul Miccolis continue to own the restaurant today. The department of the interior features dim lighting, red-tufted vinyl booths and vintage work iron fake stained glass chandeliers and the locate credibly hasn ’ t been remodeled since the ’ 80s. Anchored on the other end of the plaza by the previous school prima donna prevention Carlito ’ south Way, this plaza is worth a travel .
(1958) Original Pancake House 1418 E Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92805. The first California branch of The Original Pancake House was built in 1958 on Lincoln Ave in Anaheim. It had been founded in Portland, Oregon 5 years earlier in 1953 by Les Highet and Erma Hueneke as a restaurant to highlight international pancake recipes. nowadays there are over 100 restaurants in the chain. This Anaheim placement was gutted by fire in 1961 and immediately rebuilt. The exterior resembles a thatch roof bungalow, while the interior of this location is still master with wood paneled walls, orange leather booths, knobbed wood room dividers, forest laminate tables and linoleum floors .
(1958) Pann’s Restaurant 6710 La Tijera Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045. Opened by George and Rena Panagopoulos in 1958, after about a ten of working in other L.A. area restaurants, Pann ’ randomness is a classic googie-style coffee shop presently only capable during breakfast and lunch hours. Designed by architects Eldon Davis and Helen Lui Fong of the Armet & Davis architectural firm, the outside has a space age trilateral roofline, river rock candy walls and original neon signboard. The inside has red leather booths, a long wood laminate buffet with ivory leather stools and more river rock ‘n’ roll .
(1958) The Pizza Show 13344 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250. The Pizza Show opened in 1958 on Hawthorne Blvd in Hawthorne as the moment branch of a casual italian restaurant opened by Jay Evans, an ex-New York City cab driver. Jay moved his class from New York to to California in 1955 and opened the first branch of the Pizza Show in Inglewood in 1956. He kept it running until 1966, when he opened a third ramify in Lawndale, which closed in the early 2000s. now owned by Jay ’ s son, Gary, this Hawthorne outgrowth has red leather booths and vintage honest-to-god global, bumpkinly touches. The outside is faced with brick and has vibrant, loss, white and green circus-like signs with flags and a few cafe tables for outdoor eat. The inside has a fun spirit, designed to resemble an old italian village court, with doors and windows on the walls, exposed brick and trompe d ’ oeil murals. The Beach Boys grew up a few blocks away & used to get pizza here after their gigs in the early ’ 60s .
(1958) Rae’s Restaurant 2901 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405. classic 1950s dining car with crimson leather booths, vintage light fixtures, neon sign and exterior wall made of rock. authentic vicinity old school feel. Contrary to popular belief, there was no Rae. The name is derived from the initials of the names of the original owners : Ralph, his wife Alphonsine, and their daughter Eloise. The S is for their final name-Shipman .
(1958) Sandwiches by Connal 1505 E Washington Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91104
This flying food sandwich digest opened in 1958 and has a local, casual tactile property. It has an indoor eat area that has been completely remodeled with a ’ 50s vibration, but calm feels authentic. Two cool vintage signs hang out front .
(1959) Cavaretta’s Italian Deli 22045 Sherman Way, Canoga Park, CA 91304. Opened in 1959 on Sherman Way in Canoga Park. A late exterior recast unfortunately removed the cool vintage sign & the mid-century river rock front. however, the interior has kept its authentic integrity with old school looking glass delicatessen cases filled with italian cold cuts, cookies, cannoli and a mish mash of collectibles crowding the walls. An sphere with baseball memorabilia commemorates a cousin, Phil Cavaretta, who played Major League Baseball for the Chicago Cubs from 1935 to 1954 .
(1959) Chez Jay 1657 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90401. Chez Jay was opened one-fourth of July weekend in 1959 on Ocean St in Santa Monica by a struggling actor from the east slide named Jay Fiondella. A combination bar/restaurant with red leather booths, wood paneled walls, port hole windows and a formica topped bar, it became a haunt of some of the coolest celebrities of the 1960s & 1970s : Richard Burton, Peter Sellers, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Joe DiMaggio, Judy Garland, The Beach Boys, Jim Morrison and many more… Jay passed away in 2008, but the target has thankfully not changed a sting. It ’ s a little approximate around the edges, but the home is placid precisely the lapp, along with see dust on the floors and bowl of peanuts on the legal profession .
(1959) Dinah’s Family Restaurant 6521 S Sepulveda Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045. Homey diner that ’ second been remodeled but keeps some vintage integrity .
(1959) Gazzolo’s Sausages 132 E Highland Ave, San Bernardino, CA 92404. Walking into Gazzolo ’ second on Highland Ave in San Bernardino is a spot like stepping into an old german fairy narrative. Opened in 1959 as Otto ’ randomness Sausages by Otto Doggwiler, who immigrated from Switzerland with his family ’ second blimp recipes, it has functioned as a restaurant, delicatessen and homemade sausage company always since. Doggwiler retired and returned to Switzerland and it has been owned since 1986 by Jay Gazzolo, who changed part of the shop ’ mho name to reflect his own. Santos Favela, a 72-year old blimp maker, has been working at the restaurant since the early 1960s and can placid be seen there nowadays. Both the exterior and inside are charming and entire of spell. The outside, with a wood cobbled roof, fake log exterior, fake lamp chimney bright colors, windowpane shutters and flower boxes, looks like a Disneyland creation. Written on the presence of the build is “ bavarian Inn ” and “ german Dinners, ” but an amaze vintage formative signal, probably from the 1960s, in the shape of a pennant suspension from a javelin says, “ european Dining, Specializing in Austrian, German and Swiss. ” Entrance is through the back park lot and a woodwind cobbled portico with another signboard, “ Wilkommen. ” Inside is old-time and old world, with wood panel, and small wooden tables, but the veridical limited place to eat is in the back board, where several wooden booths are part of a Hansel & Gretel-type village stage set, where patrons eat under an overhand designed to look like a european house, with fake windows and shutters. And so far another small room has the previous fashion delicatessen sheath, dispatch with sausages, cold cuts and a few cheeses .
(1959) La Luz del Dia 1 Olvera St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Located in a historic building on L.A. ’ s oldest street, this Michoacan-style Mexican restaurant was opened by Jack Berber and his cousin, Pancho Cazares. Jack had owned a grocery store with the lapp name a few blocks away, but opened this restaurant after receiving permission from Olvera Street ’ s founder Christine Sterling in 1959. Beginning in 1926 Christine campaigned for several years to have Olvera Street preserved and turned into a tourist sphere celebrating mexican culture and was successful in 1930. The restaurant is filled with beautiful tile solve, red mud tiled floors, original brick and woodwind clean-cut. Food is served from a take-out window and has a central dine room and an outdoor patio area. It is immediately owner by Jack ’ s son, Henry Berber and grandson, Gregory Berber .
(1959) Marty’s Hamburger Stand 10558 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064. Marty ’ second Hamburger Stand opened in 1959 on Pico Blvd in the Rancho Park vicinity of West L.A. It is a fiddling take-out trail, painted orange and blue sky, with antagonistic seating available on the sides and a patio with built-in picnic tables in the rise. Serving fast food hamburgers, fries and hotdogs, their peculiarity is the “ Combo, ” a chili-hot chase topped-cheeseburger. The stools and tables, besides painted orange and aristocratic, are original vintage fixtures .
(1959) Matt & Tony’s 10710 Sepulveda Blvd, Mission Hills, CA 91345. Serving hot and cold italian submarine sandwiches in a funky corner hut with hired hand painted murals on the outside walls, the interior holds a few ’ 60s molded laminate booths .
(1959) Pina Pizza House  11102 Paramount Blvd, Downey, CA 90241. Pina Pizza House is family owned pizza living room, Downey ’ south oldest italian restaurant. It was named after the family matriarch, Pina Persico, who founded the restaurant with her conserve John in 1959. The inner is basic and casual, with a patchwork of interior decoration styles, from the 1960s to the 1980s, including vintage wall and floor tile .
(1959) Red Lion Tavern 2366 Glendale Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90039. The Red Lion Tavern opened in 1959 on Glendale Blvd in Silverlake. It ’ s a bathetic german tavern that was primitively opened by the owners of the evening older Cole ’ sulfur restaurant in business district L.A. Although red Lion was primitively an Old English public house, it became German in 1963. With forest k leather booths, wood paneled walls, windows made of motley bottles, waitresses in Oktoberfest-style cinch dresses and an across-the-board german beer list, this restaurant/bar is a local institution. The food is straight up traditional German- sausages, schnitzel and pretzels a big as your pass. Check out the eldritch piano lounge act as well .
(1959) Tallyrand 1700 W Olive Ave, Burbank, CA 91506. Tallyrand is an american diner opened in 1959 on Olive Avenue in Burbank by Al and Delores Thomas, transplants from the Mid-West. Remodeled reasonably over the years, the interior has a 1960s meets 1980s feel with a long laminate eat counter, ’ 80s-style booths and a batch of fake wood. The exterior has kept much of its original mid-century spirit, with master baptismal font on the front of the construction and a cosmetic diamond model a well. The original bless with Al Thomas ’ name in neon above the restaurant ’ south was unfortunately finally replaced with a modern plastic version, but the separate cocktail lounge, besides recently remodeled, still survives. This diner was a favored of California TV enlistment template Huell Howser .
(1959) Tito’s Tacos 11222 Washington Pl, Culver City, CA 90230. much beloved Americanized hard-shelled greaser served at an outdoor base with notoriously long lines. This taco stand was opened in 1959 in Culver City by business partners Benjamin Davidson and Benny Vizcarra, but has been owned since 1981 by Davidson ’ s granddaughter Lynne Davidson. The inside is remodeled fast-food simplicity with basic tables and ceiling fans. Picnic postpone seat is besides available outside. A bright chicken plastic sign out front is likely ’ 70s era .
(1959) Tortilla Inn 18114 Parthenia St, Northridge, CA 91325. Though this family-owned Mexican restaurant is located in a reasonably off-putting undress promenade with a advanced fictile sign, inside has a feel of hide care for, an honest-to-god school restaurant that has kept much of its mid-century interior decoration and integrity. With a dimly-lit atmosphere, loss leather booths and offprint measure, the interior is paneled with both forest and brick .
(1960) Compari’s Pizza 5490 W Centinela Ave, Westchester, CA 90045. In its original strip-mall placement on Centinela Ave since 1960, Compari ’ sulfur has a quaint, casual, old neighborhood feel. The exterior still has its original river rock front man and the arrow contribution of its vintage neon sign is original. Serving Northern Italian-style pizza and pasta, the long, narrow interior is built to recreate an outdoor court in Italy, a unique feature. The walls are brick, with windows, shutters and awnings to appear you are away looking in. The ceiling and rear wall is wholly and heavily covered with fictile grape vines, to give one the feeling of eating under a trellis. other vintage decorations include original 1960s hanging lanterns and paintings of the italian masters along the walls .
(1960) Domenico’s Italian Restaurant 2411 E Washington, Pasadena, CA 91104.
Family owned & run for three generations, Domenico ’ s got its start as a small take-out pizza and spaghetti restaurant opened in 1960 by Domenic and Rose Bitonti. finally adding a sit-down dine room and a full italian menu, the restaurant is still owned nowadays by the match ’ s three children. Though divide, a lot newer, branches of Domenico ’ second operate in Glendora and Monrovia, this restaurant has no connection to the Long Beach Domenico ’ s .
(1960) Jim’s Famous Quarterpound Burger 8749 Valley Blvd, Rosemead, CA 91770. Vintage fast food burger joint on its second base owner. Opened in 1960 on Valley Blvd in Rosemead, by “ Jim ” of course. Since 1997 they have a new owner, but they are distillery celebrated for their amazing & enormous banana milkshakes .
(1960) Paty’s Restaurant 10001 Riverside Dr, Toluca Lake, CA 91602
Remodeled ex post facto diner patronized by celebrities. Near Warner Bros studios. primitively called Gaby ’ second, when former owner Cathy Baker bought it the name was changed to Paty ’ sulfur. New owners bought the restaurant in 1999 and completely remodeled it .
(1960) Yamashiro 1999 N Sycamore Ave, L.A., CA 90068. all right Japanese-style dine. Built in 1914, with romanticist views and L.A. ’ s oldest structure- a 600 year-old pagoda .
(1961) Arthur’s Restaurant 8813 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90240. authentic ’ 60s diner with wood paneled walls, olive green leather booths, wood laminate tables and original front sign .
(1961) Casa de Pizza 16161 San Fernando Mission Blvd, Granada Hills, CA 91344. Casa de Pizza was opened in 1961 in a strip promenade on San Fernando Mission Blvd in Granada Hills by a Chicago couple who had come west five years earlier. originally a simpleton italian takeout pizza parlor, it expanded in 1965, adding eight tables and a decorate dodge of Frank Sinatra memorabilia. apparently in the early ’ 70s Sinatra himself visited after hours, leaving a $ 900 tip and the license that the restaurant could call the dine room “ The Sinatra Room. ” Today the din room has doubled in size, adding more Frank interior decoration, such as frame posters and read album. The exterior has original ’ 60s river rock. The home, though modernized over the years, is italian bistro chic, featuring a trellis with formative grape vines, built in booths and a raised alcove where a Frank Sinatra protection band plays on Thursday nights .
(1961) Harold’s House of Omelettes 2440 E Thousand Oaks, Thousand Oaks, 91362. Harold ’ s House of Omelettes opened in Thousand Oaks, CA in 1961. Located in a strip promenade with an erstwhile credit card signal, this cafe serves omelettes ampere well as burgers, sandwiches and mexican food. The inside is country kitsch interior decoration with a 1960s feel. Along with wood paneled walls and farmhouse style wallpaper, there are black vinyl booths. Opened by Harold Warner, a WWll vet and large band earned run average drummer, who had started in the restaurant business as a cook at the Hollywood & Vine location of Du-Par ’ randomness restaurant in 1949 and then moved in the early 1950s to Thousand Oaks to begin a Du-Par ’ sulfur there. Harold continued cooking at his own cafe until the deep 1990s .
(1961) Hinano Cafe 15 W. Washington Blvd, Venice, CA 90292. Breakfast & burgers. Funky beach english reside that was one of Jim Morrison ’ s darling hangs. cement floors, loosely wood plank ceilings, pool tables & sawdust on the floor .
(1961) Mario’s Italian Deli 740 E Broadway, Glendale, CA 91205. Mario Tribuzi opened Mario ’ mho italian Deli in 1961 on Broadway Ave in Glendale, CA and it is owned by his son today. Known for their sandwiches on crusted rolls, this belittled italian grocery store has a long glass delicatessen rejoinder filled with italian meats, cheeses, salads and pasta dishes and is highly busy during lunch hours. With a handful of tables available for eating in, ordering is done at the counter. The department of the interior is old school utilitarian, while the outside is trimmed with brick and features pass painted signs .
(1961) The Rock Store 30354 Mulholland Hwy, Cornell, CA 91301. originally opened as a grocery store storehouse, it had been a stage coach check in the 1910s. bumpkinly BBQ/Burger joint & motorbike haunt. River rock candy facade and outdoor patio .
(1961) Roma D’Italia 611 El Camino Real, Tustin, CA 92780. The first italian restaurant in Tustin, opened in 1961, Roma d ’ Italia has been owned by the Corea class since 1968, after patriarch Dominic Corea, once a carpenter, took over the commercial enterprise. still run by his children and grandchildren today, the restaurant specializes in huge servings of italian comfort food, pizza, pasta and entrees, served on top of crimson and whiten check tablecloths. In accession to a cool plastic mid-century sign out front featuring a cartoon chef flipping a pizza there are only a few original vintage architectural touches left after a 2011 expansion, including river rock in the entrance and brick trimmed walls .
(1961) Uncle Bill’s Pancake House 1305 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266. Located in a 1908 construct house. american breakfast and lunch foods .
(1962) Angelo’s Italian Restaurant 1540 W Valley Blvd, Alhambra, CA 91803. Angelo ’ sulfur italian Restaurant spent its first four decades under the helm of two separate men named Angelo. Opened in 1962 by Angelo Sabatelli, the restaurant was sold to Angelo Comas in 1979 who owned it until 2005. Though a late renovation took away most of the vintage interior decoration, the newest owner, Zack Frluckaj, has kept the original owner ’ sulfur italian recipes and expanded the menu .
(1962) Casita del Campo 1920 Hyperion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027. Rudy del Campo was a Broadway and Las Vegas dancer who had a role playing one of the “ Sharks ” in the 1961 film version of West Side Story. The year after the movie was released, Rudy, with his sister and beginning wife, purchased a theater on Hyperion Avenue in Silverlake and remodeled it to open Casita del Campo. Serving mexican food, the restaurant is blue and romantic, the main room filled with knobby mid-century wood and crimson leather booths tucked under a wooden portico, Mexican-inspired art and a large bar with stools and ’ 70s era deco inspired stain glass. A bright middle room has trees and leaf, while an outdoor patio features outstanding, brilliantly colored mosaic tabled. A theater in the basement chiefly hosts alternative stage work and cabaret. Though Rudy passed away in 2003, the restaurant is distillery owned by his children and widow, Nina, who has been region of the business since 1965 .
(1962) Chee Chinese Restaurant 850 W Willow St, Long Beach, CA 90806. classic 1960s restaurant architecture and an perplex vintage sign. The interior is honest-to-god school utilitarian with booths, wood laminate tables & taiwanese cosmetic touches .
(1962) Chinese Garden 856 N Garfield Ave, Montebello, CA 90640. Sammy & Jane Mar opened Chinese Garden Restaurant on N. Garfield Ave in Montebello, CA on October 18, 1962. Serving Cantonese-style chinese food, it is presently owned and operated by the Mar kin. The outside has 1960s river rock detailing and mid-century globe lamps, while the interior has been modernized over the years and has burgundy leather booth aboard criterion tables and chairs, along with a few chinese decorations .
(1962) Cupid’s Hot Dogs 20030 Vanowen St, Winnetka, CA 91306. A small chain started in 1946 in North Hollywood, this walk-up hot frump stand has two vintage locations left. Both have a great cordate sign .
(1962) Dear John’s 11208 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230. american english steakhouse. classic, dimly illuminated atmosphere ; brick walls, leather booths, framed photos of celebrated “ Johns. ” In 2018 this restaurant was remodeled with newly owners. obviously much of the vintage interior decoration was removed during this renovation and the restaurant closed the same year. It reopened again in June 2019 as a “ pop up ” with vintage interior decoration, but is lone temp .
(1962) El Cholo 840 E. Whittier Blvd., La Habra, CA 90631. A second outgrowth of El Cholo restaurant opened in 1962 on Whittier Blvd in La Habra, CA by Ron Salisbury, the son of the owners of the first El Cholo, George & Aurelia. The original El Cholo is the oldest surviving mexican restaurant in Los Angeles and has been on westerly Ave in Los Angeles since 1927. The home of this La Habra location features dark wood booths, beamed ceilings, traditional Mexican interior decoration and a big outdoor eating court. Ron nowadays owns the original restaurant as well .
(1962) Flo’s Airport Cafe Chino Airport, 7000 Merrill Ave # 8, Chino, CA 91710. This simple publicize bones cafe/diner with a greasy spoon-type character was opened by Flo Slack in 1962 at the Chino Airport. A popular spot for local aviators and workers, the menu features hearty breakfasts, American comfort food and a boastfully survival of pies. The room is childlike, with basic tables and chairs, a wood laminate eating antagonistic with affiliated brown leatherette swivel stools, framed photos of air travel and military history on the walls and linoleum floors. Flo retired in 1975 and the restaurant has been owned by Paul and Donna Hughes since that clock time .
(1962) HMS Bounty 3357 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010. Kitschy nautical-themed bar & grill with red leather booths, a wooden legal profession & port holes in the walls. It primitively opened in 1948 and was called the Gay Room because it is depart of the Gaylord Hotel. It was remodeled with a very cool nautical theme in 1962 and renamed after the celebrated ship .
(1962) La Cave 1695 Irvine Ave, Costa Mesa, CA 92627. Old-school steak and seafood. Dark and romanticist, located downstairs in a basement. John Wayne was a regular .
(1962) Pepe’s 511 W Valley Blvd, Alhambra, CA 91803. walk-up apartment and drive-through fast food hovel serving mexican food, opened in 1962 by three brothers, Joe, Tony and Fred. The restaurant was obviously name calling Pepe ’ s to commemorate a nephew of the same name who was sent to fight in Vietnam that year. Food quantities are large and heavy on the tall mallow and grease. consume can be done out front under a metallic element awning shading several bright yellow 1960s built-in cinch tables .
(1962) Ramona’s Mexican Food Products 13633 S Western Ave, Gardena, CA 90249. This is the second location of a fast food Mexican restaurant which opened in 1954 in Huntington Park. Ramona ’ s got its begin in 1947 out of a house at Temple & Beaudry before opening their restaurants. This location calm is amazingly vintage with beautiful tile work on both the exterior and throughout the interior, including the floors. The inner of the original Huntington Park placement has been completely modernized, but both locations have their master plastic signs .
(1962) Sorrento’s Restaurant 2428 Western Ave, San Pedro, CA 90732. Sorrento ’ s Restaurant opened in 1962 on western Ave in San Pedro. Located in a strip promenade, it is a little, casual old school Italian-American restaurant with green leather booths, wood panel, knobby wood dividers and a Italian-themed mural in a circular inlay in the ceiling. Founded by Vince Mattera, who passed aside in 2011, it is still owned and operated by his widow, Angie, and his children .
(1962) Stox 9518 Imperial Hwy, Downey, CA 90242. Old school diner which primitively started as a 20-seat ground beef stand in Huntington Park that opened in 1954. The exterior is original early on ’ 60s, with a river rock facade and original signs. The inside appears to have not been updated since the late ’ 70s. There is an attached bar/lounge area with the scheme mention “ The Crystal Room. ”
(1962) Taix 1911 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026. Taix restaurant formally opened at this Sunset Blvd location in Echo Park, in 1962 as Les Freres Taix, but the beginnings go back another 25 years to 1927 when Marius Taix Jr. began serving chicken dinners at long, communal wooden tables at a restaurant in his don ’ south hotel, Champ d ’ Or, in the downtown french Quarter. Located at 321 commercial Street, apparently, the previous restaurant owner in the old brick hotel had been arrested for serving alcohol during Prohibition, and that gave Marius Jr. the opportunity to take over the space, which he called Taix Restaurant. Marius Jr. ’ mho sons continued the tradition, moving the restaurant to Echo Park in 1962 and finally shortening Les Freres Taix to merely Taix. The outside is long and roomy, designed to look like a french Chateau, with a cobble pointy roof, several small towers with spires, a low brick wall surrounding the margin and a covered entrance on the side of the build. The inwardly is dark and romantic, consisting of a chief dine room, several smaller dining areas and an affiliated lounge. The environment is filled with dark wood, rich carpet, brick walls, tin ceilings and an elegant french nation meets mid-century modern aesthetic .
(1962) Tamarack Inn 9257 Slauson Ave, Pico Rivera, CA 90660. The Tamarack Inn opened in 1962, on Slauson Ave in Pico Rivera, CA. Located in a rustic, wood cabin-like building constructed in 1925, it is the arrant description of a tavern- a benighted bar with tables, serving a full menu, heavy on the burgers, steak and BBQ. The inside is wholly made of dark wood, from ceiling to walls to floors to bar to tables, giving it a banal authenticity that is impossible to replicate. Decorations include bamboozle shoes on the ceiling, stained glaze windows imbedded in the walls which let in small shafts of colored lightly, and previous photograph. The outside, besides heavy dark wood, conveys precisely what you will find inside .
(1962) Tops Jr 2407 W Main St, Alhambra, CA 91801. small, old school walk-up fast food trail fronted with mid-century brick, serving pastrami, Mexican and American favorites. An outgrowth of the Original Tops in Pasadena, opened 1952, but individually owned .
(1962) Twin Dragon Shanghai Cuisine 8597 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035 Mid-century style American Chinese food. Its outside is ’ 60s modern and includes a fantastic chinese pagoda-style entrance, but has modern remodeled inside .
(1963) Andre’s Italian Restaurant 6332 W 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90036.
Tucked away in a shopping center on 3rd Street, near Fairfax., serving italian food, including pizza and pasta, dished up cafeteria-style in a service line with trays. Opened in the early ’ 60s by “ Andre of Beverly Hills ” as the second location of his costly Wilshire Blvd Italian restaurant, this was the cheap younger sister. The illusion Andre ’ sulfur closed in the late 1990s, but this hide gem survives. Inside is roomy, with basic booths and tables. Most of the vintage has been modernized, but it still has a small morsel of that previous clock feel .
(1963) Casa Calderon 622 W Las Tunas Dr, San Gabriel, CA 91776. classical mexican food in a build up evocative of a castle, with a gun enclosure and big arched window, built by owners Calixto and Esperanza Calderon in 1963. The inside has minimal remodeling or redecoration and has an authentic Mom & Pop feel with original red and aristocratic linoleum floors, mint green booths, pink walls and american colonial-style chairs. The Calderon ’ s daughter, Linda, now runs the restaurant .
(1963) The Castaway 1250 E Harvard Rd, Burbank, CA 91501. classical american food. Opened in 1963 as a nautical-themed restaurant with a view ; rebuilt in 1994 after arson. It is among the restaurants by Speciality Restaurant Corporation, started by David Tallichet, a pioneer in theme restaurants, who began building them countrywide in 1958. SRC started and continues to operate several other themed vintage restaurants in the Los Angeles area, including The Proud Bird ( 1967 ), The Odyssey ( 1970 ), Orange Hill ( 1972 ) and the 94th Aero Squadron ( 1973 ) .
(1963) Chico’s Pizza 12120 Long Beach Blvd, Lynwood, CA 90262. Chico ’ s Pizza opened in 1963 as share of a chain of pizza parlors which were located across five states. obviously it was once owned by professional wrestler Antone “ Ripper ” Leone, who refused to join the National Wrestling Alliance and then claimed to have then been blacklisted from wrestling. Today the owner is William Boardeau. The inside is identical free-and-easy, with counter regulate, communal seating at long credit card covered tables, fake brick walls, paneled wood, ’ 60s hang lanterns, video games and a distinguish board with pool tables. A great bathetic old plastic signboard hangs out front and this place truly is trapped in time .
(1963) Cortina’s Italian Market 2175 W Orange Ave, Anaheim, CA 92804. Cortina ’ mho italian delicatessen and market was opened in 1963 on Orange Ave in Anaheim, CA by brothers Tony and Victor DiDodo, who had relocated to California in the mid- ’ 50s from Montreal, Canada. placid owned by the DiDodo family, this busy delicatessen serves italian food by rejoinder servicing in a brick walled board, remodeled after a 2013 fire, with a drop retro-style ceiling, bull lamps and framed sports memorabilia. A marketplace following door sells italian products and newly boodle. A second localization was opened in Orange, CA .
(1963) El Cid 4212 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90029. The Sunset Blvd supper baseball club, El Cid, opened in 1963 by Flamenco dancers Juan Talavera, Margarita Cordova, and her conserve Clark Allen, has a long history. Though it was remodeled in the early ’ 60s to look like a 16th-century spanish tavern, the building itself was constructed in 1915 as one of Los Angeles ’ earliest silent movie theaters. In 1925 the theater became a subject restaurant called the Jail Cafe, and through fake windows in its pit, fortress-like outside peered paintings of convicts behind bars. Waiters dressed as either prison guards or prisoners, and tables were individually located behind steel bars of prop jail cells, labeled on circus tent with fanciful crimes. between 1932 to 1961 the space once again served as a theater, first the Gateway and then the Caberet Concert Theatre, democratic as a hot spot for both musical performances and plays. When it finally became El Cid in 1963, the menu became spanish, specializing in tapa, paella, sangaree and a fantastic dinner Flamenco indicate, performed on a full moon stage inside the dining room. The entrance from Sunset leads down steep, winding stairs to a iniquity, romantic restaurant with brick walls, wooden floors, spanish tile, hanging lanterns and an outside court tucked into the hillside .
(1963) La Cabaña 738 Rose Ave, Venice, CA 90291. La Cabaña restaurant was opened on Rose Avenue In Venice, CA in 1963 by Nina and Carl Haro, and is run today by their children. in the first place located in a little thatch roof hut-like build, today the exterior is white moisten plaster with a river rock enclosed porch, 1960s plastic signs and a Mexican tiled roof. The interior is dimly ignite and carries the mid-century Mexican restaurant look with more river rock, exposed brick, knobby forest posts and more tile. Mariachis are frequently on duty to serenade, while a tortilla manufacturer molds homemade tortillas in watch of restaurant patrons .
(1963) The Magic Castle  7001 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028. upscale dining surrounded by vintage charming memorabilia at this members only magician ’ second club with a rigid dress code. Opened in 1963 by magicians Bill & Milt Larsen and located in a large, chataeu-styled mansion built in 1909, it consists of a maze-like collection of multiple charming parlors and several bars, including a courtly dining room. Filled to the brim with magic trick history, memorabilia and antiques, vintage magic trick posters line many of the walls .
(1963) Matteo’s 2321 Westwood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064. Opened in 1963 by Mateo “ Matty ” Jordan, who, with the last name Giordano, grew up across the street from Frank Sinatra in Hoboken, New Jersey. This elegant, upscale italian restaurant was a regular haunt of the crooner, who had a recess booth ( board 8 ) permanently reserved for him. Frank Sinatra ’ s mother was a mid-wife who delivered Matteo, and the two were life-long pals. Gangster Mickey Cohen, Milton Berle, Rodney Dangerfield, Robert Blake and Phyllis Diller were regulars a well. With cryptic bolshevik leather booths and crimson walls trimmed with benighted wood and lined with paintings, this white tablecloth restaurant is open for dinner merely, but an attach barroom area serves happy hour. A vintage sign hangs in front of the marble fronted build, which has a simple black awning .
(1963) Me-n-Ed’s Pizza Parlor 4115 Paramount Blvd, Lakewood, CA 90712. Me-n-Ed ’ randomness Pizza opened for business on Paramount Blvd in Lakewood, CA in 1963. It is separate of a chain of franchise restaurants started by Russ Johnson and Ed Sandlin in Sacramento in 1958. The exterior of this Lakewood localization features a vintage sign in the human body of a shield with javelin spears and the caption “ Ye Olde Publick House. ” Though I am quite sure they did not have pizza in Olde England, the british theme continues with the font on the front of the restaurant, a thatch wood awning and a Tudor meets 1960s front door with stain glass. 1960s earth lamps besides hang in a channel out front man. The inside has long communal wooden tables, wood paneled walls, and more thatch wood awnings spanning much of the circumference of the room. arrange is done counter-style from a brick wall department where the pizza are baked. The wall interior decoration is sparse and implicative of antiques, though confused in a delightful means. Another section called “ Ye Olde Filling Station ” allows one to order alcohol from a wall menu shaped like rolled parchment called “ Ye Olde Brewmaster List ” or other beverages from a number called “ Ye Olde Fountain for Youth. ” A small stage features blue grass bands on Friday and Saturday evenings to add to the cultural mish mash. In 2017 Me-n-Ed Pizza had 60 franchises, by and large centered in Central California, though I have no idea if any of the stay of them have this like cool ’ 60s feel .
(1963) Pasty Kitchen 3641 Katella Ave, Los Alamitos, CA 90720. obviously the entirely restaurant in Orange County specializing in English Pasties ( meat pies ), Pasty Kitchen was opened in 1963 by an nameless Michigan transplant and is immediately run by Jaramillo and Manual Garcia. Located in a small corner placement with cash-only counter military service and an outdoor patio with a few vintage ’ 60s umbrella tables, the exterior features hand painted signs and mid-century flag spare .
(1963) Pie ‘n Burger 913 E. California Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91106. 1960s diner with forest paneled walls, a hanker laminate lunch buffet and colonial revival counter stools .
(1963) The Red Onion 736 Silver Spur Rd, Rolling Hills Estates, CA 90274.
Once a nationally chain of 26 mexican american restaurants, this Palos Verdes location is the only survivor, the rest had closed by the early ’ 90s. The first Red Onion got its begin in Inglewood in 1949 as a 19-seat Sonoran-styled Mexican dining car opened by Harry Earle, while a second placement was opened in 1958 by his son Bart in Hawthorne and this one-third location opened in Palos Verdes in 1963. Owned by Bart ’ s son, Jeff Earle, since 1996, the inside is dimly fall with cozy carpet, filled with dark wood, beamed ceilings, brick and crowded with ensnare art and antiques. The exterior has a paved brick entrance and fountain ,
(1963) The San Franciscan 2520 Sepulveda Blvd, Torrance, CA 90505. The San Franciscan restaurant was opened on Sepulveda Blvd in Torrance, CA by Sam and Connie Failla in 1963. A classical mid-century steakhouse, it has kept most of its original inside entire, along with its outside vintage signage and river rock ‘n’ roll entrance. Inside are blush red leather booths, dark knobby wood board dividers, a long bar trimmed with brown leather, paneled walls and dark brown wooden captain ’ randomness chairs .
(1963) Sorrento Italian Market 5518 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230. old educate italian commercialize with authentic delicatessen, opened in 1963 by Albert Vera, an immigrant from external Naples, Italy and his wife, Ursula, a german immigrant. The delicatessen is owner today by the match ’ s son, Albert Vera, Jr. Serving delicatessen kernel sandwiches on crunchy rolls, italian hot dishes and fresh bakery goods, the market is filled with import italian groceries. Outdoor picnic tables are available out back for corrode .
(1964) Arry’s Super Burgers 1015 W Whittier Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640. free-and-easy hamburgers, pastrami and Mexican fast food in a non-descript mid- ’ 60s construct with an original vintage sign .
(1964) Carlo’s Pizza House 13230 Woodruff Ave, Downey, CA 90242. Opened by italian immigrant Carmine Paolicci in 1964 and named for his only son Carlo, who runs the restaurant today, the menu is straight forward casual italian American, serving pizza, hot submarines, calzones and some basic pastas. The space, located in the corner of a strip plaza, is small and cosy and can be described as a pleasant hole-in-the-wall .
(1964) Chuck’s Coffee Shop 4120 E Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90803. This coffee bean shop/diner was opened by the gregarious Chuck Tinkler in 1964, blocks from the Pacific Ocean in the Belmont Shores area of Long Beach. Standing pot corner at the crossroads of two streets, the long build is care grabbing. Emblazoned in large hand-painted letter is Chuck ’ sulfur Coffee Shop- Home of the “ Weasel ” – locally World Famous. ” The Weasel is scrambled eggs topped with chili and served with potatoes and goner. The department of the interior is basic and unadorned, with the exception of a black mid-century cone fireplace standing in the center of the room. The eat counter is horseshoe determine laminate wood, while the ’ 60s vintage stools and booths were recovered in vinyl, probable in the ’ 80s, pronounce by the pattern. There is a full menu of diner-style american food, including breakfasts, burgers, sandwiches and some mexican items ampere well. Chuck passed off in 2017, but the restaurant has been run by his daughter, Laurie Surface, since about 2015 .
(1964) Dan Tana’s 9071 Santa Monica Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069. Opened in 1964, in the space that previously held Dominick ’ south restaurant, Dan Tana ’ second was named for its newly owner, a yugoslavian former professional soccer musician, who had done some acting on the side. Tana had besides worked as a dish washer at Micelli ’ mho restaurant ( 1949 on this list ) and then as a maitre vitamin d ’ at La Scala and Villa Capri ( now the Rainbow ). The build was constructed in 1938 for Black ’ s Lucky Spot Café, which had a lunch counterpunch, but soon became Domenico ’ s Lucky Spot and then good Dominick ’ randomness until Dan Tana took it over. The modest costly italian restaurant, with crimson walls and dark red leather booths, traditional checked table cloths and chianti bottle hanging from the ceiling, is an iconic celebrity-studded hot spot .
(1964) Foxy’s Restaurant 206 W Colorado St, Glendale, CA 91204. Diner in a cool A-frame build. Although the inside has been remodeled, vestiges of the ’ 60s remain with a cool river rock fireplace. eat in the actual wooden, trilateral A-frame section of the diner is singular. Their menu nowadays is focused chiefly on Southwestern food, but many breakfast choices besides .
(1964) Fratone’s 9148 Telegraph Rd, Downey, CA 90240. classical mid-century italian restaurant serving chiefly pizza and pasta. Exterior has ’ 60s brick and a heavy wooden door with discolor glass gusset. The department of the interior still holds true to the 1960s flavor with original jaundiced linoleum floors, crimson flocked wallpaper, forest paneling, stained glass and padded booths. The decoration is erstwhile school italian kitsch with red and white check tablecloths, thatched awnings over the tables, bogus plants and fake Tiffany lights. arrange is done at a window upon entering. Opened in a early grocery shop by the Tesoriero family, immigrants from Sicily, the business is immediately owned by the original owner ’ randomness sons .
(1964) Lucy’s El Adobe Cafe 5536 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90004. Lucy ’ s El Adobe Cafe was opened in 1964 by the late Lucy and Frank Casado. Serving mexican food in a stylize mid-century adobe construction, the department of the interior has several freestanding dining areas along with a romanticist outdoor court featuring depleted river rock walls, old brick floor tiles and a bumpkinly stone fountain. The inside features brick walls, polished Mexican paved floors, brown leather booths with wood laminate tables, a built in prevention and hundreds of frame celebrity headshots covering the walls. Across the street from Paramount Studios it has been a free-and-easy celebrity haunt since it was built and was specifically known as a favorite of Jackson Browne, Linda Ronstadt and the Eagles .
(1964) My Hero 9514 Reseda Blvd, Northridge, CA 91324. My Hero Submarine Sandwiches opened on Reseda Blvd in Northridge in 1964. It is a much beloved neighborhood Mom & Pop sandwich patronize now on its 2nd owner. The inside is belittled and basic with wood paneled walls, gingham curtains, a few tables and a counter & stools eating set-up. Ordering is from a take-out counter. A “ My Hero ” wall features photos dedicated to harness racing & local Northridge sports teams .
(1964) The Talpa 11751 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064. La Talpa Mexican restaurant opened in 1964 on Pico Blvd in Los Angeles, not far from the edge of Santa Monica. It is small and family owned, having had respective owners since its original hatchway. The outside is covered in brick and has an perplex neon bless of a man in a sombrero taking a siesta under a cactus. The simple inner is decorated with gay murals and front lining stained glaze windows. There are wood paneled walls, bolshevik leather booths and a cosy back room prevention with extra seating .
(1964) Tartan of Redlands 24 E Redlands Blvd, Redlands, CA 92373. Opened in April 1964 by three brothers, Velmer, Al and Art Croteau, Tartan serves a casual american english steakhouse menu, with burgers, sandwiches and full meat and fish entrees. With wood paneled walls, deep read leather horseshoe booths, knobby woodwind and a long wood laminate measure trimmed with black leather, the department of the interior is a unusually preserved mid-century restaurant. Since 2015 Tartan has been owned by Jeff and Lisa Salamon .
(1964) Twin Castle 4400 Vineland Avenue, North Hollywood, CA 91602. Twin Castle Drive-in was built in 1964 and is located on Vineland Ave in a North Hollywood strip promenade. Used as a location in a 1977 sequence of the Rockford Files called “ Trouble in Chapter 17, ” this casual fast food ground beef and burrito stand has a plexiglas take-out window with original round vintage picnic tables out front. The most interesting feature of this restaurant is its odd architecture. When viewed from the side, the roofline has a castle-like appearance, made of cement turrets. besides surviving on the side exterior rampart are plastic shields featuring lively vintage andiron mascots dressed in costumes- The Emperor, The Prince, The Duke, The Kaiser .
(1964) Vargas Mexicatessen 4608 Durfee Ave, Pico Rivera, CA 90660. With a hired hand painted bless announcing Tamales-Tacos-Burritos-Menudo, this store presence delicatessen opened in 1964 and serves Mexican food to go from a take-out window. family run by Mike Vargas .
(1964) Victorio’s 10901 Victory Blvd, North Hollywood, CA 91606. In the lapp localization since 1964, Victorio ’ s has been owned by Robert & Jaime Sandoval since 1984. A little, redecorate italian restaurant with high ceilings, polished concrete floors and flannel tablecloths, the atmosphere is a moment more modern and polished than many of the old restaurants on this list. A little stagecoach hosts lounge singers and little jazz bands .
(1964) Vitello’s 4349 Tujunga Ave, Studio City, CA 91604. Vitello ’ south had a humble depart as an italian submarine workshop when it was opened in 1964 by Sal Vitello, a transfer New Yorker and bread baker. Bought in 1977 by sicilian immigrant brothers Joe and Steve Restivo, they kept the name and added a full moon italian menu. The Studio City localization soon became frequented by celebrities, most notoriously by actor Robert Blake, who after dining at the restaurant in 2001 was tied to the murder of his wife, Bonnie Lee Bakley, which occurred in their cable car around the corner. Remodeled with a mod trendy vibration, Vitello ’ s holds little of its original vintage, but a jazz supper club upstairs brings cool music acts to the descry .
(1964) Ye Olde Lamplighter 255 E 40th St, San Bernardino, CA 92404. Located in a strip plaza in San Bernardino, this steakhouse has had a few makeovers since its 1964 open, but distillery has the dark, cozy vintage vibration. The outside features shuttered windows, a brick entrance, hanging lanterns and a heavy castle-like door .
(1965) Bill’s Burgers 14742 Oxnard St., Van Nuys, CA 91411. Bill ’ s Burgers was opened in 1965 on Oxnard Street in Van Nuys by Bill Elwell, who still owns it and runs the grill today. It is a bantam, no-frills, walk-up ground beef hovel with a few stools, a small bolshevik laminate anticipate and a board in the back. Located in a slightly abandon industrial area, this little stand takes cash only and is open weekday business hours .
(1965) Captain Jack’s 16812 Pacific Coast Hwy, Sunset Beach, CA 90742. Opened in 1965 by surfboard pioneer & ace Jack Haley, this seafood restaurant hush has a ’ 60s vibration with an exposed river rock exterior, a statue of a seafaring, peg-legged boater on the front and original signs. With windows overlooking an adjacent canal, burgundy tufted leather booths, a piano sofa with a glowing fish tank, wooden ceilings, stained methamphetamine, port holes and tons of fishing ephemera, it has a cool, countrified nautical feel. Jack was a larger than life character who opened one of the area ’ s first surf shops in 1961 before opening this restaurant. He passed away in the year 2000 at historic period 65 .
(1965) Cupid’s Hot Dogs 9039 Lindley Ave, Northridge, CA 91325. A little range started in 1946 in North Hollywood, this walk-up apartment hot frank stand has two vintage locations left. Both have a great cordate sign .
(1965) D.J. Coffee Shop 265 E 40th St, San Bernardino, CA 92404. Located in a San Bernardino airstrip plaza, D.J. has kept its original mid-60s aesthetic integral. An outside neon sign is original, along with its orange plastic exterior baptismal font and thatched roof outside. Serving american english coffee bean patronize cuisine and all-day breakfasts, the interior features wood paneled walls, a wood laminate counter with black bucket stools, original linoleum floors, and original booth seat .
(1965) Five Crowns 3801 East Coast Hwy, Corona Del Mar, CA 92625.   Five Crowns restaurant is located in a 1936 constructed Tudor-style construct that once served as an hostel and pickup for Hollywood stars such as Lana Turner, Ava Gardner, Bette Davis, Howard Hughes, Rita Hayworth, Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall. After 1948 the build up housed a gambling and prostition den called the Hurley Bell. Bought in 1965 by Richard Frank, a second generation restauranteur, whose forefather, Lawrence Frank and uncle, Walter Van de Kamp, founded the Tam O ’ Shanter restaurant in Los Feliz in 1922 and Lawry ’ s Prime Rib in 1938, the new finely dining five Crowns restaurant was created to resemble an old english manor house with authentic antiques, paintings, an english steakhouse menu and waitresses in “ serving wench ” uniforms. Walter Van de Kamp suggested the name Five Crowns because the new restaurant would be the one-fifth created by the family, “ and each was a bejewel in our crown. ” The interior features planked wooden floors, exposed brick, blue woodwind and white-tablecloth styled boom. The exterior has stained glaze windows and a crimson british telephone booth in the front .
(1965) Franks Restaurant 916 W Olive Ave., Burbank, CA 91506. classical mid-1960s dining car computer architecture. Button-tufted booths, wood laminate counters .
(1965) Mama Cozza’s Italian Restaurant 2170 W Ball Rd, Anaheim, CA 92804. Mama Cozza ’ s restaurant opened in 1965 on Ball Rd in Anaheim. Serving old school italian food and pizza, they have kept the remodels to a minimum and still have a vintage feel. The exterior is trimmed with cut river rock, while the inside has forest paneled walls, Tiffany-style hang stained glass lamps, dark green leather booths and the prerequisite loss & ashen checked table cloths. Sports memorabilia and photos are a theme here with items displayed for decoration throughout the restaurant. An attach bar area has extra booth induct .
(1965) Mexi-Casa 1778 W Lincoln Ave, Anaheim, CA 92801. Mexi-Casa opened in 1965 on Lincoln Street in Anaheim, CA. Its first location was two doors down from where it resides nowadays. The master touch became the El Conejo cabaret and then Cuban Pete ’ sulfur, both immediately closed. nowadays this old school Mexican Restaurant stands at 1778 W. Lincoln Boulevard. The outside is brick and wooden trim with a heavy door. The department of the interior is identical cool and has a distinct ’ 70s vibration with wood paneled walls and a wood paneled bar, night burgundy tufted leather booths, a massive brick fireplace, knobby wooden room dividers and wall insets made of cement breeze blocking, 1970s hanging lamps, laminate wood tables and ’ 70s colonial-style wooden chairs. This localization was once the restaurant for the Kettle Motor Motel, and fits perfectly with the Mexi-Casa atmosphere, which is well known for boastfully servings and extremely cheap prices .
(1965) Mexican Village 3668 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90004. The mexican Village is an old-school family owned Mexican restaurant located on Beverly Blvd, merely outside the frame of Silverlake, frequently overlooked by those in the neighborhood. Opened by Abel Olivares in 1965, it is now run by his children, Abel Jr., Diana and Blanca. The interior is broad, with tables and chairs, quite than booths, and features Saltillo-tiled floors and traditional Mexican interior decoration .
(1965) Phoenix Inn 301 Ord St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Old-school Americanized Chinese cuisine, the home of the restaurant was renovated and modernized in 2010. thankfully the mid- ’ 60s signs out movement remain
(1965) The Prospector 2400 E 7th St, Long Beach, CA 90804. A 1849 Gold Rush-themed steakhouse with an attach bar. It has amaze exterior murals and signs, including wood cutouts and a wish well. Inside is pallidly lighted with previous educate booths, wood paneling, tons of mining/Old West/cowboy decorations and a loiter featuring live music .
(1965) San Marino Grill 2494 Huntington Dr, San Marino, CA 91108. family owned cash-only coffee bean patronize opened by Walter Celic in 1965 and now owned by his children. It has kept true to its 1960s blueprint with original outside signs and an home that seems untouched by time. It features a long wood laminate counter and tables, burgundy leather booths, stained glass hang lamps, wood paneled walls, drop ceilings and clay tile floors .
(1965) The Steak Corral 11605 Washington Blvd, Whittier, CA 90606.
This is the final survivor of a bathetic ’ 60s steakhouse chain. Located in a moo, ranch-style construction, its mascot out front is a boy in a ten-gallon hat swinging a lasso. The old school western touches are plentiful- horseshoe cutouts on the shutters, cow heads and rifles on the walls, hanging lanterns, child seats made from previous saddles and evening a big dipper train over the salad bar, and amazing kitsch abounding. The 1960s relish remains with river rock walls, naugahyde booths and eating areas under shingle coves. Food is ordered cafeteria style and then brought by servers to the table and the prices are amazingly old school excessively. The menu is obviously meat-centric, but there is a salad barroom, baked potato bar and a bang-up make-your-own-sundae stripe excessively .
(1965) Tony’s Italian Deli 2012 W Whittier Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640. This Montebello Italian delicatessen was opened in 1965 by italian immigrant Francesco Nanci and his wife Angelina. The shopfront is basic, with a fantastic trompe l ’ oeil italian greenwich village mural painted on one wall, some tables, chairs and a remodel antagonistic and floor, but the old school glass delicatessen cases remain, as does the original credit card polarity hanging outside the brick-fronted outside. Serving fresh made italian submarines, pizza, pasta and antipasto, a forte is their 2 to 8 foot-long party submarines on newly baked loaves of boodle. The shop has been owned since 2001 by the pair ’ sulfur daughter, Loredana Nanci-Piazza and her husband Salvatore .
(1965) Woody’s Wharf 2318 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663.
Waterfront ocean food restaurant with wooden booths and a vintage pier-like feel. Great sign .
(1966) Al & Bea’s Mexican Food 2025 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90033. Located in a small, brick fronted Boyle Heights trail, Al & Bea ’ sulfur was opened by conserve and wife, Albert & Beatrice Carreon, in November 1966. Serving fast-food Mexican from a pick-up window with a few cinch tables for on-site boom, a handwriting painted gestural informs customers that their specialization is burritos. The business is now run by the pair ’ mho son, Ryan Carreon. Both Al and Bea passed aside within two months of each other in 2018 .
(1966) Avila’s El Ranchito 6703 Santa Fe Ave, Huntington Park, CA 90255. Opened in 1966 by Salvador and Margarita Avila, immigrants from Guanajuato, Mexico, this Huntington Park Mexican restaurant started with five tables has nowadays expanded into a chain of 12 other locations throughout Orange County. Festive and brilliantly colored with a mexican theme and built-in woodwind trellis work, most of the ’ 60s decorating elements have been wiped out, but the big corner build was constructed in 1925, so the high interior exposed brick walls are able to reflect a little history .
(1966) Benjie’s Deli 1828 N Tustin Ave, Santa Ana, CA 92705. Benjies Deli was opened in 1967 on Tustin Ave in Santa Ana by Brooklyn native Stan Weinstein. The restaurant took over the build of Squires Coffee Shop and was named after Stan ’ s father-in-law. It is a traditional and authentic Jewish delicatessen with minimal remodeling. Its interior includes deep orange booths and counter seats, laminate wood counter peak and tables, a delicatessen case and an attach bar. It is nowadays owned by the son of its collapse .
(1966) Clearman’s Northwoods Inn  7247 Rosemead Blvd, San Gabriel, CA 91775. A Yukon vogue dinner experience at a rustic-themed hunt lodge where the ceiling is bedecked with fake snow and its eaves hang with glistening fake icicles. The department of the interior of this vintage restaurant chain gets tied more interesting. Within its darkened cabin-like home you will find woodwind beamed ceilings, crimson leather seat, stained field glass equally far as the eye can see and life-size taxidermy bears. The first Clearman ’ s North Woods Inn was opened by John Clearman in San Gabriel, near the edge of Pasadena, in 1966, followed by another in Covina in 1967. A third localization was added in La Mirada in 1989, which can be seen from the north-bound 5 expressway. Bowls of peanuts are placed on each board and signs encourage patrons to festively “ Throw Peanut Shells on the Floor ”. The menu is standard surf & turf with enormous portions, and this would be a invest to come to order a steak vitamin a big as your face. A sanely priced felicitous Hour is held in the cool and woodsy stripe area, with discounts on both drinks and certain appetizers. Celebrated for their tall mallow bread and boodle salad, these may be the alone menu items, besides a few other appetizers, that your vegetarian friends will be bequeath to eat .
(1966) El Matador 1768 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627. Opened in 1966 by Marcial Gallardo, an immigrant from Zacatecas, Mexico, this Costa Mesa Mexican restaurant was owned by its collapse for about 40 years, until his death in 2003. A family feud about its inheritance followed, causing the restaurant to be placed at public auction and allowing Greg and Jana McConaughy to pick up the reins in 2005. The pair remodeled the inner and exterior and doubled the restaurant in size by adding a second din board. The resultant role removed the majority of the vintage, though the history is still there .
(1966) The Horseless Carriage 15505 Roscoe Blvd, North Hills, CA 91343. The Horseless Carriage was opened in 1966 on Roscoe Blvd in North Hills, as a separate of Galpin Ford, when the car franchise relocated to its current location on Roscoe Blvd. It was the first gear car franchise in the nation to have a full-service restaurant on site. With big plate glass windows, an eat counter and teal-colored induct and booths, the restaurant functions as a diner, serving american favorites and all-day breakfasts. Though some of the original 1960s elements show through- the master terrazo floors, the built-in swivel counterpunch seats and a pair outside signs with mid-century baptismal font, much of the interior decoration was modernized in the ’ 80s or ’ 90s, with engrave glass booth dividers, imitation deco hanging lamps and patterned fabric booths .
(1966) La Dolce Vita 9785 Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. La Dolce Vita is a costly Northern Italian restaurant which was opened in Beverly Hills in 1966 by early Villa Capri ( see Rainbow Bar & Grill, 1972 ) waiters Jimmy Ullo and George Smith. Both Frank Sinatra and actor George Raft were original investors. A Rat Pack favorite with exposed brick walls, a benighted department of the interior, crimson leather booths & white tablecloths, the home is classically elegant, designed by 20th Century-Fox Studios art director Lyle Wheeler, a winner of five Academy Awards, and nominated for 17 more, responsible for 361 films, including bygone With the Wind, The Seven Year Itch and The King and I. The Kennedys were La Dolce Vita patrons, as were the Reagans and President Ronald ’ s front-runner booth is noted with a brass. obviously Sinatra ’ s favorite booth was in the corner, by the prevention, with a opinion of the front man door, though another bait booth bears his plaque. The restaurant has been owned by Alessandro Uzielli since 2003 .
(1966) La Paloma 2975 Foothill Blvd, La Verne, CA 91750. La Paloma Mexican opened in July 1966 by Joe Parker, who already owned mexican restaurants in San Bernardino. today it is still owned by his family. Located in a former orange grove, its build up was constructed in 1930 as Wilson ’ s Sandwich Shop and then enlarged to become Wilson ’ randomness Steakhouse from the mid-1950s to the early 1960s. La Paloma ’ s inside features the original steakhouse ’ s wood beamed ceilings, wrought cast-iron, bolshevik leather booths and stained field glass taken from a demolished church. An amazing original 1960s neon bless stands out presence .
(1966) Lupo D’Abruzzo 6032 Ball Rd, Buena Park, CA 90620. This family-style italian restaurant was opened by Gaetano and Sia DiLisio in 1966, when this area of Orange County was still quite rural. Seeing the outside fictile sign anchoring this restaurant to its position in the strip plaza where it resides, a passerby wound have no clue to the mid-century history obscure behind its plate methamphetamine windows. With red leather booths, laminate tables and a half wall of wood empanel, the stallion room is covered with Italian-style elevated railway fresco murals painted in 1966 by artist Stefano Falk. The restaurant has been owned since 1998 by the owner ’ s son, Cesare DiLisio and his wife Laurie .
(1967) Brent’s Delicatessan 19565 Parthenia St, Northridge, CA 91324. classical late ’ 60s jewish delicatessen with forest green & gold booths, etched glass, brick walls. They besides serve a beggarly cocoa egg cream and are known for their decadent 7-layer chocolate cake .
(1967) Canton City 121 N Garfield Ave, Montebello, CA 90640. Cantonese-style chinese food in a casual, 1960s constructed din room. Although its original vintage sign was replaced and the inside of the restaurant is partially redecorated, the dine board however has an old-school feel with greenish blue booths, a round, deep-set ceiling, taiwanese cosmetic elements and chandeliers thrown into the mix. A mid-century river rock candy exterior is still fortunately original. This is among the oldest chinese restaurants in the San Gabriel Valley. The asian population in SGV, Chinese in particular, began increasing importantly in the mid-1970s and are now the leading demographic in many San Gabriel Valley neighborhoods .
(1967) Cask ‘n Cleaver 8689 E 9th St, Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91730. Opened in 1967 on the corner of 9th and Madrone Avenue in Ranch Cucamonga by Chuck and Linda Keagle, this classical steakhouse took over a 1930s grove house, built by Konstany Stys, a family architect. Stys was besides responsible for building 15 houses in the russian Village District of Claremont, CA during the Great Depression. Constructed of brick, woodwind and river rock, the roofline is cantilevered and supported by wax logs as balance beam. The windows are crisscrossed with gingerbread house-style wicket and a pond with waterfall in the back creates a retreat-like find. When this property was built, it was the entirely build up amongst ranches and vineyards, but the neighborhood has grown into a suburban outstation. The interior is wide of rich bourgogne leather booths, 1970s Colonial-style chairs, brick work, woodwind ceilings and walls, but most interestingly, the bumpkinly log digest beams can be found throughout the restaurant. obviously Cask ‘ nitrogen Cleaver were one of the earliest restaurants in the area to adopt a Salad Bar, and it is hush on the menu today. A Riverside branch of the restaurant which opened in 1969, closed in October 2017, while branches in Fallbrook ( 1997-2008 ) and San Dimas have closed a well .
(1967) Clearman’s Northwoods Inn  540 N Azusa Ave, Covina, CA 91722.
A replica of the 1966 San Gabriel branch. A Yukon expressive style dinner experience at a rustic-themed search club where the roof is bedecked with fake snow and its eaves cling with glistening fake icicles. The inside of this vintage restaurant chain gets even more concern. Within its darkened cabin-like home you will find wood beamed ceilings, red leather seat, stained glass ampere far as the eye can see and life-size taxidermy bears. The first Clearman ’ s North Woods Inn was opened by John Clearman in San Gabriel, near the boundary of Pasadena, in 1966, followed by this one in Covina in 1967. A third base localization was added in La Mirada in 1989, which can be seen from the north-bound 5 expressway. Bowls of peanuts are placed on each postpone and signs encourage patrons to festively “ Throw Peanut Shells on the Floor ”. The menu is standard surf & turf with enormous portions, and this would be a position to come to order a steak angstrom boastfully as your grimace. A reasonably priced happy Hour is held in the cool and arboraceous bar area, with discounts on both drinks and certain appetizers. Celebrated for their cheese bread and pilfer salad, these may be the merely menu items, besides a few other appetizers, that your vegetarian friends will be will to eat .
(1967) Di Pilla’s Italian Restaurant 9013 Valley Blvd, Rosemead, CA 91770.
Opened by Tonino and Guiseppina Di Pilla, who immigrated from Italy in 1958. In 1979 their daughter, Claudia ( Miss Rosemead 1974 ), took over the occupation and still runs it today. The interior is perfectly old school italian kitsch, with brick walls, wood panel, burgundy leather booths and trellises abounding. Plastic grapes and grape vines are strung from the ceiling throughout .
(1967) Dinahs Chicken 4106 San Fernando Road Glendale, CA 91204. Mid-century fast-food restaurant serving wimp & comfort food. Great period building with belated ’ 60s font along with a giant chicken bucket on a pole that was purportedly a harbinger to KFC ’ s. Remodeled inside with a country, home style allude .
(1967) El Sombrero 3550 Santa Anita Ave, El Monte, CA 91731. Though this El Monte Mexican restaurant opened in 1967, the interior provokes a more modern, possibly ’ 80s, chain restaurant vibration. With a banquet room, a snack bar, karaoke and credit card laminated menus, it has a fooling syndicate feel .
(1967) J & S 887 S Garfield Ave, Montebello, CA 90640. This cash-only fast food Mexican food spot has been on Garfield Avenue in Montebello since 1967 and is open 24 hours, 7 days per week. Ordering is drive-through or from a pick-up window in the side of this little brick construction. Built-in ’ 60s picnic tables ( stainless steel steel outside and bright orange inside ) allow patrons to eat indoors or outdoors. The interior is sparse, with brick walls, the orange tables and a couple of vintage television game machines .
(1967) Los Toros Mexican Restaurant 21743 Devonshire St, Chatsworth, CA 91311. Opened in 1967 on Devonshire Street in Chatsworth by Nicolas and Dolores Montaño, the master location of the restaurant was located far down Devonshire, but moved to its show location in 1971, once the Magdalena Mexican Deli. At that time, the restaurant boasted the beginning sit-down restaurant patio in Chatsworth. The menu is traditional family-style Mexican cuisine, and soon hosts a great glad hour. The department of the interior features exquisite ceramic tile work throughout, including a gorgeously tile barricade, colored murals, brick alcoves and crimson saltillo floor .
(1967) Los Cincos Puntos 3300 East Cesar E Chavez Avenue, L.A., CA 90063. grocery store and authentic carniceria specializing in homemade tortilla, handwriting carved carnitas, tamales and early Mexican food served take-out counter-style. It is named Cinco Puntos ( Five Points ) because of the 5 points of intersecting streets at Chavez ( Brooklyn ), Lorena and Indiana. It has a market-style determine up with a take-out rejoinder and is a popular region front-runner. Because of that, lines get farseeing during lunch meter. There are a few outside and indoor tables for eating .
(1967) Mario’s Tacos 9247 Whittier Blvd, Pico Rivera, CA 90660. This Pico Rivera vicinity Mexican restaurant was opened in 1967 by Irenero “ Mario ” Jimenez, an immigrant from Huitzuco, Guerrero, Mexico, who passed away in 2013. still run by his kin, it features casual buffet ordering and much of the interior decoration has its belated ’ 60s to mid ’ 70s personality intact. From forest paneled walls, Mexican tile, knick knacks abounding, framed headshots of all of the american presidents, wooden Colonial-style tables and chairs, chandeliers, brick trimmed doorways and much more, it is eclectic and cheap .
(1967) Pinnacle Peak 269 W Foothill Blvd, San Dimas, CA 91773. Pinnacle Peak restaurant opened in 1967 on Foothill Blvd in San Dimas, CA on what was once path 66. The locate was long ago a Wells Fargo stagecoach check. Located in a low, ranch dash build with its name on a cover big dipper out front & a overawe statue on its roof, this casual restaurant bills itself as the working man ’ randomness steakhouse. Serving a meat heavy menu, there are no vegetarian entree selections, but there are a few side dishes that are kernel barren. Inside is dark with forest empanel, plastic red & white checkered tablecloths and interior decoration with an Old West kitsch theme. The restaurant celebrates a “ no neckties allowed ” rule and ties are cheekily cut from the neck of its owner, confiscated & hang from the rafters with a name tag attached. There are hundreds of ties in every tinge and design, making an eclectic and fun collection. A second localization of the restaurant opened in the town of Colton in 1970 .
(1967) The Proud Bird 11022 Aviation Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90045. american english food, remolded in 2017 to be served food court stylus. Aviation history themed under LAX flight path. Gutted in a 1984 arson fire & rebuild. It is among the restaurants by Speciality Restaurant Corporation, started by David Tallichet, a initiate in theme restaurants, who began building them countrywide in 1958. SRC started and continues to operate respective other themed vintage restaurants in the Los Angeles area, including The Castaway ( 1963 ), The Odyssey ( 1970 ), Orange Hill ( 1972 ) and the 94th Aero Squadron ( 1973 ) .
(1967) Rufino’s 938 Euclid St, Anaheim, CA 92802. Rufino ’ mho italian Restaurant opened in a leach promenade in 1967 in Euclid St in Anaheim. It silent has much of its vintage outside, including a facade of motley brick and column built around the movement doorway displaying the restaurant ’ randomness name. A modern fictile sign was recently added angstrom well. Inside is gay and bathetic with black & white checkered floors, vintage black leather booths divided by trellises strewn with plastic grape leaves and Tiffany-style hang lamps. One wall is all brick while the others are covered in murals depicting italian scenes, including The last Days of Pompei .
(1967) Scarantino’s Italian Inn 1524 E Colorado St, Glendale, CA 91205. Scarantino ’ south italian Inn was opened in 1967 on Colorado Ave in Glendale by Jesse Scarantino and wife Joan. The restaurant has been owned by their nephew, Jim, since 1977. This casual italian restaurant has an outside brick trimmed facade with the restaurant ’ randomness diagnose across the movement in master ’ 60s baptismal font, a wooden door and is adorned with two vintage lanterns. The interior is original 1960s arsenic well, with wood paneled walls, brown leather booths, knobby wood room dividers and tables covered in traditional red and white checked table cloths. The Scarantino kin were transplants from Rochester, NY, their parents had immigrated from Italy to Rochester in about 1908. Jesse ’ s older brother, Mike Scarantino, opened up the Pasadena restaurant Dino ’ s in 1949, in clientele until about 2006. A first outgrowth of Scarantino ’ sulfur was located on La Cienega Blvd., just confederacy of Pico. It was owned in 1959 by their brother Gene Scarantino, who besides owned the Scarantino Frozen Food Company in L.A .
(1967) Sugar Shack Cafe 213 Main St, Huntington Beach, CA 92648. small cafe, one block from the Pacific Ocean, opened by Pat & Mary Williams in 1967. It became a family business and in 1979 their daughter Michelle and her conserve, Tim Turner took over operations. Featuring a long eating counter of raw, stained wood, green vinyl stools, crimson clay tiled floors and wooden eating tables, closely every edge of the walls are covered with photos and surfing memorabilia. Michelle and Tim ’ sulfur sons, Timmy & Ryan Turner, are Hall of Fame surfers who sometimes assist with the restaurant. The cafe opens at 5:30am daily for early breakfast and closes at 2pm, serving American-style burgers, sandwiches, soups and salads .
(1967) Taco Lita 120 E Duarte Rd, Arcadia, CA 91006. Opened as a franchise by Elias “ George ” Muniz and wife Dixie in 1967 as the 15th restaurant in a chain of Taco Litas, which had gotten their begin in 1958, San Bernardino. With locations throughout Southern California ( Ontario, La Habra, West Covina, Upland Pomona, San Gabriel and more ) this Arcadia arm is the sole surviver. Serving americanize Mexican fast food and beloved for their packets of hot sauce, the restaurant has become a vicinity institution. The boxlike, glass paned build is a mannequin example of former ’ 60s fast food architecture. With bright orange, yellow and crimson tiled counterpunch and floors, blue sky molded plastic seats and spectacularly mod fictile signage, its original outlive cosmetic elements are an amaze time capsule .
(1967) Zig’s 6821 White Oak Ave, Reseda, CA 91335. Zig ’ south opened for business on White Oak Ave in Reseda in 1967 by Arnold “ Zig ” Zigman and his wife, Mary. They besides owned a full-service restaurant by the lapp name on Ventura Blvd in Woodland Hills from 1974 to about 2011. This original placement serves american dining car food in a brightly-lit, utilitarian, late ’ 60s building with a red empanel roof. The inside features seating around a u-shaped counterpunch and laminate tables with black vinyl booths .
(1968) Alpine Village 833 W Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90502. An eccentric collection of shops resembling an old european village surround this bathetic german restaurant in Torrance. Authentic, slenderly weird and completely original, this sprawling old school put comes alive during Oktoberfest, but is relatively quiet most of the time. Serving traditional german food specialties and a giant selection of tap beer .
(1968) The Backwoods Inn 17884 Sierra Hwy, Canyon Country, CA 91351. agrestic mid-century steakhouse with see dust on the floor, wood, antiques & a stripe built in 1978 .
(1968) Brolly Hut 11205 Crenshaw Blvd, Inglewood, CA 90303. spectacular vintage octagon-shaped build mimicking an umbrella, built in 1968 by architect Victor Miller, serving fast-food hamburger average. inverted umbrella serve as light fixtures, vintage mosaic tiles, built in orange and brown university molded fictile tables and chairs, and an amaze original sign. The inside features expansive glaze windows and ceiling beams that react the spokes of an umbrella. It was in the first place called the Bumbershoot Cafe, like Brolly, a slang for umbrella. Super cheap fast-food expressive style breakfasts ordered from a take-out window & known for their pastrami .
(1968) Folliero’s Italian Food and Pizza 5566 N Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90042. Founded in 1968 in the Highland Park area of Los Angeles by italian immigrants Antonio and Marta Folliero, this belittled italian restaurant has surely ridden the waves of time. The bistro has watched the neighborhood around them change from working class to poor barrio and ultimately to gentrified hipsterville, all the while serving up pizza, lasagna and other italian favorites. The spotlight has been modernized for certain, for example, replacing the much better old neon sign with a fresh streamlined-font one, but the exposed brick walls and tiled floors have remained the same. The restaurant has stayed in the syndicate and is nowadays run by the couple ’ mho daughter, Teresa Folliero .
(1968) Globe German Deli 1928 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627. ball german opened in 1968 in a rib Mesa strip plaza. Its original owner ’ s mention and story seems to be lost to history, as this delicatessen market is nowadays on at least its 6th owners in these 50 years. Rosy King & Friedel Adams-King were the third gear fix of owners, followed by Winnifred and her conserve, Randy and Michele Schultz and since 2015, Chris, his wife and son. But each raw batch has kept the market much the lapp as when it opened. As a grocery, the shop carries products from more than 16 countries specializing in german and dutch items. It besides operates as a german delicatessen, serving more than half a twelve kinds of hot blimp, including bratwurst, knackwurst and kielbasa, hot meals such as goulash, schnitzel and rouladen, homemade sauerkraut and bottled or draft beer to wash it down. Meats and cheeses are displayed in hanker glass vintage delicatessen cases and the small store stays happily in a place where time refuses to budge .
(1968) Lares 2909 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405. Lares restaurant is a farseeing standing favorite on Pico Boulevard near 30th Street in Santa Monica. in the first place a modest coffee bean denounce called Irene ’ mho Cafe, it was bought by Jesse Lares, who had been working the grillroom down the street at Rae ’ mho Diner, and his sister Aurora in 1968. They turned the coffee shop into a four table Mexican restaurant with living quarters upstairs for the siblings. The restaurant has expanded over the years, engulfing the surviving quarters, to two big levels with glow ceilings, wooden tables and chairs and an ornately carved wooden barricade, hush run by the Lares syndicate .
(1968) Lucy’s 4151 N Sierra Way, San Bernardino, CA 92407. This family-style San Bernardino Mexican restaurant was opened in 1968 by Daniel and Lucy Rodriguez. Probably last remodeled in the deep ’ 70s to early ’ 80s, the vibration is fooling with tangent vinyl booths, laminate tables, cosy homestyle interior decoration and some trompe l ’ oeil mexican murals. The outside is a free-standing, brick-trimmed house with a belated ’ 60s work cast-iron lantern topped the reasonably new credit card gestural. Daniel passed away in 2004 and Lucy ’ sulfur is nowadays owned by his son, besides named Daniel .
(1968) Mitsuru Cafe 117 japanese Village Plaza Mall, Los Angeles, CA 90012. democratic cafe located in what has been japanese Village Plaza since 1984. Serving authentic and sanely priced japanese bite food, like bolshevik bean pancakes ( imagawayaki ) and shrimp/fish balls on a stand by from a take-out windowpane, there is besides a diner serving traditional japanese consolation food. The restaurant has master late- ’ 60s knobbed wooden booths with brown leatherette padding, a drop ceiling and a farseeing laminate consume counter. The outside has a traditional japanese wood slat facade and a overhaul signboard .
(1968) Mort’s Deli 18452 Clark St, Tarzana, CA 91356. classic jewish delicatessen with original ’ 60s sign and brick fronted outside. Inside there are k leather booths, laminate woodwind tables and besides counter seating. A fabulous attached bakery called Bea ’ south is authentic, opened in the early on ’ 60s, and has been at this location since the strip plaza was built in 1968. Opened by Philadelphia give birth Mort Medway, who ran it for about 50 years before selling it to Lana Pavlik and Gary Drexler in 2012 and passing aside the future year .
(1968) Pablo’s Taco Bender 1232 W Base Line St, San Bernardino, CA 92411. Opened in 1968 by Pablo Perea, this brick mexican American fast food stand with a few cinch tables and window order is apparently particularly celebrated for their chili fries .
(1968) Polly’s Pies 136 N Raymond Ave, Fullerton, CA 92831. This is the master location of Polly ’ randomness Pies, now a 15-restaurant chain, specializing in homemade pies, American breakfast, lunches and comfort food. Opened by brothers Don and Eddie Sheldrake in 1968, who still own and run the restaurant, they took over the placement of an earlier restaurant, Pie Pantry, which had previously occupied the build up. Remodeled over the years, the inside unfortunately does not feature any of its 1968 vintage. This original location was recently in hazard of losing its lease when a new owner bought the strip plaza where it is located. This restaurant has the kitchen which bakes the pies for all 14 early Polly ’ s Pies locations .
(1968) The Town Cafe 8722 Sunland Blvd, Sun Valley, CA 91352. The Town Cafe opened on Sunland Blvd in Sun Valley in 1968. This classical dining car serves american food, but with a few greek items on the menu, much like the distinctive east seashore diners, which are normally Greek-owned. The outside, much like a circus camp, is bright and vibrant with 1960s colors of burn orange, scandalmongering and bright blue, trimmed by column of mid-century river rock ‘n’ roll. A patio area, with a few umbrellas and some trellis plants, is sectioned off on the side of the build, near the boastfully park batch, underneath a large plastic bless declaring The Town Cafe a “ kin restaurant. ” Inside the ’ 60s colors continue, with orange and red wall tiles behind the hanker curved breakfast rejoinder and more of the vintage river rock. The booths were probably reupholstered in the 1980s, but still fit nicely into the chocolate shop-style interior decoration .
(1969) Burrito King 2109 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026. Burrito King was started by Julian E. Montoya, an immigrant from Colombia who learned about burritos while stationed in San Diego with the US Navy. In 1969 Montoya took over a failing taco stand on the corner of Sunset and Alvarado in the Echo Park neighborhood and began serving the fast-food burrito he had learned about. The stand finally grew to 20 locations throughout Los Angeles, even expanding to Bogatá, Colombia and Houston, Texas. This original placement, beloved by many, is the only one left in the chain, which has been celebrated in photograph by many from ex-California Jerry Brown to Gram Parsons and his Burrito Brothers. Located on a corner, with a plastic sign and take-out window, there are a few stools for eating at a stainless steel steel counter .
(1969) The Cellar 305 N Harbor Blvd, Fullerton, CA 92832. classic fine boom.
A romanticist root cellar with cave-like brick walls designed by original Disneyland craftsmen .
(1969) Cricca’s Deli 876 Topanga Canyon Blvd, Woodland Hills, CA 91364. Serving hot and cold italian delicatessen submarines and antipasto at this location since 1969, this little counter military service bomber workshop has raw owners, Kevin and Marla McHenry, since 2016. It was recently remodeled, taking out the vintage white and green checkerboard tiled floor and replacing it with trendy wood laminate and changing out the cool old exterior plastic signal with a modern one .
(1969) Don Cuco 3911 Riverside Dr., Toluca Lake, CA 91505. Opened in 1969 by Mexican immigrant Augusto “ Cuco ” Salazar, who had started out in 1966 owning a measure next door called the Bucaneer in Toluca Lake and sold it to purchase this draw to build a restaurant. The outside of the building is dressed like a spanish villa with fake brick, old fashioned lanterns and cadaver tiles roof. The benighted interior is rich people with gorgeous tarnish glass, tile ferment, work iron and red leather booths with gnarled wood partitions. Serving previous school Mexican food .
(1969) Dr. Hogly Wogly’s Tyler Texas BBQ 8136 Sepulveda, Van Nuys, CA 91402. dim-witted, agrestic feel BBQ joint with woodwind paneled walls and booth-styled seat. There is besides a belittled outdoor seating area with 1960s original concrete tables. It was opened by Johnny Greene from Texas, a former Piggly Wiggly delivery boy. The mention came about because his wife used to tease him telling him, “ You ’ re not a Piggly Wiggly, but a Hogly Wogly. ”
(1969) Eat at Joe’s 400 N Pacific Coast Hwy, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
No frills diner. Communal mesa seat .
(1969) El Abajeno 4513 Inglewood Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230. The word ‘ abejeno ’ means coastal inhabitant. El Abajeno is a cafeteria-style Mexican restaurant owned by the like kin since 1969 on Inglewood Boulevard in Culver City. Meals are eaten in a remodel dine room decorated with mexican touches, such as tiled tables, exposed brick around the doorways, 1960s lanterns and a clay tiled shock .
(1969) El Colmao 2328 Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90006. El Colmao, located in the Pico-Union area, is the oldest surviving Cuban restaurant in the Los Angeles area. It was opened in March 1969 by Eduardo Sousa, who fled Cuba after Fidel Castro took power and seized the successful restaurant he owned there. After 1960, refugees leaving Cuba arrived in Miami in such bang-up numbers that the US government offered a resettlement plan to those interested in moving to other states. between 1961 and 1966 over 14,000 expatriate Cubans moved to California. Echo Park became a “ Little Havana ” sphere for a meter and Cuban restaurants and bakeries were established, including Portos ( 1976 ) on this tilt. today, about 80,000 Cuban-Americans live in the Los Angeles area, and another 40,000 alive in surrounding areas. Located in a strip plaza, with vintage signboard and shopfront hush entire, the inside of El Colmao is basic, with little remodeling. The walls calm have their master woodwind paneling and chandeliers hang from a drop ceiling. An eating antagonistic is covered in fake marble laminate. The restaurant is now owned by Eduardo ’ sulfur daughter, Nelsa Sousa de Vivar .
(1969) El Tarasco 316 Rosecrans Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266. This bantam hovel serving mexican food can constructively be viewed as a hole in the wall. Opened by Celia and Moises Palomo, immigrants from Michoacan, Mexico, they opened a irregular location in El Segundo in 1977 that is still in operation. Celia passed away in 1997 and Moises in 1998. With tons of character, including walls covered in stickers, exposed brick, a wooden ceiling where posters, license plates and other ephemeron are hang willy-nilly, the lone anomaly is the eating anticipate made of dressed marble- not the cool kind, but the kind found in regretful home remodels starting in the early 2000s. With counter eating only, about a twelve black vinyl toilet line both sides of the very thin room. The outside is a gay bright yellow, with Mexican cartoon murals, located about 5 blocks from the ocean. There is rooftop outdoor board eating accessed by an outdoor side stairway .
(1969) Golden Ox 902 W Whittier Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640. distinctive debauched food restaurant serving American and Mexican food, with an amazing vintage sign .
(1969) Harold & Belle’s 2920 W Jefferson Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90018. Crenshaw district Creole restaurant opened by New Orleans ’ transplants Harold & Belle Legaux. It has been renovated several times ; beginning in 1985 and then again in 2016. The department of the interior is modern, with dark woodwind tables and hurricane looking glass lighting and a break attached bar area .
(1969) House of Pies 1869 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027. The last survive House of Pies in Los Angeles is located on Vermont Ave and Franklin in Los Feliz and opened in 1969. It was contribution of a restaurant chain started in 1968 by the lapp man who founded International House of Pancakes. By 1971 there were 32 House of Pies franchises located in Southern California alone, and many more across the state. By 1980 this was the only surviving L.A. location. Housed in an honest-to-god fashioned, cottage-like build, the architecture and inside lines of the restaurant are very late ’ 60s. The interior still has original remnants of river rock ‘n’ roll trim and angular windows, but the interior decoration has been brought into the stream hundred. Serving american english chocolate shop cuisine, they are known for their boastfully choice of pies, which in their flower stood at 60 varieties .
(1969) Hungry Harold’s 3453 W Slauson Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90043. Hungry Harold ’ mho is a firm food take-out restaurant located on Slauson Ave in South L.A. It was opened in 1969 by Harold Lageaux Jr., the son of New Orleans transplant Harold & Belle Lageaux, who opened the Los Angeles Creole restaurant Harold & Belle ’ s the same class. The stand is a traditional greasy spoon, with a ’ 60s ground beef stand vibration. It has seen better days, but has grit and authenticity .
(1969) La Abeja 3700 N Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90065. La Abeja, which means The Bee in spanish, opened in 1969 on Figueroa St in the Lincoln Heights region of Los Angeles. It is a small, authentic Mexican restaurant with wood paneled walls and ceiling, wood laminate tables and burgundy vinyl booths. Located in a rounded build on a corner, the outside is covered with murals inspired by Aztec and Mexican themes and was painted by artist Leo Limón. The restaurant, is now owned by Rogelio Fonseca, but was opened as a corner shop with attached kitchen by his parents Jose and Gloria. It caters to locals, serving homelike Mexican food and menudo on weekends. It has no liquor license, but beer can be brought in. (August 2019: Owners have announced that La Abeja will be closing soon).
(1969) La Poubelle 5907 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90068. classic french bistro food in a quad with a solid wooden measure, dim lights and european inspired interior decoration .
(1969) La Villa Mexican Restaurant 15333 Crenshaw Blvd, Gardena, CA 90249. La Villa Mexican Food was opened by Israel and Elisa Becerra in 1969, a marry couple who had immigrated to Southern California just over a decade before from Mexico. Located on Crenshaw Boulevard in Gardena, the restaurant finally expanded to two other branches in Redondo and Manhattan Beach, but only this first base location remains. Serving traditional mexican food in a brick fronted and shingle-roofed construction, the interior decoration leans towards late ’ 60s country bungalow blend with a Southwest season, incorporating natural wood and terra cotta tiled floors. La Villa is now owned by the couple ’ s youngest daughter, Maria Gardner .
(1969) Lancers Restaurant 697 N Victory Blvd, Burbank, CA 91502. With a bright turquoise boxlike, however zig-zagged, roofline countered with bright bolshevik credit card letters spelling out this restaurants name, Lancers is classic recently ’ 60s coffee shop architecture. Freestanding, but located in the corner of a shopping plaza on Victory Blvd in Burbank, it has retained most of its vintage integrity, with only minor remodels over the years, chiefly in the carpets, wall interior decoration and upholstery. The eat counter is still sided with wood laminate and the wall behind is brick orange tile trimmed with black. Known for their daily specials of traditional american diner food, it is popular with the senior citizen herd. A divide lounge room in the back is a repose put to get a cocktail off from the chocolate shop clientele.

(1969) Shanghai Pine Garden 300 Marine Ave, Newport Beach, CA 92662. Shanghai Pine Garden opened on the Balboa Island in Newport Beach in 1969 by Cheong Lee, who had immigrated to California in 1964. The build still has the 1960s outside with stone facade and a conventionalized chinese roof. The restaurant serves American-style Mandarin Chinese cuisine in a recently remodeled dine room. The inside is modern with taiwanese cosmetic elements. Cheong Lee ’ s son, Wing Lam, went on to open the democratic restaurant chain Wahoo ’ s Fish Tacos .
(1969) Spaghetti Bender 6204 West Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663. Alongside the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, this restaurant was opened in 1969 by italian immigrant Lorenzo Pasini, wife Ailie and daughter Joyce Hoskinson, who still runs the restaurant today. The family had opened a series of Orange County restaurants beginning in the early 1950s, until they found success with Spaghetti Bender, which apparently was Lorenzo ’ s dub back in Italy. The menu focuses on italian pastas, entrees and antipasti with an old school state kitschy dining board that proudly ( according to their web site ) hasn ’ thyroxine been remodeled since 1976. With woodwind beamed ceilings, red and blank check tablecloths and wallpaper busy with a print of mid- ’ 70s fruit bowl, the decorating result is homelike and well arrant .
(1969) Taco Treat 74 East Live Oak, Arcadia, CA, 91006. family owned fast-food Mexican served from a little take-out trail, built in 1950, with a cool old sign. They specialize in crisp, bass fried burrito. The original owner, Harold Morrow, who was besides a South Pasadena mailman, passed away in 2011. Taco Treat is now owned by his daughter. There are cinch tables on the side for consume .
(1969) The Warehouse 4499 Admiralty Way, Marina Del Rey, CA 90292. The Warehouse restaurant opened in 1969 on Marina Del Rey harbor by Burt Hixson with the intention of creating a theme tropical eating seat in Southern California. He used salvaged pier posts, intentionally weathered lumber, nautical ephemera, walls lined with whiskey barrels and furniture made from bamboo to create a agrestic island vibration for this large waterfront restaurant, which is even a lot the same as when it opened. Serving costly seafood and steakhouse do, they besides offer a slightly more reasonable Sunday brunch buffet and a weekday happy hour .
(1970) Antonio’s Restaurant 7470 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036. Antonio ’ s Mexican restaurant was opened in 1970, by Antonio Gutiérrez, an immigrant from Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico. Existing since before Melrose became a trendy shopping finish, the inner is dark, with an old school find, including brown caespitose leather booths, dividers made of knobby wood and work iron, saltillo floors, beautiful Mexican ceramic tile employment and walls wax of old photograph. Though Antonio still much greet patrons, the restaurant is now formally run by his daughter .
(1970) The Baked Potato 3787 Cahuenga Blvd, Studio City, CA 91604. The Baked Potato opened on Cahuenga Blvd in Studio City, CA, in the sphere known as Cahuenga Pass in 1970. It is an confidant hot sleep together club known for specializing in serving entree-sized baked potatoes and a menu full of toppings. The outer space itself is identical belittled, with wood paneled walls, a neglect ceiling and little faux wood tables, closely jammed together. Black leather booth line the poster covered walls. 1970s stain glass lamps bent from the low ceiling. The stagecoach is identical first gear to the grind, so it is a big identify to catch wind greats and see them in a close-up context .
(1970) Cactus Patch Restaurant 197 E High St, Moorpark, CA 93021. Quaint early ’ 70s dining car with wood empanel and old west interior decoration. Breakfast and brunch .
(1970) Casa Gamino 8330 Alondra Blvd, Paramount, CA 90723. The inaugural location of a small Mexican restaurant chain opened by Cipriano Gamino in 1970. other locations are in Inglewood ( 1981 ) and Anaheim ( 1996 ). A Pico Rivera ramify changed owners and is now called Casa Camino. This original placement has been remodeled, but the Inglewood restaurant still has a great recently ’ 70s vintage feel .
(1970) Corsica Deli 8111 Foothill Blvd, Sunland-Tujunga, CA 91040. This small italian commercialize, located on Foothill Blvd in Sunland, CA was opened in 1970 by Mary Paule Russo, who had relocated to Southern California from Montreal with her family as a child. With a hand painted sign in the colors of the italian iris and colored painted presence windows, this belittled corner market besides serves an align of hot and cold submarine sandwiches, along with lasagna, salads, cannoli and other italian baked goods. With a long glaze delicatessen case and a vintage menu board straight out of the ’ 70s, its authentic and understated .
(1970) Egg Heaven Cafe 4358 E 4th St, Long Beach, CA 90814. egg Heaven Cafe opened in 1970, in a construct that had been constructed in 1923 and had previously housed a dress shop and then a cafe called Dubs. Open early mornings to early afternoons, the menu consists of hearty breakfasts, sandwiches, burgers and salads and payment is by cash merely. With an old plastic bless and a wood trimmed and glass corner localization, this little chocolate patronize features a long breakfast counter decoupaged with an artistic collage. The walls are brick and wood paneled, the booths are grey vinyl and the painted ceiling tiles go back to a 1973 art contest that the restaurant sponsored for local artists .
(1970) Gondola Pizza 15840 Imperial Hwy, La Mirada, CA 90638. This beloved Orange County region pizza joint has been around since 1970, opened by Josephine & Sam Agrusa, immigrants from Balestrate, Italy. Located in a leach plaza, it has had a small remodeling- a new formative sign out front, new floors and counters- but its fake brick walls, a few erstwhile school cling lanterns and some ’ 70s wooden and leatherette booths give the touch of a fiddling act of history .
(1970) Gulliver’s Prime Rib 18482 MacArthur Blvd Irvine, CA 92612. This fine boom restaurant is best known for its Old English manor theater atmosphere and its huge cuts of prime rib, fillet mignon, chateaubriand, pasta, seafood and other steakhouse classics. The interior decoration is elegant, with multiple dimly lit dining rooms filled with bulky furniture, roaring fireplaces, brick walls, night wood, thick carpet, chandeliers and glow ceilings. obviously actor John Wayne was a customer and had a regular table. The vibration is decidedly alike to Tam O ’ Shanter ( 1925 ) or the Five Crowns ( 1965 ) restaurants. The logo and signage were created in 1970 by architectural firm Smith and Williams .
(1970) Hank’s Pizza 442 W Manchester Ave, Playa Del Rey, CA 90293. Located in a little, alley hovel, a few blocks from the Pacific ocean in Playa del Rey, Hank ’ s Pizza opened in 1970. Tiny and casual, with walls plastered by movie posters, a few cafe tables sit both at heart and on a brick paved sidewalk out front. This locally loved pizza joint serves a full menu, including pasta, submarine and hamburgers. The outside sign and awning have been modernized over the years, but the neighborhood feel remains .
(1970) Holiday Burgers  15520 Devonshire St, Mission Hills, CA 91345. vacation Burgers thankfully survives as an exemplar of 1970 fast food architecture. From its squelch roof, to its credit card sign out front, these kind of buildings are a thing of the past. Inside, most has been remodeled, but a glance behind the counter reveals a wall of adorable 1970 tile, so far untouched. The menu is straight-up fast food, grave on the dirt, including massive pastrami sandwiches, reubens and french fries drowning in cheese, chili and more pastrami .
(1970) Le Sanglier 5522 Crebs Ave, Tarzana, CA 91356. Founded by Gil Pique and Alain Cuny on a small side street in Tarzana, CA, Le Sanglier is a costly french restaurant with a dark, remodeled room and state french wallpaper and interior decoration. Open for dinners lone, the name of this ashen tablecloth fine dining restaurant translates to ‘ the boar. ’ The eaterywas purchased by Michael Khalatian in 2016 .
(1970) The Odyssey 15600 Odyssey Dr, Granada Hills, CA 91344. The Odyssey restaurant opened in 1970, up in the hills above Rinaldi Street, west of the 405 expressway in Granada Hills. It is a especial occasion restaurant, serving american steak, seafood and weekend brunch, often used for weddings, events or other group celebrations, with patios and sprawling views of the San Fernando Valley. It is among the restaurants by Speciality Restaurant Corporation, started by David Tallichet, a pioneer in theme restaurants, who began building them nationally in 1958. SRC started and continues to operate respective other themed vintage restaurants in the Los Angeles area, including The Castaway ( 1963 ), The Proud Bird ( 1967 ), Orange Hill ( 1972 ) and the 94th Aero Squadron ( 1973 ). Serving american english steak, seafood and weekend brunch, the Odyssey is full of many separate sprawling feast rooms, connected by winding outside paths with fountains and pisces ponds leading to decks with romantic views. The department of the interior has been renovated many times over the years and presently seems like a mish squash of ’ 70s, ’ 80s and ’ 90s interior decoration, with hotel-like carpets, etched glass and gawdy chandeliers, but lacking true kitsch. It ’ s truly all about the views .
(1970) The Old Place  29983 Mulholland Hwy, Agoura Hills, CA 91301. completely wooden throughout, ceilings included, with a long wooden bar and a handful of carve wooden booths. Serving rustic quilt food in a convert country memory & post agency .
(1970) Pinnacle Peak 2533 La Cadena Dr S, Colton, CA 92324. second location of the 1967 San Dimas localization. This casual restaurant bills itself as the working serviceman ’ south steakhouse. Serving a kernel heavy menu, there are no vegetarian entree selections, but there are a few side dishes that are kernel free. The restaurant celebrates a “ no neckties allowed ” rule and ties are cheekily cut from the neck of its owner, confiscated & hang from the rafters with a diagnose tag attached. There are hundreds of ties in every color and pattern, making an eclectic and playfulness collection .
(1970) Rutebegorz 221 N Pomona Ave, Fullerton, CA 92832. Rutebegorz got its start out of a hippie coffee bean firm, serving dessert, opened in 1970 by Paul Berkman and three college friends from Cal State Fullerton. The build itself was constructed in 1930 and was a doctor ’ randomness agency for 40 years before it became the restaurant. Focusing on healthy vegetarian and vegan dishes a well as thin meats, such as wimp, turkey and fish, the menu is big with wraps, soups, salads and sandwiches, but besides serves beer, wine and cocktails. With wooden tables, brilliantly colored murals, exposed brick walls and amazing vintage linoleum spread out over several rooms, the feel is light and eclectic, like its hippie origin. Two locations have opened in Orange and Tustin, after this original .
(1970) Zamora Bros 1503 East Cesar E Chavez Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90033. Zamora Bros was established in 1970 in Boyle Heights by Mauro “ Chato ” Zamora who immigrated to Los Angeles from Irapuato, Guanajuato, Mexico. Zamora started his business with a street cart, selling carnitas at local soccer matches and then opened this market and carniceria subsequently. Located in the same build since its origin, the street appoint was changed from Brooklyn Avenue to Cesar E. Chavez Avenue in 1994 to honor parturiency drawing card Chavez, who died the year earlier. Though Zamora Bros is more of a commercialize than a restaurant, carnitas, birria, chicharrones and other mexican food can be ordered from a long take-out counter with chalk board menu and tables are available for eating on premises. The construction, painted bright red, white and blue with a portrayal of the Virgin de Guadalupe on the english, is brick reduce and has a tiled front side walk .
(1971) Alfredo’s Granada 1100 W Victory Blvd, Burbank, CA 91506. Alfredo ’ s Granada Mexican restaurant was opened in 1971 on Victory Blvd in Burbank by Alfredo Bernal in the location of the former Sargents Restaurant. When Alfredo died in 2003, it was run by his kin members until 2010, when it closed down and then re-opened however again. Featuring early 1970s interior decoration, olive colored booths, brick walls and a tile-roofed Mexican “ hacienda ” disguising the kitchen, it besides has a separate attached measure sphere .
(1971) Angelo’s and Vinci’s 550 N Harbor Blvd, Fullerton, CA 92832. Founded in 1971 by movie dancer and choreographer Steve Peck, in a build that had served as a produce market in early 1900s Fullerton, the air inside can best be described as eclectic. jammed to the rafters with italian inspired decoration & kitsch galore, the independent boom room was decorated to appear as an outdoor square of an italian village. With gamey cathedral ceilings, terra cotta brick and a cluttered palate of ephemeron every single place you look, it is a atavist to the disappearing theme restaurants that were once coarse. Serving an italian menu deoxyadenosine monophosphate well as a weekday express lunch buffet, the gay environment is besides used frequently for parties and banquets.. Remodeled in 1992, the re-do actually helped uncover some of the early market build ’ s early bones, adding to the vintage feel .
(1971) Claro’s 19 Huntington Drive, Arcadia, CA 91006. The second ramify of Claro ’ s italian grocery store and deli in the first place opened in San Gabriel in 1948 by Joe Claro and his wife Mary. This second branch was started by their daughter Marylinda and her husband George Daddona in 1971. basic brick-fronted construction with awning and red linoleum floors, serving authoritative italian delicatessen and bake goods .
(1971) Giamela’s 216 W Magnolia Blvd, Burbank, CA 91502. Serving nine types of italian substitute, piled senior high school with toppings in both big and little, and accepting cash only, this branch of Giamela ’ s hasn ’ thyroxine changed much since it opened in 1971. The first Giamela ’ s was opened on Riverside Drive in Burbank in 1967 by Angelina Giamela, a transplant from New Jersey. Located in a small brick fronted hut, there are a half twelve crimson vinyl booths with laminate tables, a long scraggy rejoinder with stools, a thatch window for ordering and a couple wooden picnic tables out presence and woodwind paneled walls .
(1971) Howard’s Famous Bacon & Avocado Burgers 11127 Venice, L.A., CA 90034. Located in a Westside clean plaza, Howard ’ second is a simple old school fast food joint known for their burgers. With an original ’ 70s signal out front and a few orange molded booths with wood laminate tables and a bright orange venting hood over the grillroom, it probably looks very a lot like it did when it opened in 1972. Decor consists of old movie posters and a ceiling fan .
(1971) Italia Bakery & Deli 11134 Balboa Blvd, Granada Hills, CA 91344. This Granada Hills italian delicatessen, market and bakery was opened in 1971 by Philip and Maria Magnanimo and Benito and Gina DeGiosa. Serving italian delicatessen sandwiches, a few pasta specialties and antipasto, italian cookies and other baked goods, it is presently owned by Maria Angela Magnanimo. Located in a San Fernando Valley denude promenade, it has had minimal remodel and still has its original glass delicatessen cases .
(1971) Lucci’s Deli 8911 Adams Ave., Huntington Beach, CA 92646. In 1946 Lena and Carl Lucci, italian Americans from Pittsburgh, opened a candy store on Compton Blvd in Gardena which grew into Lucci ’ s Deli. Though this original delicatessen closed in 1986, a Huntington Beach branch was opened in 1971 by the Lucci ’ s son, Bill Refice and his wife Jean. today it ’ s tend by Bill & Jean ’ s sons. Among hand-painted signs, vintage photos, wood trellises as board dividers and master linoleum floors, the feeling is previous school. With original vintage glaze delicatessen cases holding italian cold cuts, cheeses, salads and bake goods, along with aisles of italian grocery store products, ordering is done from a take-out rejoinder. A few red & white check tables allow for eating from the delicatessen ’ sulfur menu of traditional Italian-American pastas, including an All-You-Can-Eat-Spaghetti Monday and italian hot and cold delicatessen submarines and salads .
(1971) Olympic Cafe House of Breakfast 3728 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90019. Located in a strip plaza with counter ordering for breakfast and lunch. Unremodeled early- ’ 70s room with woodwind laminate tables, orange medieval castle-like interior decoration and wood paneled walls .
(1971) Pinocchio Italian Restaurant 3103 W Magnolia, Burbank, CA 91505.
Right in the heart of Burbank is a most adorable puppet-themed kin restaurant opened in 1971 by yugoslav immigrant Mark Brankovich, who bought the already operating Monte Carlo delicatessen in 1969 and built the affiliated Pinocchio restaurant following door two years belated. Old-school italian american english food, ordered from a cardinal counter, cafeteria-style, makes this a casual, however playfulness experience. Pinocchio Restaurant has red leather booths, checked mesa cloths, mid-century tchotchkes and Pinocchio puppets displayed throughout. The Monte Carlo Deli sells authentic italian products, many of which are hard to find west of Ohio. Wine is for sale by the bottle, or bring your own for a small corkage tip. The fun environment and cheap prices are part of the attract .
(1971) Shakers 601 Fair Oaks, South Pasadena, 91030. classical american diner food served in a 1964-built googie structure designed by Armet & Davis for the Prebles restaurant chain. It became the Salt Shaker in 1971, but the name was changed to Shakers in 1975. It however has much of the original 1970s interior .
(1971) Spires Restaurant 22327 S Wilmington Ave, Carson, CA 90745. Spires is a chain of Southern California restaurants, serving chocolate shop american english food, founded in 1965 by greek immigrant John Haretakis. The first location, immediately a Goldenwest Diner, was opened in 1965 on Euclid and Ball Streets in Anaheim. At its glance, there were 30 locations, but nowadays there are only 8 locations left including Long Beach 1 ( 1979 ), Long Beach 2, Torrance ( 1976 ), Torrance 2 ( 1976 ), Tustin ( 1978 ), Ontario ( 1982 ) and Lawndale. All except the Lawndale location feature an octangular shape build, original fictile signs, wood paneled walls and vintage loss tile on the walls behind the counter. These locations have not been remodeled and are very congressman of 1970s restaurant department of the interior decorating with brown or bluish green vinyl upholster booths .
(1971) Way Station Coffee House 24377 Main St, Santa Clarita, CA 91321. way Station Coffee House opened in 1971 on Main St in Newhall, CA. Though the outside is quite characterless, with a morsel of brick snip and plate glass windows, the inside is eclectic and interesting. This small, old school coffee bean denounce & dining car serves breakfast & early lunch. The inner features a long formica counter, brown vinyl booths, a fell ceiling and a crowded wall full of vintage license plates create an authentic early ’ 70s vibration. The business was started by Stanley Bronstrup, who passed away in 2014 .
(1972) Carmine’s II Caffe 10463 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025. Run by the son of the foremost Carmine, who owned the italian restaurant once frequented by the Rat Pack. Remodeled home & newly signboard .
(1972) Charlie’s Chili 102 Mc Fadden Pl, Newport Beach, CA 92663. First opened in 1967 on Balboa Island by Peter Torre, but moved to its present beachfront localization on the Newport Pier in 1972. Though this remains the only outlive location, in the mid- ’ 70s to early ’ 80s their were extra Charlie ’ s Chili locations in San Francisco, Costa Mesa, Laguna and Huntington Beach. Specializing in chili, the menu features many incarnations based on that theme, including greaser, burrito, chili dogs, chili omelettes and chili burgers. The inside has been remodeled over the years and now has a fooling fast-food standard atmosphere with a modern feel. Since 1988 Charlie ’ randomness has been owned and run by the Farman family .
(1972) Chinese Friends 984 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Though this simpleton, unadorned shopfront restaurant would never give it aside by appearance, this remains one of the oldest surviving taiwanese eateries in downtown L.A. ’ s “ new ” Chinatown area, which was established in 1938 .
(1972) Dhaba Indian Cuisine 2104 Main St, Santa Monica, CA 90405. Located two blocks from the Pacific Ocean in Santa Monica, Dhaba Indian Cuisine opened in 1972 and according to my current information, stands as the oldest surviving indian restaurant in the L.A./OC area. tight american english immigration laws meant that only about 6,000 settlers from India immigrated to the United States between 1947 and 1965, and entirely a small sum of them then lived in Los Angeles. But between 1965-1975, when immigration laws became looser, over 100,000 East Indians arrived in the U.S., bringing their food and their restaurants. Dhaba Cuisine was opened in 1972 by Margaret Patel and she stills runs the business with her family. Inside features a basic dining room with wooden tables and chairs, along with elementary interior decoration and window treatments with traditional indian theme. There is a romantic outdoor patio sphere with bamboo and foliation. ( An interest footnote : sonic Youth ’ s Kim Gordon wrote in her autobiography that she had worked as an employee hera in the 1970s. )
(1972) Dick Church’s 2698 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627. authentic 1970s dining car with original orange tufted booths, wood paneled walls and buffet, complete with vintage cigarette vending machine. in the first place opened in 1947 as Baby ’ s Beef Burger. Serving American-style breakfasts and lunch .
(1972) Good Neighbor Restaurant 3701 Cahuenga Blvd, Studio City, CA 91604. The beneficial Neighbor restaurant opened in 1972 in a undress promenade on the Cahuenga Pass in Studio City. It is a homelike, casual Mom & Pop cafe with bright windows, checkerboard shock and framed photos of celebrities lining the walls. Serving American-style breakfast & lunch foods, they close at 3pm daily .
(1972) The Hobbit Restaurant 2932 E Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92869.
Unique upscale dining know in an old dwelling and wine cellar. Prix-fixe, multi-course .
(1972) Jenny’s Country Kitchen 13319 Telegraph Rd, Whittier, CA 90605. This retiring little cafe opened in 1972 in a airstrip promenade that was constructed in 1961. The inside has been pretty much untouched since then, with wood paneled walls, dark red and greens vinyl booths and a wood laminate breakfast counterpunch in the back. The menu is a intemperate mix of both “ substantial ” Mexican food- chilaquiles, menudo made daily, nopales & eggs, machaca and the kind of vintage american english diner food that has been written off by many advanced restaurants- chicken fried steak, grilled polish sausage, meat loaf, egg salad sandwiches, plus the usual suspects .
(1972) Jim’s Burgers #10 1901 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90033. share of the Jim ’ second Burgers chain, which began in 1958 in Bell. Amazing old educate sign, interior plastic molded booths and exterior vintage umbrella tables. This construct was constructed in 1953. Serving take-out style and drive-through fast food American and Mexican .
(1972) King Cole Pizza 612 S Lorena St, Los Angeles, CA 90023. casual pizza parlor in Boyle Heights with a fun, kitschy interior and a castle-themed outside. decidedly straight out of the early ’ 70s, with a funky rec room/vintage tactile property .
(1972) Little Onion 110 W MacArthur Blvd, Santa Ana, CA 92707. The beginning placement of Little Onion Mexican restaurant was opened in 1969 by Lorin “ Lorenzo ” in Hawthorne, CA. He then he moved the restaurant to Santa Ana in October 1972. Located in a two-level freestanding construction with a clay-tiled roof, the inwardly is roomy and pallidly lighted, filled with rich colors, benighted wood, bumpkinly brick and beautiful Mexican tile. The vintage leather booths are either burgundy or dark brown, depending on which part, and the tables are early on ’ 70s wood laminate. A separate stripe area besides features an feed section .
(1972) Lupe’s #2 4642 E. 3rd St. in East Los Angeles. This little East L.A. fast food taco stand was opened by Manuel and Adeline Portillo in 1972. With some built-in stools around the circumference and a red, white and blue sky striped awning, this divey little hut is a region favorite. A mural is painted on the slope honoring founder Adeline, who passed off in 2010 .
(1972) Maxwell’s Cafe 3329 Washington Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90066. This small bright blue cornerside restaurant has a comfortable down-home, cabin-like feeling, with wooden walls, ceilings and a long wooden breakfast bar. The booths are upholstered in vintage greenish blue blue leatherette, bringing the palpate of a southerly diner. Serving breakfast and early lunch from 6am to 2pm, the restaurant closes for a few hours in the good afternoon and then reopens from 6pm-10pm. The menu is clayey on breakfast items-French pledge, pancakes, omelettes and filled out with salads, burgers, sandwiches and wraps .
(1972) Moonshadows 20356 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265. Pricey ocean presence restaurant. Its outside remains the like, but its home was remodeled in 2012 .
(1972) Oomasa 100 japanese Village Plaza Mall, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Ōōmasa opened in 1972 in the japanese Village Plaza in L.A. ’ s small Tokyo neighborhood. Opened by Masaharu Motoyama, a 24-year erstwhile japanese immigrant, it was one of the earliest sushi bars in Los Angeles. At that time it was besides the largest, with forty seats. The outside is boxlike, iniquity slated wood, while the inner has a farseeing sushi bar american samoa well as booths and is decorate with japanese cosmetic elements. The first sushi banish in L.A., Kawafuku, opened in 1966 in the like neighborhood, but is long gone .
(1972) Orange Hill Restaurant 6410 E Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92869.
Surf & turf. elegant restaurant with wood beamed ceilings, white table clothes and swing views. It is among the restaurants by Speciality Restaurant Corporation, started by David Tallichet, a initiate in theme restaurants, who began building them nationally in 1958. SRC started and continues to operate respective other themed vintage restaurants in the Los Angeles area, including The Castaway ( 1963 ), The Proud Bird ( 1967 ), The Odyssey ( 1970 ) and the 94th Aero Squadron ( 1973 ) .
(1972) Prince O’ Whales 335 Culver Blvd, Playa Del Rey, CA 90293. Opened in 1955 as the Bowspirit, it was bought by Steve Mayer in 1972 and turned into the Prince O ’ Whales. It claims to be L.A. ’ s oldest sports bar. Serves breakfast, lunch & dinner .
(1972) Rainbow Bar & Grill 9015 Sunset Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90069. fabled 1970s-1980s Sunset strip rock haunt that was opened in 1972 by by Elmer Valentine ( who besides co-founded the Whisky-a-Go-Go and the Roxy ), read manufacturer Lou Adler and Mario Maglieri. The build up had once been the spot of another italian restaurant, the Villa Nova from 1944 to 1968, owned by Vincente Minelli, Judy Garland ’ randomness husband and actor Allen Dale. Stories say that The Rainbow was named in respect of Judy Garland. The history is slurred between these walls and could fill a book, from Old Hollywood ( Marilyn Monroe had her inaugural date with Joe DiMaggio at Villa Nova ) to being used as a haunt in the ’ 70s by rock stars Keith Moon, Alice Cooper, Micky Dolenz, Harry Nilsson, John Lennon and Ringo Starr to the last meal eaten by John Belushi to a nucleus of the ’ 80s Sunset Strip ’ s alloy scene and Motörhead ’ s Lemmy. The restaurant is un-remodeled with leather booths, a fireplace and memorabilia, best known for their pizza, they still serve a by and large italian based menu .
(1972) The Rusty Pelican 2735 West Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663. The concluding remain restaurant of a ’ 70s-early ’ 90s chain started by a Newport life guard in 1967 ; upscale sea food, waterfront location .
(1972) The Shack 185 Culver Blvd, Playa Del Rey, CA 90293. Serving burgers & bar grub in an previous school wooden building one pulley from the beach, This banal bar/restaurant has a laid back vibration, with wood paneling, brick walls and a well-worn patio. The first opened of 6 early locations in Hawaii, Colorado & Santa Monica .
(1972) Suehiro Cafe 337 E 1st St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Along with Oomasa, this is one of the oldest operational restaurants in Little Tokyo. It is located in the 1882-built Sperl build up. Serving basic japanese food in a small, diner-like board with booths, tables and an feed counter .
(1972) Tarzana Armenian Deli 18598 Ventura Blvd, Tarzana, CA 91356. Opened in 1972 by Rose Chelebian, this little grocery store stead and delicatessen, serving Pita wraps, Soujouk, Lahmajun ( meat pies ), Falafel, Tabouli and more, may possibly be the oldest armenian restaurant in Los Angeles and its surrounding areas. In 1972, even Zankou Chicken was another 12 years away from opening. armenian immigration prior to 1979 was identical light, but between 1979-1980 about 10,000 Armenians arrived in Los Angeles and in the 6-month menstruation of late 1987-early 1988 another 10,000 arrived, the single largest arrival of an cultural group after the deep 1970s vietnamese immigration .
(1972) Wind & Sea 34699 Golden Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629. Built on Dana Point Harbor in 1972 by Robert Mardian, who dropped out of law school to become a restauranteur, Wind & Sea ’ s interior decoration centers on floor to ceiling windows providing bird’s-eye views of the Pacific Ocean and boats passing by. Serving an American-based menu, concentrating on seafood, the restaurant besides promotes a Sunday brunch and happy hour menu .
(1973) 94th Aero Squadron 16320 Raymer St, Van Nuys, CA 91406.
Built next to the fugitive at Van Nuys airport & full of aviation memorabilia. Steakhouse/American menu. Opened in 1973 by David Tallichet, a World War II Army Air Corps seasoned, as a means to share his love of all things aviation-related. The restaurant was modeled on a countrified Normandy farmhouse. Tallichet chose a touch on the sidelines of the airport ’ mho long, straight track and named it after the 94th Aero Squadron, a much revered U.S. Army Air Service unit during the first World War. The reason many people fall in love with 94th Aero Squadron is the entertainment, which involves watching airplanes take off and land merely beyond a chain-link fence separating the red-bricked patio area from the nearby track. It is an hex vantage orient to see the planes come racing through and brings an aura of excitement and romance. Van Nuys Airport was built just before World War I, in a discipline growing banana squash, and has evolved into the longest and busiest general aviation runway in the populace, with more than 700 airplanes coming and going every day. It was used as a location to Casablanca and was the position that Norma Jean Baker, before she became Marilyn Monroe, was “ discovered ” doing a photograph shoot and subsequently offered her first screen test. Amelia Earhart used this track, as did the much celebrated pilot Clay Lacy, who still eats hera frequently. Clay coined the term “ jet set ” after regularly flying Frank Sinatra ’ s Rat Pack on a Learjet from this airport, equipped with a very necessity cocktail pouring service. There is a room dedicated to Clay and his drawn-out aviation history. This is among the restaurants by Speciality Restaurant Corporation, started by Tallichet, a pioneer in theme restaurants, who began building them nationally in 1958. SRC started and continues to operate several other themed vintage restaurants in the Los Angeles area, including The Castaway ( 1963 ), The Proud Bird ( 1967 ), The Odyssey ( 1970 ) and Orange Hill ( 1972 ) .
(1973) The Cannery 3010 Lafayette Rd, Newport Beach, CA 92663. The Cannery Restaurant was built in 1973 by Bill Hamilton, fall through of clean Harbor Day, on the waterfront web site of Newport Beach ’ s commercial fishing row, where western Canners Company operated from 1934-1966. With an outside of sheet metallic element to give an industrial appearance, the home furthers the factory composition with queer pipes along the high ceiling. That is tempered, however, by ocean views, colored modern artwork, tile exercise, warm wooden floors and creative glass light fixtures in the shape of jelly fish and other ocean creatures. The menu is heavy on seafood, with a few meat selections thrown in .
(1973) Great Western Steak & Hoagie Co. 1720 Lincoln Blvd, Venice, CA 90291. modest corner fast food reside with counter ordering and indoor/outdoor seat. Specializing in Philly tall mallow steak hoagies .
(1973) Inn of the Seventh Ray 128 Old Topanga Canyon Rd, Topanga, CA 90290. romanticist and costly with a fagot fib, forest atmosphere, brick paths and terrace, an abundance of outside seat, and a creek running through the place .
(1973) Izzy’s Deli 1433 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403. Opened in 1973 by Izzy Freeman, who was born in Brooklyn and raised after long time 13 in Boyle Heights, Izzy ’ s father was a produce and delicatessen seller in downtown ’ s Grand Central Market. This 24-hour diner serves up authoritative American & Jewish favorites with many menu named for well-known longtime patrons. A celebrity “ wall of fame ” is highlighted with neon and features photographs and clippings of some of the regulars. The restaurant ’ south inside has had some recast over the years, but calm keeps the ’ 70s integrity with wood laminate tables, brick walls, a wood paneled ceiling and the incredible orange knobbed wood unhorse fixtures that have been in place since the delicatessen opened. Izzy however hangs around the restaurant regularly to greet customers and friends .
(1973) Patrick’s Roadhouse 106 Entrada Dr, Santa Monica, CA 90402. Funky cafe near the ocean with a large, free-and-easy menu. Built from a crimson car terminal station that had already been transformed into a hot chase stand & then merged with the next door motel. Filled to the ceilings with antiques .
(1973) Rib Ranch BBQ 4923 Topanga Canyon Blvd, Woodland Hills, CA 91364.
in the first place opened in 1970 in Sepulveda, CA by owners Lenny and Bernie, whose portraits are displayed in the vintage ’ 70s molded plastic sign atop the roof. It is a cool, all wood reside, rustic & authentic, with a down home spirit and outdoor seat besides. It ’ s obviously meat-centric, but veggies can opt for the macintosh ‘ n cheese & potatoes .
(1973) Rosario’s Italian Restaurant 1343 E Carson St, Carson, CA 90745. Opened in a airstrip plaza in 1973, this little italian pizzeria is long, dark and narrow, with brick walls and trellises overhead hang with plastic grape vines. Underneath a neglect ceiling are about a twelve laminate tables with bentwood chairs, carved wooden room dividers and a few vintage arcade games. The vibration is decidedly ’ 70s. Known and raved about for their pizza, it comes stack inches high with toppings thus chummy that the cheese, though very much there, can not be seen below. Owned by Jim Bono, it was obviously his Dad who was the original Rosario .
(1973) Rosa’s Mexican Restaurant 322 PCH, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254. Rosa ’ s Mexican Restaurant was opened in 1973 on Pacific Coast Highway in Hermosa Beach by Rosa Perez, who immigrated to the United States from Mexico with her husband in 1966. Though Rosa retired and sold the business in 2010, this small, bright and festively painted shopfront restaurant has had the lapp chef since it first opened. The walls are covered with motley murals, the ceiling is sky blue and the tablecloths are in deep chief colors .
(1973) Tony’s Pizza 2555 Huntington Dr, San Marino, CA 91108. This basic no-frills pizza living room was opened in San Marino in 1973 by Tony Scott-Belli, an immigrant from Italy. The restaurant, now owned by Tony ’ s son, Michael, features counter ordering and is a casual neighborhood staple, specially with local high-school students. The inside is childlike, with a few 1970s molded laminate booths .
(1974) Aki 11513 Santa Monica Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90025. This traditional japanese restaurant is still owned and run by the Hada kin, who opened its doors in 1974. Located in the West L.A./Sawtelle area often referred to as Little Osaka, but officially dedicated as Japantown in 2015, the neighborhood has a long history of japanese liquidation, specially from the early 1900s to the 1950s when race-based restrictions prevented non-caucasians from buying homes in other areas of Los Angeles. Focusing on homestyle classics of Teriyaki, Sukiyaki, Katsu, Tonkatsu, Tempura and Sushi, the little restaurant, with olive colored leather booths, wood paneled walls, a free-standing sushi legal profession and elements of japanese interior decoration, maintains an authentic and non-trendy vibration that makes it popular. Aki may be the oldest surviving japanese restaurant in the Japantown neighborhood, followed by Nanbankan ( 1978 ) and Hide Sushi ( 1979 ) .
(1974) Astro Burger 5601 Melrose Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90038. in the first place opened as a drive-through burger joint, Astro expanded its menu to include greek food and vegetarian options. Basic fast food counterpunch avail and dining sphere .
(1974) The Chowder Barge 611 N Henry Ford Ave, Wilmington, CA 90744.
Located over some railway tracks, down some stairs and in a reasonably obscure location, it is L.A. Harbor ’ s alone floating restaurant. Built in 1934 as a support vessel for the film Mutiny on the Bounty, it was cemented in stead and turned into a restaurant in 1974. With amazingly brassy food prices on burgers, fish & chips and of class tasty chowder, you can actually pull up on your boat, tie down your swindle and have a strong drink at the barricade inside while fantasizing that you are co-starring in an episode of Magnum P.I. The inner is straight out of the mid- ’ 70s, complete with forest beamed ceilings and the prerequisite hanging cone fireplace. This is thankfully not a stead to hobnob with tourists, but rather a topographic point to experience local atmosphere and real flavor in a most scheme setting- right on L.A. ’ s docks .
(1974) Cortez Brothers 16100 Old Valley Blvd, La Puente, CA 91744. Located in a little river rock fronted house with credit card signs, Cortez Brothers is part market, separate restaurant. With loss leatherette booths and crimson laminate tables, wall murals, a takeout counter and a cadmium jukebox, this is truly a neighborhood spot, serving homelike Mexican food. Founded by Ignacio Cortes Correa and Rita Martinez de Cortes, it was owned by Rogelio and Carmen Cortez until 2019 and now has a new owner .
(1974) Cozy Corner Drive-in 426 N Harbor Blvd, Santa Ana, CA 92703. Fast food hamburger joint with perplex vintage sign of the zodiac out front man. 1970s vintage inside with turquoise booths and wood laminate tables .
(1974) DeFranko’s Submarines 7532 Woodley Ave, Van Nuys, CA 91406. Serving piled-high italian sandwiches on crusty italian bread along with antipasto and blistering dogs, this little substitute trail got its start in 1974, opened by Dru Alexander, who distillery runs the shop today. With five stools and a banal antagonistic, even the menu display panel is straight out of the early ’ 70s. There are besides long wooden picnic tables outside under a cover awning in the bet on of the workshop .
(1974) El Farolito 201 S Bradford Ave, Placentia, CA 92870. El Farolito, which translates to the “ light of hope, ” was opened on Bradford Ave in Placentia in 1974 as the dream of Mexican immigrant family, the Sandovals. still syndicate owned, more than half of the 30-something employees are family members. Located in a small freestanding build up, the inside is bright, casual and dim-witted with clay tiled floors and walls lined with paintings of mexican images .
(1974) Fiddler’s 12721 Glenoaks Blvd, Sylmar, CA 91342. Fiddler ’ s restaurant in Sylmar is a delectable time travel to 1974, the year this cozy coffee shop/diner opened for business. The restaurant inaugural opened as a Fiddler ’ s Three, separate of a range of coffee bean shops with locations scattered throughout Southern California. When the chain closed, this restaurant continued on with raw owners, dropping the ‘ Three ’ depart of its name and thankfully never remodeling. With total darkness tufted leather booths and laminate wood tables, the restaurant is trimmed unintentionally with adequate ’ 70s decorating kitsch to imagine that time never passed. and that is a effective thing. A diner counter looks out to brick walls and wooden buffet and has original tan leather pivot seats attached. The menu is chiefly american diner cuisine, with a few mexican items thrown in .
(1974) Gilbert’s El Indio 2526 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405. Opened by Gilberto and Carmen Rodriguez in May 1974, Gilbert ’ s El Indio serves mexican food in a stucco early on 1970s build with brick clean-cut, a spanish cadaver tiled ceiling and a vintage plastic augury. entrance is through the back, past “ El Indio, ” a well-loved life-size wooden amerind statue. The ’ 70s feel continues with an interior of wood paneled walls plastered with photograph, stained glass lamps, wood laminate tables and burgundy colored booths. The cluttered interior decoration adds to the ambiance and is a assortment of Mexican and native american themes. The restaurant is inactive run by Carmen, her children and grandchildren .
(1974) George’s Drive-in 9910 Magnolia Ave, Riverside, CA 92503. George ’ s Drive-in opened in 1974 in Riverside, CA by George and Zaharoula Alexiou. It is an erstwhile fashioned fast food drive-in, enclosed in field glass windows, serving burgers, Mexican food, ice cream and grinders. Outside cinch tables are available to eat at .
(1974) Mr Chow 344 N Camden Dr, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. upscale Beverly Hills Chinese restaurant primitively opened in London in 1968 by restauranteur Michael Chow. White mesa cloths and extremely modern/remodeled environment .
(1974) Neptune’s Net 42505 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265. Neptune ’ randomness Net is a casual ocean front seafood restaurant opened by Paul and Dolly Seay in 1974 on Pacific Coast Highway in Malibu, CA. in the first place built in 1956 as a burger restaurant and accelerator station called Panorama Pacific at Solimar and nicknamed Jake ’ randomness Place, the restaurant slope and kitchen area are character of the original construct while the patio area and take-out windows were added after it became Neptune ’ s Net in 1974. The patio department, known as the “ seafood side ” features covered outdoor communal picnic table dine, while the “ restaurant side ” has interior plastic molded booths with tables, ceiling fans and big glass windows. All order, on both sides is done counter style .
(1974) Orange County Mining Co. 10000 S Crawford Cyn Rd, N. Santa Ana, CA 92705. This large root restaurant was built as a tribute to the mining era along with its sister restaurant, The Pomona Mining Company ( 1977 ). With bird’s-eye views, it was intentionally built to be resemble a bumpkinly hovel, filled with dark wood, stained glass, police van wheels, stage coach lanterns and antiques to conjure the California gold bang period. primarily focusing on costly special occasion dinners and banquets, the menu is heavy on steak and seafood, though a Sunday champagne brunch buffet and felicitous hour level the play playing field a bit .
(1974) Perry’s Pizza 6937 Chapman Ave, Garden Grove, CA 92845. casual kin pizza living room with separate video game room that ’ second been in business since 1974 in the Orange County city of Garden Grove .
(1974) Pietro’s Italian 6788 Brockton Ave, Riverside, CA 92506. Located in a Riverside comic strip promenade with a big plastic signboard and exterior brick trim, this little family italian restaurant is a decorate time capsule from the mid-1970s with big tufted bolshevik vinyl booths and wood-trimmed walls. The servings are big and cheap .
(1974) Peppone 11628 Barrington Ct, Los Angeles, CA 90049.This italian ticket dining restaurant was opened in Brentwood in 1974 by Gianni Paoletti, an immigrant from Venice, Italy. The atmosphere is blue, elegant and dimly-lit with rich mahogany walls and beamed ceiling, deep red leather booths and Tiffany stained glaze lamps at every table. The menu is costly italian, blockheaded with sauce and boastfully portions. Peppone ’ s exterior features a vintage plastic signed, topped with lantern .
(1974) Sagebrush Cantina 23527 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302. This democratic Mexican restaurant and party spot was opened by Bob McCord in 1974, when Calabassas was merely a dusty, dry area off the 101 Freeway that once had a stagecoach break. McCord had worked as a Hollywood sound man on the television prove ‘ Death Valley Days, ’ and while on localization in Arizona he was in a small plane barge in that killed the two co-workers who were with him. McCord survived with a broken back and broken ankle, but had to wait two days to be rescued. He used his colonization money to rent a shopfront future to the historic 1844-built Leonis Adobe and created Sagebrush Cantina, a one room restaurant using a hot plate, a few tables and two employees. The shopfront was built in the early 1920s by Lester Agoure. What is now the cantina ’ s parking bunch once was the local jail. By the early ’ 80s the success of his mexican spot was so bang-up that he had expanded the restaurant to seat 800 people and had 150 employees. The big restaurant, features high gear forest beamed ceilings, a cement shock is filled with western-style props, a modest plane hanging from the ceiling, saw scatter floors, model ships and a small discipline in the parking set. McCord passed aside in 2008 .
(1974) Ye Olde King’s Head 116 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401. When Ye Olde King ’ s Head first opened in 1974 by British-born Phil Elwell and wife Ruth, one block from the Pacific Ocean in Santa Monica, the neighborhood surrounding it was Skid Row. They took over the outer space of a dive bar called the Brass Bell and started a traditional british public house that grew to include a casual restaurant, tea room, outdoor patio and give shop. Serving classical british food, such as bangers & chat up, shepherd ’ mho pie, fish & chips, Scotch eggs and pints on tap, there are dart boards and good afternoon tea. The interior is a mix of exposed brick, hardwood ceilings, a influence fireplace and a wooden measure, the walls well-decorated with british memorabilia and antiques. A tea room has walls of vermilion and round leather booths of dark cherry bolshevik. Keith Moon, boisterous drummer for the set the Who was kicked out of the public house in the mid-1970s for simulating arouse on the floor in the stripe sphere and trashing the toilets, while other long-familiar Brits like Tom Jones, Rod Stewart, Cary Grant, Davy Jones, Graham Chapman, Ozzy Osbourne, Sid Vicious, Billy Idol have raised a pint here over the years. Phil and Ruth, retired in 2005 and Ye Olde Kings Head is nowadays owned by Paul Boetcher and Donal Tavey. A Studio City branch opened in 2012, but closed shortly after three years .
(1975) Café Tropical 2900 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026. small, fetid corner cafe serving Cuban sandwiches, pastries & café convict leche .
(1975) Carney’s 8351 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90069. Burgers & hot dogs served in an erstwhile Pacific Railroad prepare car on the Sunset strip .
(1975) El Burrito 1095 W Colton Ave, Redlands, CA 92374. El Burrito got its start in 1949 Colton, CA when Robert L. Meister, a railroad worker, built ABC Drive-in to sell hamburgers, hotdogs, milkshakes and soda out of a 400-square-foot hovel with a counter window and outdoor tables. Eight years late, in 1957, he realized that Mexican food was the focus he wanted to head in and changed the reside ’ mho name to El Burrito. His son, Jim Meister, then opened a second base El Burrito in San Bernardino ( closed in 1999 ) and in 1975 opened this third base Redlandse location adenine well. Located in a crimson motley brick build, it consists of a take-out window and outdoor induct. The original placement closed in November 2015 and the Redlands El Burrito is the alone one survive, owned by Ted Nece, the grandson of original collapse R.L. Meister .
(1975) El Compadre 7408 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90029. El Compadre Mexican restaurant was opened by David Castro and Mario Jimenez on Sunset Blvd in Hollywood in 1975. Dark and atmospheric, with a mysterious old world hacienda feel, the restaurant features dark red leather booths, wood beamed ceilings, wrought cast-iron, stained glass cling lamps, vintage knobby forest partitions and Mexican themed paintings on the walls. Known for their fire margaritas, mariachi bands and homemade tortilla chips, two more locations were opened in Echo Park ( 2004 ) and downtown L.A. ( 2014 ) .
(1975) The Kettle 1138 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266. The Kettle restaurant was built in Manhattan Beach, CA in 1973 by Wally Botello on a lot of an Atlantic Richmond gas station. wally owned the restaurant until 1976, when it was sold to A.J. Simms, who had started in the restaurant business by running the commissary at MGM Studios and then owned several Ben Franks restaurants in Los Angeles ( one at 8th and Western & two in Hollywood. ) A comfortable and casual 24-hour restaurant, it is known for the big iron kettle sign on its roof, emblazoned with neon and motley fuel, angstrom well as its American-style food and hearty all night breakfasts. Though it has been remodeled and expanded over the years, the at heart still has a bright, homelike atmosphere with wooden floors, booths, an eating anticipate and an outdoor patio. Located on a corner, a match blocks from the Pacific Ocean, it is still run by the children of A.J. Simms .
(1975) King Taco #1 1118 Cypress Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90065. foremost location of the idolize fast food taco chain that became the blueprint of taco shops countrywide. Started out of a hand truck in mid-1974 and expanded into a brick and mortar shop six months later .
(1975) Moffet’s Chicken Pie Shop 1409 S Baldwin Ave, Arcadia, CA 91007.
authentic strip plaza diner specializing in serving comfort food, particularly pot pies. Homey and decorated with ’ 70s country kitsch, from floral wallpaper to colonial American-style wood furniture and hang stained glass lamps, its mirrored wall menu is still painted in the original ’ 70s hues of orange, brown and goldenrod. They besides are known for their homemade dessert pies as good. Opened by Al Moffet, who with his brother Henry had run a successful wimp pie restaurant, Phillip ’ sulfur, on Pine Street In Long Beach, which closed in the early 1970s. Henry opened Henry Moffet ’ s Old Fashioned Chicken Pie Restaurant in Bellfower, which closed in 2007 .
(1975) More Than Waffles 17200 Ventura Blvd # 109, Encino, CA 91316. Breakfast spot specializing in elaborate waffles and early dawn favorites. Built in the Encino Town Center which opened the lapp year. Homey, nation interior decoration. The unharmed denounce center was remodeled in 1993 .
(1975) The Nosh 9689 Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90210. Opened in 1975 as a franchise of the New York Bagel Nosh company, started in 1967, it was taken over by Lenny Rosenberg in 2000 and the give voice ‘ Bagel ’ dropped from the restaurant ’ south name. A fooling, diner-style jewish delicatessen, the outside roofline still carries a tip of its vintage history. Owned since 2006 by Ron Magnin and David Laredo .
(1975) Paco’s Tacos 4141 S Centinela Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90066. Paco ’ sulfur Tacos is a full-service Mexican restaurant opened in 1975 on Centinela Ave by Paco Francisco. Located in a brick-fronted build with a spanish tile ceiling, it has mid-1970s formative signs out presence. The home features bouncy, fun department of the interior interior decoration with tile bordered walls, Mexican-themed murals, large fishtanks, stained glass, painted wooden ceiling beams and eclectic fish and hunting ephemera hang from the ceiling. A scene from the movie Jerry Maguire was filmed here .
(1975) Roma Market 918 N Lake Ave, Pasadena, CA 91104. italian import marketplace that opened in Pasadena in 1953 and began serving signature delicatessen sandwiches in 1975. Modern exterior, authentic and clutter interior. not connected to the North Hollywood Roma Deli .
(1975) Roscoe’s Chicken & Waffles 1514 N Gower St, Los Angeles, CA 90028. Roscoe ’ s Chicken & Waffles was opened 1975 on Gower Ave in Hollywood, CA by Harlem, NY born Herb Hudson. Serving soul food and a unique combination of supporter chicken served with waffles, Herb ’ s celebrated friends in the local anesthetic music and television receiver businesses spread the word about his business to help it get established. The Hollywood placement, which frequently has long lines, is the original restaurant, but it soon grew to a chain. The outside is basic brick and woodwind, while the inside is free-and-easy, with a wood planked ceiling, tile floors, brick and forest paneled walls and framed photos of celebrities .
(1975) Salvatore Italian 125 N 6th St, Montebello, CA 90640. traditional italian restaurant opened in 1975 by Salvatore and Angela De Lorenzo, immigrants from Calabria, Italy. With 1970s italian inspired interior decoration, including crimson and white discipline tablecloths, brown tufted circular booths, and a multitude of chandeliers, entrance is through a heavy wooden door in the restaurant ’ s brick facade with original plastic signs hanging out front. The menu features large portions of pasta, pizza, italian entrees and calzones. Salvatore is still class owned by Joseph and Anthony De Lorenzo .
(1976) Biagio’s 24301 Muirlands Blvd, Lake Forest, CA 92630. With forest trimmed walls and a casual air, Biagio ’ s has been updated since it opened in 1976, but is still family-owned with a dateless choice. Serving pizza, pasta and italian entrees, the vibration is family-style with all-you-can-eat spaghetti served on Sundays .
(1976) Chao Krung 111 N Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036. Chao Krung opened for clientele in October 1976 and is believed to be the second Thai restaurant to open in L.A., giving it the eminence of being the oldest remain in the city. Owned by Supa Kuntee, who inherited it from her family and began cooking hera in 1989, this Fairfax Avenue shopfront restaurant has formative signs and an awning out front. The din room and Thai-themed bar were remodeled in 2016 and than has taken away the mid- ’ 70s vintage vibration, leaving the space with a slick, advanced feel and taking away much of the space ’ s soul. The first wave of Thai immigrants began settling in L.A. during the recently 1960s and the foremost Thai restaurant here opened in 1969 on 8th Street and Vermont Avenue. It was a little commercialize with a few tables and long after closing, its mention is lost to history .
(1976) Georgio’s Pizza 8414 Sunland Blvd, Sun Valley, CA 91352. This Sun Valley neighborhood pizzeria has been in business since 1976 and is more of a free-and-easy ’ 70s-style tavern, serving pizza, bomber, calzones and pasta aboard bar drinks and pitchers of beer. Trimmed with fake brick, devolve ceiling and pool board, the small room is flanked with a long bar, about ten tables and several TVs .
(1976) Kouraku 314 E 2nd St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Remodeled diner-like little Tokyo cafe which stakes call to being the first gear true ramen restaurant in the United States. Open former night hours .
(1976) La Barca 2414 Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90007. Established in May 1976 by the Padilla family in the University Park area near USC, this traditional Mexican restaurant has been popular with students for decades. Located in a build up that was constructed in 1904, there is a feel of history in this restaurant that slightly transcends the restaurant ’ s mid- ’ 70s roots. Dark and atmospheric, its walls are painted to look like a Mexican court, bricks and mud roof tiles added to give illusion of a greenwich village and its ceiling painted with clouds and blue sky sky. The restaurant is even owned by the same syndicate and is immediately run by Guillermo Padilla who opened a second outgrowth in Downey in 2012 .
(1976) La Paz 514 Center St, El Segundo, CA 90245. This little storehouse front man Mexican restaurant is located in an El Segundo strip plaza was opened by Jose and Josefina Mendez. The inside consists of several casual diner-style rooms with booths and vintage linoleum .
(1976) Le Roy’s Restaurant 523 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016. Straight out of the mid- ’ 70s, this american diner features brown leather booths, a hanker laminate wood antagonistic, country inspired light fixtures & an amazing sign out front .
(1976) Leo’s Mexican Food 16006 Inglewood Ave, Lawndale, CA 90260.
Opened by Leo and Josephine Presiado on Inglewood Boulevard in Lawndale, this Mexican restaurant first base opened in 1948. It has been owned since 1967 by the couple ’ mho son, Lionel, who constructed a new, larger build in 1976 and moved the restaurant seven blocks up the road. The inside is light and bright, with wooden tables, crimson saltillo floors and Mexican cosmetic touches, while the exterior features a mexican clay-tiled ceiling, stucco walls and plastic signage. An corrode patio is covered in wood trellis and has a central fountain .
(1976) Lulu’s Cafe 16900 Roscoe Blvd, Van Nuys, CA 91406. syndicate restaurant serving american diner food. queerly shaped building with shingle roof, classic mid-1970s sign and ’ 70s stained glass and cosmetic touches throughout. It has a branch bar area inside called The Hanger, which is besides vintage 1970s .
(1976) Mi Casita 8069 Foothill Blvd, Sunland-Tujunga, CA 91040. Mi Casita opened in 1976 on Foothill Blvd in Sunland-Tujunga. This small Mexican restaurant features burgundy leather caespitose booths, gay painted murals and bolshevik brick walls. Owned by Roe Rodrigez .
(1976) Moreno’s 4328 E Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92869. In October 1969, Javier and Nora Moreno opened a little bakery on Esplanade and Chapman Avenue in the town of Orange and ran it for several years, finally serving mexican food vitamin a good. After outgrowing that first location, in 1976 they moved their fiddling restaurant into a a lot bigger spot- an old Quaker church build and meet theater that had stood far down on Chapman Avenue since 1887. The couple ’ sulfur captive was to create a amatory honest-to-god world Mexican touch restaurant with department of the interior and exterior fountains, brick walls and fireplaces, saltillo-tiled floors and patio dining. After some basic remodel, including adding spanish arches, painting murals, landscaping and tile work, the current Moreno ’ mho was born. Moreno ’ second architecture comprises the Quaker church ’ s original gabled roof and cupola, adenine well as a separate bakery area to purchase their well-known baked goods and tamales to go .
(1976) Olamendi’s 34660 Pacific Coast Hwy., Dana Point, CA 92624. First opened in San Clemente in 1973 by Jorge, an immigrant from Veracruz, Mexico, and his wife Maria Olamendi, from Jalisco, this mexican restaurant moved to a bigger placement in Capistrano Beach, three years later. Jam packed with vibrant art, incredible Dia de los Muertos puppets and ornaments hanging from the brilliantly colored rafters, there is besides a significant come of photos and memorabilia commemorating Orange County ’ s native son and one time nonmigratory Richard Nixon. The leave office president of the united states was a customer here for two decades, until his death in 1994. besides popular with surfers because of its beachfront placement, the outside is painted in technicolor american samoa well. In 2012 the Olamendi ’ s besides marketed their own stigmatize of tequila and have recently opened a market in Laguna Nigel .
(1976) Pacific Diner 3821 S Pacific Ave, San Pedro, CA 90731. Pacific Diner was opened on Pacific Ave in San Pedro, CA in 1976 by Dennis and Paula Juett in a space that had previously held the Pilot Cafe as far bet on as the 1950s. The diner serves American-style breakfasts and lunches, out of a small house with L-shaped buffet and big patio eating area. It is decorated with nautical touches, given its placement a few blocks away from the ocean .
(1976) Palermo 1858 N Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027. Palermo restaurant opened by Anthony Fanara in 1976 and was originally located on Hillhurst Ave in a small 18-seat space. It moved to its current placement on Vermont Avenue in 1982 where it expanded to 48 seats and then finally to 180. The inside features burgundy leather booths, knobby wood booth dividers, deep crimson carpet, Italian themed wall murals, a hallway full of framed headshots and arches built to appear as old Roman construction column. The outside has formative signs, a few outdoor eatings tables and an awning in the colors of the italian pin .
(1976) Porto’s 315 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203.Busy Cuban bakery opened by Rosa and Raul Porto in 1976 out of an Echo Park shopfront on Sunset Boulevard. It is one of the oldest eateries serving Cuban food in the Los Angeles area, after El Colmao ( 1969 ). After 1960, refugees leaving Cuba arrived in Miami in such great numbers that the US government offered a resettlement program to those interest in moving to other states. between 1961 and 1966 over 14,000 expatriate Cubans moved to California. Echo Park became a “ Little Havana ” area for a time and Cuban restaurants and bakeries were established. Porto ’ s Moved to Glendale in 1978 & to this placement in the early ’ 90s .
(1976) Shibucho 3114 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90057.
Traditional, so far costly sushi at one of L.A. ’ second earliest sushi bars, opened several years before the ’ 80s tendency. This restaurant has no menu and serves omakase merely, meaning that you inform the chef how much you will be outgo and the meal is created from that. The sushi barricade itself has about 10 seats and there are a few tables, so reservations are highly recommended .
(1976) Spires Restaurant 21107 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503. Spires is a chain of Southern California restaurants, serving chocolate shop american food, founded in 1965 by greek immigrant John Haretakis. The first base localization, now a Goldenwest Diner, was opened in 1965 on Euclid and Ball Streets in Anaheim. At its glance, there were 30 locations, but today there are alone 8 locations left including Carson ( 1971 ), Long Beach 1 ( 1979 ), Long Beach 2, Torrance 2 ( 1976 ), Tustin ( 1978 ), Ontario ( 1982 ) and Lawndale. All except the Lawndale location have an octangular shaped construction, original plastic signs, wood paneled walls and vintage red tile on the walls behind the counterpunch. These locations have not been remodeled and are very congressman of 1970s restaurant interior decorating with brown or bluish green vinyl upholster booths .
(1976) Spires Restaurant 1750 Sepulveda Blvd, Torrance, CA 90501. Spires is a range of Southern California restaurants, serving chocolate shop american food, founded in 1965 by greek immigrant John Haretakis. The first localization, now a Goldenwest Diner, was opened in 1965 on Euclid and Ball Streets in Anaheim. At its peek, there were 30 locations, but today there are only 8 locations left including Carson ( 1971 ), Long Beach 1 ( 1979 ), Long Beach 2, Torrance 2 ( 1976 ), Tustin ( 1978 ), Ontario ( 1982 ) and Lawndale. All except the Lawndale localization feature an octangular determine build, original credit card signs, wood paneled walls and vintage crimson tile on the walls behind the counter. These locations have not been remodeled and are very representative of 1970s restaurant interior decorating with brown or teal vinyl upholster booths .
(1976) Won Kok 210 Alpine St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Chinatown restaurant with late-night hours serving blur total and classical Chinese-American dishes. Unremodeled 1970s casual dine room with wood paneled walls and drop ceiling .
(1976) Yuca’s  2056 Hillhurst Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027. Yuca ’ second was established in 1976 by owners Socorro and Jaime Herrera who turned an 8×10 foot shoeshine stand into a James Beard award winning taqueria, serving a small menu of greaser, burrito, tortas, hamburgers and hotdogs. With outdoor seating under a wooden canopy, the little restaurant is particularly recognized for their ochinita pibil, a slow-roasted boiled pork recipe of the Yucatan sphere from where the Herrara ’ s emigrated. A second location was opened in Pasadena in 2017 .
(1977) Arturo’s Puffy Taco 15693 Leffingwell Rd, Whittier, CA 90604. Puffy greaser ( screen of a champagne, chewy french-fry thwart between a hard shelled greaser and a soft one ) are apparently a thing originate in both San Antonio, Texas and Whittier, California. The descent goes back to Texas when the brother of Arturo Lopez, opened up Henry ’ s Puffy Taco in San Antonio, based on a recipe of their founder, owner of Ray ’ s Drive-in. Arturo, who had moved to Southern California in the mid- ’ 60s, opened up his own gusty taco restaurant in 1977, first in La Habra and then in Whittier. The Whittier ramify is still going strong in a ’ 70s- style debauched food construct with crimson vinyl and white credit card booths, clay-tiled floors and a take-out anticipate. A patent for the unique puffy taco was filed by Arturo in 1992, and the restaurant is still run by his daughter and grandchild .
(1977) Brogino’s 2423 Artesia Blvd, Redondo Beach, CA 90278. Cozy, old school Italian-American restaurant serving large portions of italian entrees, pasta and pizza. The comfortable interior decoration features wood panel walls covered with photos, tan leather booths and murals on the ceiling & outside wall. It besides has a bar with overhanging ’ 70s stain glass light fixtures .
(1977) Dizz’s As Is 2794 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651. Dizz ’ second As Is was opened by the Pitz family in 1977 on Pacific Coast Hwy in Laguna Beach, CA. Located in a 1920s family filled with a mish chat up of 1920s to 1930s antiques and a amatory outside patio area, it serves a steak & sea food based menu. The diagnose “ Dizz ’ s ” came about because the property had been purchased from a couple who were into the Timothy Leary hallucinogenic scene, conjuring up the theme of dizziness. The condition “ As Is ” was added when the Pitz ’ mho decided to use the eclectic mix-matched dishes and furnishings left behind by the LSD couple to decorate their restaurant .
(1977) El Migueleno Restaurant 2301 Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90007. El Milgueleno was opened on Vermont Ave in November 1977 by Maria Montenegroon, an immigrant from El Salvador. It is one of the earliest salvadoran restaurants to open in L.A., and it likely the oldest surviving one. The Salvadoran residential district finally became established in this vicinity beginning in the 1980s when hundreds of thousands of Salvadoran immigrants fled a violent civil war in their home country. This stretch of Vermont Ave received an official region list in 2012 and is known as the El Salvador Community Corridor. Serving big servings of salvadoran favorites, this short shopfront restaurant is basic, casual and no frills, with a handful of tables in a very basic room. The outside is non-descriptive a well, located in a orthogonal cement build with a farseeing gate awning and plastic orange and yellow letters .
(1977) Fidel’s Pizza 307 N Avenue 50, Los Angeles, CA 90042. bare Highland Park take-out pizza served from a house-like store built in the 1970s. Picnic table, porch front consume .
(1977) Foo-Chow 949 N Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Tucked away on the boundary of Chinatown ’ south Chung King Alley, a pedestrian walk filled with previous and cold keepsake shops and newly created hippie artwork galleries, Foo-Chow restaurant appears very much as it did in the late ’ 70s, with the addition of a few colorful murals. Brightly lit and carpeted, with some chinese cosmetic touches and some modern tables and chairs, the atmosphere is casual and family-friendly. The menu is basic mid-century Chinese-American, with big servings, commodity for left-overs. Besides being one of the oldest exist restaurants in Chinatown, Foo-Chow is recognized as one of the filming locations for the 1988 movie Rush Hour, starring Jackie Chan .
(1977) Hu’s Szechwan 10450 National Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90034. Hu ’ randomness Szechwan is a small, basic and free-and-easy Chinese restaurant, opened in 1977 on National Blvd in the Palms vicinity of Los Angeles. With a elementary dining board consist of mod tables and chairs and a few chinese decorations, it is family owned and run by brothers Derek and Eric Hu. The building was constructed in 1959, with an exterior trimmed in vintage river rock and plastic signs dating to the restaurant ’ s open .
(1977) Mary & Robbs Westwood Cafe 1453 Westwood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024. cafe with sequoia planked walls, booths and a long feed counter, serving dining car do. The original vintage signs have been replaced .
(1977) Moun of Tunis 7445 1/2 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046.
authentic Moroccan prix fixe served among alien interior decoration with belly dancers performing .
(1977) Pat and Lorraine’s 4720 Eagle Rock Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041.
Mid ’ 70s diner serving breakfast & lunch. It is ill-famed for being the localization of the opening scene in Reservoir Dogs in which the characters dissect the Madonna song “ Like a Virgin. ”
(1977) Pomona Valley Mining Company 1777 Gillette Rd, Pomona, CA 91768. Perched high on a mound over the 10 expressway in Pomona, this large theme restaurant was built as a protection to the mine era along with its sister restaurant in Santa Ana, The Orange County Mining Co ( 1974 ). With bird’s-eye views of the Inland Empire, it was intentionally built to be resemble a bumpkinly trail, filled with dark wood, stained methamphetamine, big dipper wheels, stage coach lanterns and antiques to conjure the California aureate rush time period. chiefly focusing on costly special affair dinners and banquets, the menu is grave on steak and seafood, though a Sunday champagne brunch buffet and happy hour level the meet field a bite .
(1977) Rothchild’s 2407 East Coast Hwy, Corona Del Mar, CA 92625. Zagat rated italian fine din in Orange County. Rothchild ’ sulfur was beginning founded in 1977 as a wine & cheese patronize by german immigrant Helmut Reiss, but with an lend kitchen evolved shortly into a all-out restaurant. With an interior full-bodied with wood, white table cloths, oil paintings and an ornately carved wooden banish, the elegant atmosphere matches the prices. family owned by Frank Fassero-Reiss .
(1977) Shinano 1106 S Atlantic Blvd, Monterey Park, CA 91754. One of the oldest japanese restaurants in the San Gabriel Valley. traditional japanese and sushi served in a dining room with booths, oriental cosmetic touches and secret tatami rooms .
(1977) The Spot 110 2nd St, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254. The point opened in 1977, one block from the ocean in Hermosa Beach, CA. Known as the oldest surviving vegetarian restaurant in Los Angeles, it was bought by chefs Tonya and Maurice Beaudet in 1980 and has been owned by them ever since. With a capital vintage appearing exterior, a bright crimson overhang, about appearing circus-like and a neon sign in an art-deco type baptismal font, the interior, with hard woodwind floors and white wash walls, feels like a dining board in person ’ mho private base. An outside patio, with walls of forest and paved with tile, feels agrestic and relax .
(1977) Yang Chow 819 N Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90012. Yang Chow opened in 1977 on Broadway in Los Angeles ’ Chinatown, in a quad once inhabited by a diner. The restaurant serves Mandarin and Szechuan style cuisine, and is known for their slippery runt. It was started by a family of five brothers, the Chan family, who have since opened two other branches of the restaurant in Pasadena and Canoga Park. The inside lacks any vintage touches and features a small, basic dine room with booths and photos on the walls .
(1978) Alex Di Peppe’s 610 live Oak Ave., Arcadia, CA 91006. Opened by italian immigrants Alessandro and Elsa DiPeppe in 1978, the beginning localization of their restaurant was located on Las Tunas Drive in Arcadia, but in 2015 it relocated about a mile off. Serving big portions of Italian-American consolation food, the modern location is in a leach promenade with a big plastic sign. The inner is comfortably family-style with walls trimmed in brick, wooden tables and booths. The restaurant is hush syndicate run by the children and grandchildren of the original owners .
(1978) Bagel Nosh 1629 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403. Opened in 1978 by married New York City to L.A. transplants Pam and Jack Braun, the Bagel Nosh was primitively a franchise of a New York bagel caller which got its its start in 1967. Besides newly baked bagels, the couple added a counter service delicatessen serving traditional jewish breakfast and lunch food and a casual sit-down restaurant, remodeled over the years .
(1978) The Bull Pen 314 Ave I, Redondo Beach, CA 90277. The Bull Pen restaurant opened on Pacific Coast Highway in Redondo Beach in 1948. syndicate owned, it moved a total of 3 times before ultimately settling in its stream outer space in 1978, a strip promenade on Avenue I in Redondo. The exterior is simple brick with 1970s plastic signs and a midst wooden door with motley bottle glass, a trace to the old school magic inside. Serving american steak house fare, flower rib, sea food and burgers, the dark inside is like a step back in time. Black leather semi-circular booths, a retentive wooden prevention with black bucket seats, knobbed wood and stained glass chandeliers are all original. A visit here on a weekday afternoon found the seats at the cake about full of an older clientele day drinking with lunch .
(1978) Chicken Box 330 E Whittier Blvd, La Habra, CA 90631. Chicken Box Restaurant opened in 1978 on Whittier Blvd in La Habra, CA. Located inside a bantam theater, this quaint country-styled chicken restaurant is fronted by a white picket fence and has interior gingham wallpaper. Food is ordered counter style, but there are front man porch tables available for external eating .
(1978) Jitlada 5233 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027. Located in a Hollywood strip plaza, this Thai restaurant may be the 2nd oldest surviving Thai restaurant in Los Angeles. The first base brandish of Thai immigrants began settling in L.A. during the late 1960s and the beginning Thai restaurant in L.A. opened in 1969 on Vermont Avenue. It is nobelium longer remaining. The oldest exist appears to be Chao Krung on Fairfax, which opened in 1976. Small, cozy, two rooms with with drop ceilings and Thai decorations, it serves authentic Southern Thai cuisine. It is well respected by food connoisseurs and has very extensive choices. The movement part of the menu is traditional Thai food, long-familiar by Americans, but the back depart of the menu offers rare and authentic items. There is even a menu segment called “ Adventurous and Bizarre Foods ” featuring Silk Worms, whole eels, whole squid and much more .
(1978) La Parrilla 2126 East Cesar E Chavez Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90033.
Opened in 1978 by Maria del Carmen Salas, an immigrant from Sinoloa, Mexico, this small Boyle Heights Mexican restaurant is filled to the brim with extraordinary gay interior decoration, brilliantly colored murals and singing mariachi. The original former ’ 70s details are apparent under the clutter, touches of knobby wood, a few original bourgogne vinyl booths, aboard those add late, and brick work. The name La Parrilla is a style of Mexican barbecue-grilled meat and the restaurant is known for their parrillada plates, homemade tortillas and table slope preparation of guacamole A second location of La Parrilla was opened in 1996 on Wilshire Blvd, in the Westlake vicinity, near downtown L.A. and is on this list ampere well .
(1978) Los Tres Conchinitos 3111 N Main St, Los Angeles, CA 90031. Opened in 1978, Los Tres Conchintos ( The Three Piggies ) is bare bones and basic, a short freestanding Mexican restaurant in the Lincoln Heights region that ’ s open for breakfast and lunch and accepts cash alone. This unadorned “ trap in the wall ” serves authentic menudo, birria, tamales along with early mexican favorites. There ’ second besides two other local Los Tres Conchinitos in Wilmington ( 1973 ) and Commerce ( 1980 ) but they appear to be unconnected .
(1978) Nanbankan 11330 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025. traditional japanese cuisine served in a small, remodel board with a yakitori bar. Located in the West L.A./Sawtelle area much referred to as Little Osaka, but formally dedicated as Japantown in 2015, the region has a long history of japanese settlement, particularly from the early 1900s to the 1950s when race-based restrictions prevented non-caucasians from buying homes in early areas of Los Angeles. Nanbankan is one of the oldest surviving japanese restaurants in the Japantown neighborhood, including Aki ( 1974 ) and Hide Sushi ( 1979 ) .
(1978) Nick’s Pizza D’Oro 1145 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626. First opened in La Palma in 1968 by Nicola “ Nick ” DiPietro, an immigrant from Abruzzi, Italy, this fooling pizzeria was relocated to Costa Mesa in 1978. It still has a 1970s old school feel with brick walls and clay-tiled floors, crimson vinyl booths, loss and white check tablecloths and italian style interior decoration. Specializing in cordate pizza and enormous servings of pasta, this branch has been run by Nick ’ s son Phillip DiPietro since 2006. A Fountain Valley branch opened in 1983 and closed in 2019. A Huntington Beach branch opened in 1989 and is still in business .
(1978) Old World German Restaurant 7561 Center Ave, Huntington Beach, 92647. A bathetic restaurant resembling an old european greenwich village serving German & Austrian food. Taking up closely a city block, the stores that make up the village all have german facades. The restaurant has multiple indoor and outdoor areas, including a bar, all decorated with the “ previous world ” root. There is a huge feast area where they host Oktoberfest & other parties and a sprawling court area where they host weiner pawl races one Sunday a month .
(1978) Raul’s Mexican Food  13908 S Inglewood Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250. Raul ’ s Mexican restaurant opened in 1978 by Raul Ornelas, besides owner of Raul ’ s Casa Sombrero, a alike Mexican spot on Hawthorne Boulevard. With deep burgundy tufted vinyl booths trimmed with gold buttons, forest laminate tables, polished brick floors, knobby wood board dividers, wall murals and vintage unhorse, the interior has had minimal remodeling since the restaurant opened. An original credit card augury with vintage font hangs out front. Raul sold the clientele to Gelberto Bermal in 2018 .
(1978) Spires Restaurant 13451 Newport Ave, Tustin, CA 92780. Spires is a chain of Southern California restaurants, serving coffee shop american food, founded in 1965 by greek immigrant John Haretakis. The first location, now a Goldenwest Diner, was opened in 1965 on Euclid and Ball Streets in Anaheim. At its glance, there were 30 locations, but today there are alone 8 locations left including Carson ( 1971 ), Long Beach ( 1979 ), Long Beach 2, Torrance ( 1976 ), Torrance 2 ( 1976 ), Ontario ( 1982 ) and Lawndale. All except the Lawndale localization feature an octangular shape build, original plastic signs, wood paneled walls and vintage red tile on the walls behind the counter. These locations have not been remodeled and are very representative of 1970s restaurant interior decorating with embrown or bluish green vinyl upholster booths .
(1978) Upland German Deli 983 W Foothill Blvd, Upland, CA 91786. First opened on Upland ’ s Mountain Avenue in 1977 by Johann and Katharine Schneider, the restaurant moved a year late to its present placement on Foothill Blvd. now on its fourth determine of owners, Kristine and Edward Konefat, who immigrated to the US in the early 1960s, the little shopfront restaurant, market and delicatessen is thankfully placid a lot like it was when it first opened. With linoleum floors, a fake brick wall hang with bathetic tchotchkes, a spend ceiling and a few check plastic-clothed tables, the undress plaza location and the large portions of heavy german delicacies feels like a footprint back in prison term. Serving a traditional german menu including fume pork, wienerschnitzel, many sausages and wursts, rouladen, cabbage rolls, spaetzle and sauerkraut, they besides prepare european desserts such as cookies, tarts, strudel, sachertorte, stollen, and black forest cake. many german bottled beers are available for purchase a well .
(1979) Avolio’s Italian Restaurant 15975 E San Bernardino Rd, Covina, CA 91722. Established in 1979 by Pietro Avolio, an immigrant from Pacentro, Italy, the restaurant has been run by his daughter Darlene since 2007. Serving classic Italians pasta, pizza and entrees the restaurant outside and interior interior decoration had been updated recently .
(1979) Big Jim’s 8950 Laurel Canyon Blvd, Sun Valley, CA 91352. humble, ranch-style build up, which holds a bathetic Western-themed american restaurant with wagon wheel light fixtures, a gold horseshoe embedded on the floor entrance, wood paneled ceilings, embossed glass and a copper wagon trail over the salad bar. The neon knight on the exterior signal gallops, when alight .
(1979) Country Deli Restaurant 9901 Topanga Canyon Blvd, Chatsworth, CA 91311. Bright & basic, no frills dining car serving childlike comfort food favorites .
(1979) Daglas Drive-in 20036 Vanowen St, Canoga Park, CA 91306. Take-out window sandwich & hamburger stand with attached dining car area. Occupies a cool ’ 60s kitsch build with gay, carnival-like cosmetic adornments .
(1979) Fromin’s 1832 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403. This jewish delicatessen was opened in 1979 by Dennis Fromin, who was born in Los Angeles and raised in Chicago and hush owns the restaurant today with a spouse. His kin owned delicatessens for four generations and in the 1960s moved back to California, where his founder opened a restaurant in Encino. Dennis opened his own Century City delicatessen in 1974, closing it to open Fromin ’ s five years later. The outside hush features the delicatessen ’ south name in the master white plastic 1970s baptismal font, while the at heart has had basic recast over the years. Though three other branches of Fromin ’ mho were opened in the 1980s ( Encino, Rancho Mirage, Simi Valley ), this is the entirely surviving placement .
(1979) Greco’s New York Pizzeria 6814 Hollywood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028. This Hollywood Boulevard hole in a rampart has been serving up large greasy thin-crust slices of pizza since 1979 when it was opened by three brothers. The place is hanker and narrow with a few high tables and stools, the omnipresent celebrity headshots and walls trimmed with tile in the italian flag colors of loss, ashen and green. Another newer ramify is located a few blocks east, on the corner of Hollywood and Cahuenga, but it has far less character .
(1979) Guido’s Restaurant 11980 Santa Monica Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025. italian food with vintage feel ; red leather booths, exposed brick, hand-carved wood, fireplace, and great outside neon signs .
(1979) Hama Sushi 213 Windward Ave, Venice, CA 90291. Located one block from the Venice boardwalk, Hama Sushi was one of the first sushi restaurants to open on the West Side of Los Angeles. Very democratic and with both indoor and outdoor eating areas, it has been owned by Esther Chaing since 2004. The very first gear sushi bar in L.A., long closed, was Kawafuku, opened in 1966, while the oldest survive sushi bar in the city appears to be Ōōmasa ( 1972 ) in little Tokyo .
(1979) Hide Sushi 2040 Sawtelle Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90025. Opened by Takuo Kitano as a 12-stool sushi browning automatic rifle in 1979, Hide Sushi is one of the first sushi bars to open on the Westside, along with Hama Sushi, which opened the like year in Venice. Known for serving no-frills, low-cost, but quality, sushi, the popular cash-only restaurant expanded over the years to include extra mesa seating. Hide is brilliantly unhorse and relatively modern with a dreamlike light box overhead featuring a blue sky with pink cherry flower branches. Located in the West L.A./Sawtelle area frequently referred to as Little Osaka, but formally dedicated as Japantown in 2015, the vicinity has a long history of japanese colonization, particularly from the early 1900s to the 1950s when race-based restrictions prevented non-caucasians from buying homes in other areas of Los Angeles. Hide Sushi is one of the oldest surviving japanese restaurants in the Japantown vicinity, including Aki ( 1974 ) and Nanbankan ( 1978 ) .
(1979) Heart’s Coffee Shop 16918 Saticoy St, Van Nuys, CA 91406. classical kin owned ’ 70s-style diner with fair prices, a long wood laminate counter, burgundy and orange bucket stools and a frightful cordate neon sign out front .
(1979) Lomeli’s Italian Restaurant 2223 W Redondo Beach Blvd, Gardena, CA 90247. This small, family-owned strip plaza restaurant, located on Redondo Beach Blvd in Gardena, between westerly and Crenshaw, was opened in early on 1979 by 24-year-old Carlo Lomeli, who had taken over boastfully Joe ’ s Italian Restaurant a few months early, in December 1978. Cozy and comfortable, with rust-colored leather booths, wood laminate tables, trellis ceilings, framed paintings and an unostentatious ’ 70s vibration, the restaurant serves up large gooey plates of pizza and pasta and traditional italian american english favorites .
(1979) Pioneer Chicken 6323 E Florence Ave, Bell Gardens, CA 90201. One of the survive two remaining franchises of the once highly popular Los Angeles created fried chicken chain that began in Echo Park in 1961. At its vertex in 1987 there were 270 restaurants. The remaining two locations both have original signs and architecture .
(1979) Thành Mỹ Vietnamese 9553 Bolsa Ave, Westminster, CA 92683. The history of vietnamese restaurants in Southern California is preferably holocene. The first wave of vietnamese immigrants arrived hera after Saigon fell in 1975. They were often called “ boat people ” because many of them escaped in homemade wooden boats. In 1975 about 20,000 vietnamese were accepted into California as refugees and were living at Camp Pendleton in eight different camps. Another wave of refugees arrived in 1978-1979. many settled permanently in Orange County, where they started businesses, including restaurants. Thành Mỹ is the oldest surviving vietnamese restaurant in the Los Angeles sphere that I have been able to locate sol far. Opened by the Nguyen family in 1979 in Westminster, an area then surrounded by orange groves and strawberry fields, the area would finally be called Little Saigon. The restaurant ’ s identify was created by combining the first names of the owner and his wife. Located in the corner of a clean promenade, Thành Mỹ is basic and modern looking inside, with a drop ceiling and asian cosmetic touches, it serves southern vietnamese cuisine with over 200 dishes on its menu .
(1979) Tony’s Italian Deli 1124 W Magnolia Blvd, Burbank, CA 91506. belittled, corner delicatessen serving sandwiches and italian dishes in a little room with a few tables. The original 1970s gestural hush hangs above the roof .
(1979) Wendy’s Place 107 W Grand Ave, El Segundo, CA 90245. This little, no-frills, cash entirely american diner-style cafe is known as a regular blemish for El Segundo locals. A simple neon sign out front proclaims CAFE, above an awning shielding a plate glass window. Opened in 1979 by Wendy Wallace, it has stayed in the family, now owned by Neil Wallace. With wood paneled walls and framed Norman Rockwell clippings, this restaurant features a long breakfast barroom, a few crimson vinyl booths with wood laminate tables, gingham curtains and an unretouched simplicity. Open early for hearty breakfasts, but closed on Mondays, there is a basic lunch menu served until 1pm on weekends and 2pm on weekdays .
(1980) Azteca 12911 Main St Main Street, Garden Grove, CA 92840. This mexican restaurant was originally opened by Connie Skipworth in 1957 on Garden Grove Boulevard before she moved it to its current spotlight on the township ’ sulfur Historic Main Street in 1980. It is crush packed with Elvis memorabilia in every available crack, from floor to ceiling, and includes an Elvis-themed bar called The Crooner ’ randomness Lounge. The Elvis collection was added to the restaurant in 1993, when Connie ’ s nephew J.J. Jauregui inherited the occupation from his Aunt. He owned the restaurant, constantly adding to the collection, until 2014 and it has been owned by Jennifer Stewart since .
(1980) Casablanca 220 Lincoln Blvd, Venice, CA 90291.
Casablanca restaurant was opened in 1980 by movie buff Carlos Haro, an immigrant from Guadalajara, Mexico who had worked as a radio DJ and cabaret owner south of the border. Located on Lincoln Boulevard in Venice, the touch serves classical Mexican food with a decorating subject based on the 1942 movie Casablanca. With a life-size fiberglass statue of Humphrey Bogart, movie memorabilia covering the walls, movie-themed murals, cast autograph and props on display, the restaurant claims one of the largest collections based on the film in the universe. The restaurant has been owned by Haro ’ s son, Carlos Jr. since 1982 .
(1980) Continental Basque 316 W Rte 66, Glendora, CA 91740. continental Basque was opened in 1980 by Jean and Elisabeth Sabarots, immigrants from the Basque region of Europe, a cragged area in the western Pyrenees, straddling the margin between France and Spain. This is the second oldest surviving Basque restaurant I ’ ve been able to find in the Los Angeles sphere after Centro Basco, located in Chino ( 1940 ). Most of Southern California ’ s Basque settlers arrived between the 1930s to 1960s to work in the area ’ s numerous dairies, then spread out far and broad from the South Bay to the Inland Empire, but many others assumed the traditional Basque occupation of sheepherding. Though California has the largest Basque population of any US state, the restaurants are not indeed coarse. Bakersfield has the largest concentration of Basque restaurants in the United States. Located on Route 66 in Glendora, Continental Basque has a few rooms, a bright dining room with rust colored booths, wood and Basque-style deck touches, an unadorned feast room, where “ family-style ” Basque meals are common and a lounge that is decidedly vintage in interior decoration, cosy with dimly-lit 1960s- ’ 70s flavor, including a bar made of caespitose rust-colored leather with wood laminate acme, matching u-shaped booths, comfortable tufted captain chairs, a chandelier made from deer antlers and a minor degree for live music .
(1980) The Dragon 966 S Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90006. The Dragon restaurant on Vermont Ave and the corner of Olympic in the Koreatown vicinity of Los Angeles, was opened in 1980. Serving korean influence Northern Chinese comfort food, it is well-respected in the local community as a extra event restaurant, chiefly because it features 15 private banquet rooms in addition to the main boom room. Opened by T.J. Wang, a man of chinese ancestry who immigrated to Los Angeles from Seoul, Korea in 1971, he continues to run the restaurant today. The space is brilliantly lighted and modern, with flowery Oriental cosmetic touches .
(1980) Genovese’s Italian Kitchen  2900 W Main St, Alhambra, CA 91801 . Opened in 1980 in Alhambra, Genovese ’ south italian Kitchen is a small casual neighborhood italian restaurant with both indoor and outdoor seat. It was taken over in May 2019 by conserve and wife chefs Hugo Molina and Aricia Alvarado .
(1980) Giamela’s 3178 Los Feliz Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90039. little, casual neighborhood italian submarine shop class, serving subs, pizza and pasta, a outgrowth of Giamela ’ s subs founded by Angelina Giamela on Riverside Drive in Burbank in 1967. The build was constructed in 1924 .
(1980) King Taco #2 4504 E 3rd St, Los Angeles, CA 90022. This is the second base placement of the worship firm food taco chain now comprising 22 locations throughout Los Angeles and San Bernardino Counties. Built in 1980 in East L.A, this massive 4,000 public square animal foot ramify is considered the chain ’ s flagship store. The outside signage is undimmed and attention getting, ordering is done through a series of outside take-out windows and seat is available at outside picnic tables. open 24 hours from Thursdays to Saturdays, the rest of the week this shop class stays open until 3am. The first location, King Taco # 1, is inactive surviving, opened in the Cypress Park vicinity in 1975 by Raul Martínez .
(1980) Le Chêne 12625 Sierra Hwy, Santa Clarita, CA 91390. Out on the rustic Sierra Highway, halfway between Santa Clarita and Palmdale is a gather away, romanticist special affair french restaurant opened in 1980 by Juan Alonso. Located in an incredible stone building constructed as a gas station in 1923 by William Arch Dodrill, it has a castle-like palpate and appearance. With beautiful, leafy grounds and an outdoor induct deck, the restaurant sits adjacent to Sierra Pelona Ridge vineyard, besides established by owner Juan Alonso. The restaurant is costly, serving an extensive french menu and wine from the restaurant ’ s large metro wine cellars. The interior is elementary and aeriform, with white walls and a draw of blond wood, including a high wooden ceiling .
(1980) Lisa’s Coffee Shop 1530 W San Bernardino Rd, Covina, CA 91722. Lisa ’ s Coffee Shop opened in 1980 in a build that was most likely constructed in the early 1960s, with a Googie-style trilateral roofline, a repurposed vintage gestural and a brick-trimmed exterior. The inside is free-and-easy and comfortable, and filled with ex post facto wall clutter, such as license plates and reproductions of vintage metallic signs. There are master touches of vintage tile at the breakfast counter, which is fronted with mid-century wood laminate, and besides in the affiliated rejoinder stools, but the restaurant ’ s 1950s cable car culture root is the 1980 re-create version, which is, of path, vintage itself immediately. Serving american breakfast and lunch, this coffee shop closes at 2pm daily .
(1980) Vito Restaurant 2807 Ocean Park Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405. This upscale italian restaurant in Santa Monica was opened in 1980 by Vito, Roberto and Giovanna Somma, all immigrants from Naples Italy. Serving classic italian entrees, pasta and antipasti in a dimly light up dining room trimmed with dark wood, whiten tablecloths, oil paintings and waiters in dinner jacket, the standard atmosphere is subdued elegance
(1981) Casa Gamino 4937 W Century Blvd, Inglewood, CA 90304. This is the moment location of Casa Gamino Mexican restaurant, foremost founded in 1970 by Cipriano Gamino in Paramount. This location, in a freestanding build, has had little remodel and hush has a late ’ 70s feel with brick work, a green leatherette upholster bar, Mexican tile and stucco ceilings .
(1981) Dino’s Pizza 3520 Burbank Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505. casual pizzeria with a fortune of topping choices that opened in Burbank in 1981. The build has a decidedly vintage appearance and was built in 1961 with an odd shaped Asian-style thatched roof. Ordering is done at a counter and the dining area has a late ’ 70s appearance with walled-in patio, windows and indoor-outdoor carpet .
(1981) Gladstone’s 17300 Pacific Coast Hwy, Pacific Palisades, CA 90272.
Ocean see sea food restaurant. primitively opened in Santa Monica Canyon in 1972 .
(1981) Golden Deli Vietnamese 815 W Las Tunas Dr, San Gabriel, CA 91776. vietnamese food arrived in California after 1975. Though named a delicatessen, this is actually a casual, unadorned, full-service restaurant serving authoritative vietnamese food and cupcakes .
(1981) Jerry’s Coffee Shop 4817 E Los Angeles Ave, Simi Valley, CA 93063. Named for Jerry Ann Summers, the woman who opened Jerry ’ s Coffee Shop in 1981, this american english diner was bought by Taiwanese immigrant Yen Yang in 1987. With a hand-painted outside sign, a few booths, tables and counter seat, this wood-paneled restaurant can best be described as a greasy spoon, or a hole in the wall, or as a fantastic place of unadorned, unremodeled character. Accepting cash alone, this fiddling slice of Americana keeps hours between 6am to 3pm. Those considering themselves eminent maintenance, best to stay away .
(1981) Joselito’s 2345 Honolulu Ave, Montrose, CA 91020. This Montrose localization evolved out of a mexican restaurant opened by Jose and Myrna Grijalva in Burbank in 1977, named after their son, Jose Jr.. The home is shades of rust and brown booths, with Mexican tiled tables, rampart murals and a cozy outside patio. A second location was opened in Tujunga in 2000 .
(1981) Marino’s 17126 Bellflower Blvd, Bellflower, CA 90706. Opened by Tom Marino in 1981, this family-run corner restaurant in Bellflower features a green awning, plastic sign, a stain field glass movement door and outside brick trim. Serving large helpings of Sicilian- american english food, the inwardly has been recently updated a bit with new upholstery on the booths, but distillery has an previous school feel with forest paneled walls and previous syndicate photos on the walls .
(1981) Pioneer Chicken 904 S Soto St, Los Angeles, CA 90023. One of the final two remaining franchises of the once highly popular Los Angeles-created fried chicken chain that began in Echo Park in 1961. At its peak in 1987 there were 270 restaurants. The remaining two locations both have original signs and architecture .
(1981) Versailles 10319 Venice Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90034. Opened in 1981 by Cuban bear immigrant Orlando Garcia, Versailles finally expanded into a 5 restaurant chain, that is now run by his son William. Though not the oldest surviving Cuban restaurant in the city, that award appears to go to El Colmao ( 1969 ), it may be the most recognized. Specializing in traditional Cuban fare- garlic chicken, empanadas, black beans, plantains, and more, the interior has been remodeled in a modern, casual way and features a long marble measure, chandeliers and eating tables .
(1982) Claro’s 1095 E Main St, Tustin, CA 92780. An Orange County arm of the family-owned italian marketplace and delicatessen chain started in San Gabriel in 1948 by Joe Claro and his wife Mary that now total six stores. The second Claro ’ sulfur opened in Arcadia in 1971, followed by four more stores in La Habra, Covina, Tustin & Upland. Following the other branch ’ s case this localization is a tested & true honest-to-god fashioned italian market with a delicatessen counter serving classic italian dishes, newly made cold cut sandwiches, antipasto and early salads. There is besides a bakery with italian cookies, bread and cannoli and aisles of italian food products. Located in a vintage strip promenade, the floors of the delicatessen match the red linoleum of the San Gabriel shop and besides feature cliff ceilings and vintage glass delicatessen cases. All of the Claro ’ second are class run by Joe Claro ’ s grandchildren and their families .
(1982) Don Antonio’s 11755 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064. Don Antonio ’ s Mexican restaurant was opened in 1982 on Pico Blvd in West L.A., by Antonio and Amalia Hernandez, who had previously owned Gilbert ’ s El Indio ( open 1974 ) located down the same street in Santa Monica. This night and cozy restaurant has red leather booths in one room and another “ cave room ” complete with rampart surfaces and a ceiling that resembles stalactites. The exterior has a vintage feel with Mexican tile, river rock and saltillo ceiling tiles. There is a distinguish bar area and an outdoor patio with tables in the back. The amaze neon sign of a man in sombrero with mustache, that stood out front fell down in a windstorm in 2017 and was unfortunately not replaced .
(1982) Las Fuentes 18415 Vanowen St, Reseda, CA 91335. Opened in 1982 by Alejandro and Norma Morales, this colorfully decorated Mexican restaurant has been expanded three times over the years. arrange is done at a counterpunch and served when the regulate numeral is called. The interior decoration is gay, with mexican murals and bright folkloric art pieces .
(1982) Spires Restaurant 104 N Vineyard Ave, Ontario, CA 91764. Spires is a chain of Southern California restaurants, serving chocolate shop american english food, founded in 1965 by greek immigrant John Haretakis. The beginning placement, now a Goldenwest Diner, was opened in 1965 on Euclid and Ball Streets in Anaheim. At its peek, there were 30 locations, but today there are lone 8 locations left including Carson ( 1971 ), Long Beach ( 1979 ), Long Beach 2, Torrance ( 1976 ), Torrance 2 ( 1976 ), Tustin ( 1978 ) and Lawndale. All except the Lawndale location feature of speech an octangular shaped construction, original plastic signs, wood paneled walls and vintage crimson tile on the walls behind the counter. These locations have not been remodeled and are very congressman of 1970s restaurant inner decorating with brown or teal vinyl upholster booths .
(1983) Geoffrey’s 27400 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265.
Designed by Richard Neutra in 1948 as Holiday House. In 1983 it became Geoffrey ’ mho, costly surf & turf .
(1983) Gloria’s 7823 Pacific Blvd, Huntington Park, CA 90255. Gloria ’ second was opened by Juan Sanjuan in 1983, an immigrant from Mascota, Jalisco, Mexico and is now run by his class. Located in a freestanding construction with stained looking glass windows, clay tiles floors and a boastfully park lot, this family-style Mexican restaurant is known for their parrillada, mariscos and ceviche. Featuring a be mariachi set Thursdays through Sundays, they besides have a nightly happy hour .
(1983) La Capilla 1332 Sartori Ave, Torrance, CA 90501. Opened by the Munoz brothers in 1983, immigrants from the small greenwich village La Capilla, Mexico, this Torrance Mexican restaurant has black vinyl booths, forest laminate tables, ’ 70s fake Tiffany-style lamps hung above each postpone, a wooden bar and mexican murals and interior decoration throughout. The feel is unremodeled late ’ 70s to early ’ 80s .
(1983) Lascari’s 16255 Whittier Blvd, Whittier, CA 90603. Though this Whittier location first opened in January 1983, John and Gail Lascari inaugural began their italian delicatessen commercial enterprise in La Habra in 1970 by opening Mario ’ randomness italian Delicatessen. Serving Sicilian-style italian cuisine and bake goods, Lascari ’ second is divided into a delicatessen take-out area and a sit-down restaurant. The restaurant was last remodeled in 1995, so while not quite original vintage, it still has a dated feel .
(1983) Marix Tex Mex Cafe 1108 N Flores St, West Hollywood, CA 90069. With a California agrestic vibration, Marix Tex Mex Cafe is surrounded by greenery and has the true palpate of Los Angeles in the early ’ 80s, from the baptismal font of its neon sign, to its bent wood-styled chairs to its retractable patio roof. The Texas meets Mexican concept was besides on the rotatory cusp of food acculturation back then, so now this once “ nouveau ” restaurant has ultimately crossed into vintage territory, a concept the L.A. Times labeled as Texican back in April 1985. Opened by Mary Sweeney and Vickie Shemaria, who had been an immigration lawyer in San Antonio, the restaurant today additionally features a reasonable felicitous Hour .
(1984) Covina Tasty 1063 N Citrus Ave, Covina, CA 91722. Covina Tasty claims to be the identical first vegetarian fast food restaurant in America. Built in 1962 as a Tastee Freez franchise, serving soft service ice rink cream & fast food, this localization was bought by its current owner, Taiwanese immigrant, Mark Tsai in 1984. Tsai didn ’ deoxythymidine monophosphate get approval from the Tastee Freez corporation when he removed meat choices from the menu and turned the restaurant vegetarian. After four years, Tastee Freez found out and suspended his franchise name, so he changed the name to Covina Tasty in 1988. Housed in a aplomb reside with a luff Googie-esque roof and baby blue & whiten striped tile outside, food is ordered and served through walk-up plexiglas pick-up windows. Picnic tables out front let for outside eat, but a break enclosed area has a aplomb ’ 60s vibration with orange and egg white vinyl booths and wood paneled walls. The menu consists of vegetarian fast food, including fake meats, and a solid soft freeze menu a well .
(1984) Jay Bee’s Bar-B-Q 15911 S Avalon Blvd, Gardena, CA 90248. Jay Bee ’ s Bar-B-Q is located on Avalon Blvd in Gardena, CA. It was started in 1984 by BBQ restaurateur Jim Neely, known for his Interstate Bar-B-Q in Memphis and is nowadays owned by his sister Beverly Neely. The restaurant is a little reside in an industrial area with a couple of field day tables. Food is served through a plexiglas take-out window. The menu consists of Memphis-style barbecued ribs and chicken, a few types of kernel sandwiches and a few side dishes .
(1984) La Bruschetta 1621 Westwood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90024. This traditional italian restaurant was opened on Westwood Blvd in 1984 by Angelo Peloni, an immigrant from Genoa, Italy. The department of the interior features brick walls, a wall used as wine storehouse and table covered with egg white tablecloths .
(1984) Mijares 145 Palmetto Dr, Pasadena, CA 91105. Though Mijares has a long history in Pasadena, the stream building dates to 1984, thus because of its architecture is far down on this list than some might expect. The restaurant got its early begin in 1920 as a tortilla factory opened by Jesucita Mijares, who immigrated to the United States after fleeing the rotation in Mexico. The little tortilla factory and restaurant moved to its current location in 1940, but was wholly destroyed by arson in 1978. The current build, re-built in the lapp location, was contructed in 1984. The computer architecture and interior decoration is early ’ 80s mexican inspired. Jesucita Mijares passed away in 1988. A second localization has since opened, besides in Pasadena .
(1984) Paoli’s 21020 Ventura Blvd, Woodland Hills, CA 91364. This dark little Woodland Hills italian restaurant with branch bar area opened in 1984 and has an east coast feel. With walls cluttered in photograph of patrons and a alive piano player five nights a week, it is comfortable and homelike. Specializing in pasta and Chicago deep dish pizza, recent owner Pete Efstataiou has besides added some greek selections to the menu .
(1984) Ristorante Genovese 214 N Tustin St, Orange, CA 92867. Ristorante genoese re-opened in 1984 on Tustin Street In Orange, CA, but it has a much longer history. Owned by Al and Margie Genovese, their family opened an earlier restaurant, Genovese Steak House, in Santa Ana, CA in 1947, formally owned by Al ’ s older brothers, Joseph and Michael. In the 1960s the restaurant moved to its present location in Orange, which had been built in the late 1800s as a farmhouse or barn. finally the steakhouse went out of business and the Genovese ’ s leased out the build up to a Thai restaurant. When the Thai space folded, Al and Margie resurrected the family ’ second restaurant in 1984, serving home-style italian food including pasta dishes and pizza. The outside is brick and wood sided with a front patio, but the chief external attraction is a mish mash of signs, statues and lighting that have an eclectic and fun feel. Inside the small restaurant, between tufted red leather booths, a brick fireplace and a little bar are mountains of bizarre interior decoration covering every bit of wall space. It is a collector ’ sulfur paradise, filled with memorabilia and mementos, arranged in a clutter means, with concern. The restaurant, though being re-established in the ’ 80s has much more of a 1950s or 1960s air .
(1984) Simply Wholesome  4508 W Slauson Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90043. Since 1984, Simply Wholesome on Slauson Ave in the Inglewood, CA area has offered veggie and vegan preparations of delectable down-home soul food delicacies, including vegan collard greens, mac ‘ n ’ cheese and jamaican patties, right alongside its traditional kernel options. A combination health food market and restaurant, this popular vicinity spot is located in a cool, space-age Googie build designed in 1958 by the fabled Armet & Davis architectural team, creators of many of L.A. ’ s best-known midcentury chocolate shops. With its sloping roofline, river-rock outside and a chipper steeple pointing toward the heavens, Simply Wholesome will satisfy your history repair while simultaneously satiating your craving for cornbread, candied yams and black-eyed peas .
(1984) Wendill’s Chicken House 10337 San Fernando Rd, Pacoima, CA 91331. This curious hybrid restaurant had been in business at this location under the Wendill ’ s Chicken House name since 1929, but was taken over by a Thai owner in 1984, adding a distinct transfer to the restaurant ’ mho menu. originally opened as an american restaurant by Mr. and Mrs. J. Mesaros, it specialized in Southern fried chicken dinners. A mid-1930s newspaper nip, which hangs on the wall today, pictures the like wooden trail restaurant flanked by neon signs, one in the shape of a chicken with the Wendill ’ s Chicken House list on front. today, Southern fried chicken can still be found at Wendill ’ s, but the rest of the menu is classic Thai food. The interior is sparse, with vintage wood panel and a scattering of tables. Some fantastic patterned 1970s linoleum was recently replaced, taking merely a small bit of charming out of the restaurant ’ second strange lost in fourth dimension feel .
(1985) California Pizza Kitchen 207 S Beverly Dr, Beverly Hills, CA 90212. This is the original location of the chain that immediately has over 250 locations in 32 U.S. states and 10 other countries. Opened by attorneys Larry Flax and Rick Rosenfield they corporatized non-traditional pizza for a mass consultation .
(1985) Saddle Peak Lodge 419 Cold Canyon Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302. Although the build has a 100+ year history, Saddle Peak Lodge itself opened in 1985. with a arrant renovation to give it a countrified atmosphere .
(1988) Eagle Rock Italian Deli 1726 Colorado Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041. First established in 1949 at another localization, the Eagle Rock Deli was bought by Nick Cafarchia in 1961 and then moved to this Colorado Blvd address in 1988. This take-out corner delicatessen is bantam inside, merely a pathway between the glass delicatessen cases, stocked with cheeses, meats, olives, salads and baked goods and a rack of imported italian groceries, but they have been serving up some of the best east Coast Italian-style cookies, cannolis and crusted bread sandwiches around .
(1989) Clearman’s Northwoods Inn 14305 Firestone Blvd, La Mirada, CA 90638.
technically not vintage, it is a great bathetic replica of its San Gabriel & Covina cousins. A Yukon expressive style dinner experience at a rustic-themed hunt hostel where the roof is bedecked with fake snow and its eaves cling with glistening fake icicles. The home of this vintage restaurant chain gets even more matter to. Within its darken cabin-like interior you will find wood beamed ceilings, crimson leather seat, stained glass deoxyadenosine monophosphate far as the eye can see and life-size taxidermy bears. The first base Clearman ’ s North Woods Inn was opened by John Clearman in San Gabriel, near the edge of Pasadena, in 1966, followed by another in Covina in 1967. This third localization was added in La Mirada in 1989, which can be seen from the north-bound 5 expressway. Bowls of peanuts are placed on each table and signs encourage patrons to festively “ Throw Peanut Shells on the Floor ”. The menu is standard surfboard & turf with enormous portions, and this would be a position to come to order a steak a big as your face. A sanely priced happy Hour is held in the cool and arboraceous bar sphere, with discounts on both drinks and certain appetizers. Celebrated for their cheese bread and pilfer salad, these may be the merely menu items, besides a few other appetizers, that your vegetarian friends will be bequeath to eat .
(1989) La Louisanne 5812 Overhill Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90043. Although this Creole restaurant and live jazz cabaret in Inglewood is newer than my 1984 cut-off date, this one falls into one of the exceptions on this list because of its vintage atmosphere, the build up ’ mho history and because it is one of the unique restaurants in this town. Opened in 1989 by Edwin Wheeler, born & raised in New Orleans, La Louisanne ’ s build was constructed in 1952 and occupied by Poor Richard ’ south Restaurant and Toy Shop, a particular occasion restaurant cater to children and their birthday parties ( from age 2 to 92 ), filled with toys, animated chemise bears and a model train running throughout. By the 1980s the build was a restaurant called 20 Grand which featured a reggae cabaret. Since 1989, La Louisanne has served jambalaya, oysters, charge gumbo, spiny lobster etouffee, bolshevik beans & rice and other down south favorites with nightly live wind music. While the outside does not precisely show its vintage bones, the home is pallidly light, and has a mish-mash of ’ 60s remnants mix with a gawdy ’ 80s- ’ 90s recast .
(1991) The Prince 3198 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90005. Although The Prince is not technically vintage, its location is. primitively opened in 1927 as an outside garden cafe, it became the elegantly french Windsor in 1949. Dimly lit, with crimson booths, forest & a horseshoe-shaped prevention it now serves Korean .
(1994) George Petrelli Steak House  5615 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230.
originally opened in 1931 by George Petrelli ’ s Uncle Joe and located across the street. This steakhouse moved to this localization in 1994. The inside is cool vintage with an attached loiter sphere .
(1996) La Parrilla 1300 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90017. mexican restaurant precisely west of business district in the Westlake vicinity which has an authentic traditional vibration with bourgogne leather booths. It is on the “ newer ” side of this vintage restaurant list, having opened in 1996 as the 2nd restaurant of La Parilla Boyle Heights ( 1978 ), but its placement echoes with history. The build up it is located in is a erstwhile home built in 1905 and once owned by Charlie Chaplin. The second part of the build up is Storybook-style with wind thatched roof and is one of the oldest remaining buildings on Wilshire, back when it was called Orange Street. This place is worth a travel to for good food and tasty pitchers of sangaree .
(1997) Russell’s Cafe 30 N Fair Oaks Ave, Pasadena, CA 91103. This submission was originally entered on this list as having opened in 1930, and this is a common misconception. Russell ’ randomness was a chain that began in 1930 and went out of business. This particular restaurant opened in the ’ 90s, using the Russell ’ s name. I am keeping it on the number to communicate the mistake. american food served at bantam cafe decorated with elaborate chandeliers, classical art work & crown molding .
(2000) Cantalini’s Salerno Beach 193 Culver Blvd., Playa del Rey, CA 90293. This Playa del Rey restaurant was first opened in the early 1960s as Giovanni ’ s Salerno Beach by Giovanni Cimino, an immigrant from Salerno Beach, Italy. Though the exact class that he opened it seems to be lost to history, its bequest has continued uninterrupted, with only a flimsy name change in the year 2000, when newfangled owner Lisa Schwab took over the commercial enterprise. The incredible mid-century neon Salerno Beach italian Food sign hush looms senior high school over Culver Blvd and the brick-trimmed, red-shuttered outside is still the same. The department of the interior has remained much the same ampere well, dark, cozy, with wood planked ceiling, block glass windows and rich colors. The menu is traditional italian, pasta, pizza, entrees and desserts .
RECENT CLOSURES (May 2015 to present):
(1918) Golden Spur 1223 East Route 66, Glendora, CA 91740. The Golden Spur is a authoritative mid-century steakhouse on Route 66 that started as a ride-up ground beef stand for patrons on horseback. According to real property records the build was constructed in 1932, but it formally became a steakhouse in 1954. At that time an amazing neon sign of a cowboy kick with spur attached was added out front man. The department of the interior features peaked forest beamed ceilings, a brick floored entrance and moss green leather booths. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY October 13, 2018 after 100 years in business.)
(1921 ) Pacific Dining Car 1310 W 6th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017. upscale 24-hour steakhouse in a recreate and ornately decorated aim car. originally opened on the corner of 7th St and Westlake Ave in 1921 by Fred and Lovey Cook, it moved to 6th St and Witmer in 1923. More rooms and a larger barroom area was added to the existing train car in the 1930s to 1940s. ambiance is elegant with wood beamed ceilings, stained glass, chairs covered in deeply green velvet, leather booths and baggage racks with vintage baggage in the chief room to further carry the prepare root. Prices are not brassy, but the air is besides rich with history. It is still owned by descendants of the original owners. (Closed during Covid-19 pandemic. Much of the interior decor and the iconic cow sign was auctioned off. The owners say the closure may be temporary, so there is still hope for a return.)
(1926) Greenblatt’s Delicatessen 8017 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046.
Opened in 1926 by Herman Greenblatt, this brick-fronted jewish Deli was primitively located a few doors down, where the Laugh Factory now stands. Owned by the Kavin family since 1940, it has kept its vintage integrity with wooden booths and a retentive glass case filled with delicatessen and bakery items. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY August 2021)
(1936) Tom Bergin’s Public House 840 S Fairfax Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90036.
Opened for business in 1936 and has the 2nd oldest liquor license ( dated 1935 ) in all of Los Angeles County. This place was in the first place located at the corner of Wilshire & Fairfax, where LACMA now stands, and was called Tom Bergin ’ s Old Horseshoe Tavern & Thoroughbred Club. It moved to its deliver location, a block away, in 1945. Tom was a former WWl Navy fly and lawyer. He built this plaza to resemble the Irish public house of his Boston youth that he painfully missed and he ran it himself until 1972. Inside feels unpretentious and echoes with history, with wood walls, brick floors, blockheaded, motley bottle-glass windows, and a uncompromising, wooden horseshoe-shaped browning automatic rifle. The din room has a trilateral ailing Tudor ceiling, a big brick fireplace and more tarnish glass. The vibration is comfortably vintage and very lay back, except on St. Patrick ’ s Day, which, as you can imagine, is nuts. The ceiling in the bar is covered with thousands of newspaper shamrocks, inscribed with the names of favorite patrons, a tradition that started in 1957. Tom Bergin ’ sulfur closed for 6 months in mid-2013, but thankfully a newly owner picked up that erstwhile liquor license soon after. On a side note, patrons regularly smell cigarette fume around the bar stool that was once Tom ’ s “ spot. ” An ashtray is kept there for old time ’ randomness sake. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2018)
(1940) Ricci’s Italian Restaurant 16601 Bellflower Blvd., Bellflower, CA 90706. authentic, fooling vicinity Italian-American restaurant with a basic, old school feel and a delicatessen counter in the front room. The final remodel appears to be deep ’ 60s or early ’ 70s with orange leather booths, touches of forest empanel and textured gold glass booth dividers. (Although this restaurant has not closed & is still in operation, it moved to a new location in 2018 and there is no longer anything vintage about this restaurant, except the name. In good conscious I moved it to the bottom of the list.)
(1943) Twohey’s 1224 N Atlantic Blvd, Alhambra, CA 91801. Twohey ’ mho on the corner of Atlantic & Huntington Drive in Alhambra in the first place opened in Pasadena in 1943. This coffee bean shop/hamburger joint moved to Alhambra in the 1950s. Its current construction was built in 1977. The logo “ Little Stink-o, ” with a clothes pin on his nose and tears down his grimace, was created in 1943 when the owner, Jack Twohey, heard a lady exclaim, “ Oh Stinko ” about the ground beef of the ridicule beside her, loaded with onions & pickles. (Closed April 2019, lost their lease at this location. In the process of relocating to South Pasadena and reopening)
(1944) Art’s Chili Dog 1410 W Florence Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90047. Art ’ s Chili Dogs is a small, but noteworthy hot pawl hovel that has been located in South Central L.A. on Florence Avenue, near Normandie, since 1944. Opened primitively respective blocks to the West in 1939 by New York-born Art Elkind, the bantam stand serves up hanker idolize chili hot dogs and chili tamales, with identical few other menu options. A handful of inside stools with an corrode counter, a return out windowpane and a fictile menu circuit board are all that occupy the little quad, along with some black & white framed historic photos on the rampart. An outdoor eat area with a few field day tables is set up in the back adjacent to the little parking sphere. Art died in 1990, after being a south cardinal fastness for over 50 years. He did not live to see the beginning of the L.A. Riots, which started on the corner near his restaurant in 1992. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2020)
(1946) Billingsley’s 11326 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064. steakhouse opened in 1946 by Glenn Billingsley, a prolific Los Angeles restaurateur who was married to Leave it to Beaver Mom, Barbara Billingsley, from 1941-1947. It was in the first place called Billingsley ’ s Golden Bull and is said to be one of six early Golden Bull restaurants owned by Billingsley along with three Outrigger polynesian locations. In 1974 Glenn and Barbara ’ south sons, Glenn Jr and Drew, bought the restaurant from their founder. Dark woodwind & crimson leather booths. A 2016 recast took away their classical plastic vintage polarity. (Closed during Covid-19 pandemic. The website lists the closure as temporary, so there is still hope for a return.)
(1946) Casa Escobar 2809 Agoura Rd, Westlake Village, CA 91361. Vintage mexican restaurant with a wholly remodeled modern-style home. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY September 2016)
(1948) Dominick’s 8715 Beverly Blvd, West Hollywood, CA 90048. upscale italian opened as a private clubhouse and Rat Pack hang ; has had several owners through the years. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 2015)
(1948) Billy’s Delicatessen 216 N Orange St, Glendale, CA 91203. Old school appeal. An outside hand-sculpted ceramic wall of salami, cheese & other delicatessen items is a draw. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY June 2015)
(1948) Ho Sai Kai 3723 S Western Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90018. Cantonese-style chinese food served in a very basic, largely unadorned, dining room in south central L.A. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2017)
(1948) Du-pars 12036 Ventura Blvd, Studio City, CA 91604. irregular arm of the Farmer ’ s Market diner ; homelike with leather & wood booths, chandeliers, flowery rug. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 1, 2018)
(1949) El Sarape 4023 Market Street, Riverside, CA 92501. El Sarape is a fooling Mexican restaurant opened in 1949 by Robert Palma on Market Street in Riverside. In a broken whitewashed brick construct, the outside is authentic, and includes the restaurant ’ s original neons sign, including a cactus and taurus, vitamin a well as a hermit lantern by the door. With crested loss leather booths and dark forest laminate tables, the paintings adorning the walls were created by the first owner a well, who was besides an artist. A 1972 fire destroyed several of Palma ’ s original murals, but he recreated the restaurant and owned it for decades after that. It is presently owner by Helen Garcia. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY May 2019)
(1951) El Patio Cafe 34226 Doheny Park Rd, Capistrano Beach, CA 92624. brilliantly colored, quaintly decorated cafe serving authoritative Mexican food that was opened by Lucy Saunderson in 1951. Lucy got her begin at a greek restaurant, where she convinced the owner to let her take over for a few days a week. She finally took over the clientele with a supporter as Alice & Lucy ’ sulfur restaurant and then it became fair Lucy ’ s. When the localization was demolished to build a expressway, Lucy moved the business and started El Patio Cafe in 1951. Located in a modest bungalow with a big vintage sign, the interior has pink walls and a retentive pink eating antagonistic. presently owned by Lucy ’ s son, Jack, who took over the business in 1989. (Closed during Covid-19 pandemic, 2020)
(1951) Crab Cooker 2200 Newport Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663.
The Crab Cooker opened in 1951 on the Balboa peninsula of Newport Beach. primitively located on 28th Street, it moved to its current placement on Newport Blvd, a early deposit build, in 1961. Serving seafood in a free-and-easy environment, it is a popular restaurant, decorated with antiques and nautical knick knacks, including a life-size fiberglass shark hanging from the ceiling. (The original Newport Beach Crab Cooker CLOSED in 2018. A second location in Tustin, opened 1990, remains.)
(1952) Ming’s Chinese Food 17812 Bellflower Blvd, Bellflower, CA 90706. Beautiful, original mid-century chinese restaurant. The exterior of the build has asian motifs, original signs, metallic screens, a river rock wall in the entrance, and a red Chinese-style doorway. The outside wall is covered in gorgeous tiles of orange, red, and a calibrate red/black color. Inside is like stepping binding in time, with bright orange-red leather booths, dark wood laminate tables, wood ceilings and floors, along with asian cosmetic touches. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2018)
(1953) Ye Loy Chinese Food 9406 Las Tunas Dr, Temple City, CA 91780. Old school Americanized Chinese served at a modest restaurant with crimson leather booths, wood and traditional Chinese cosmetic touches. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 30, 2017)
(1955) La Palma Chicken Pie Shop 928 N Euclid St, Anaheim, CA 92801. A great neon signboard, vintage booths, light fixtures, wood paneling ; serving toilet pies & quilt food. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2015 after its owner passed away)
(1956) The Arsenal  12012 W Pico Blvd, L.A., CA 90064. american bar food. The Arsenal has had many incarnations, but has been known as The Arsenal since 1956. Originally it had been a spanish barroom called “ El Arsenal ” which was destroyed by a flood in 1916. In 1929 it was rebuilt as a speakeasy, featuring parody dancers, called “ Le Hot Arsenal ”. then in 1949, as L ’ Arsenal, a french restaurant, it was destroyed again, this time by fire. It has had a few remodels over the years, but placid has the master 1956 dine room. (Closed during Covid-19 pandemic, Sept 2020. Property is listed for sale. Hopefully this restaurant will see another incarnation)
(1956) Johnny’s Pastrami 4331 W Adams Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90018. 24-hour walk-up apartment pastrami stand with original signs. Seating at a counter on the side. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 2015)
(1956) Mazzarino’s 12924 Riverside Dr, Sherman Oaks, CA 91423. casual 1940s italian pizzeria, at this localization since 1956. Cool original signs ; interior remodeled & redecorated. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2016)
(1957) My Brother’s Bar-B-Q 21150 Ventura Blvd, Woodland Hills, CA 91364. Cozy country-inspired interior and a cool vintage sign featuring a large overawe statue on top. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY February 2016)
(1958) Corky’s Restaurant 5043 Van Nuys Blvd, Sherman Oaks, CA 91403. Corky ’ mho restaurant on Van Nuys Blvd in Sherman Oaks, CA was built in 1958 and was originally called Stanley Burke ’ s Coffee Shop. Designed by Googie architects Armet & Davis, the outside of this american diner has river rock ‘n’ roll walls and a classical brush roofline. Though it has continually operated as a restaurant, the commercial enterprise has gone through respective names changes over the decades, becoming Corky ’ second in the early 1960s to the mid- ’ 80s and then the Lamplighter from about 1985 to 2010, changing back yet again to Corky ’ mho. The inside had gone through several renovations deoxyadenosine monophosphate well, the beginning in the 1970s and then recently, bringing back the early ’ 60s ex post facto style. Inside is a classic dining car with wood laminate counter, mint green booths, brick floors, hanging globe lamps and the accession of geometric mod, motley booth dividers. A discriminate cocktail lounge sphere, called The Cork, has an original laid rear feel as good and had the add history of a unseasoned Billy Joel who used to play piano here in the ’ 70s. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 14, 2019. Lost their lease.)
(1958) Nino’s 3853 Atlantic Ave, Long Beach, CA 90807. sad news program : Nino ’ south italian Restaurant opened in Long Beach in 1958 and is set to close on August 12, 2016. Their original owners, Vincenzo “ Nino ” Cristiano passed away in 2014 and his wife, Inge, and his adult children, are retiring. They emigrated from Italy in 1957 and opened this restaurant the future year. Inside is previous school with determine tablecloths, a huge river rock fireplace, batch green leather booths and a trellis ceiling. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY August 2016)
(1959) Pizza Buona 2100 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026. minor shopfront restaurant in Echo Park serving pizza and italian dishes. (CLOSED in the vintage space December 2015 and relocated at another location nearby)
(1959) Garfano’s Pizza 5468 Valley Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90032. kin run pizzeria near Cal State LA college. original signs. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY October 2015)
(1960) La Villa Basque 2801 Leonis Blvd, Vernon, CA 90058. A mid-century Basque restaurant that was unfortunately gutted in 2011 and given a poor modern remodel. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2016)
(1960) El Indio Tortilla Factory 2523 Artesia, Redondo Beach, CA 90278. casual family-owned Mexican food, with rejoinder service and a no-frills dining sphere. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2016)
(1961) Gardunos 2206 W Whittier Blvd, Montebello, CA 90640. classic ’ 60s fast food architecture, with an amaze, brilliantly colored vintage sign and a dine area with brown vinyl booths.. Serving American & Mexican food. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY June 2018)
(1961) Mama Petrillo’s Restaurant 9082 Las Tunas Dr, Temple City, CA 91780.
family owned italian ; vintage woodwind paneled walls, bolshevik leather booths, trellises over the booth areas, a box trellis ceiling and original sign. Opened by the Petrillo family in 1961 who had relocated from Rochester, NY the year ahead. This is not to be confused with Petrillo ’ s in San Gabriel. A branch opened in La Verne, CA in 2010. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY on December 31, 2019 due to owner retirement)
(1961) Ports ‘O Call Restaurant 1200 Nagoya Way, San Pedro, CA 90731. Opened as a waterfront malayo-polynesian restaurant and primitively surrounded by a man-made moat, the menu changed to steak and seafood in 1985 and has been remodeled. (CLOSED  PERMANENTLY July 17, 2018. The restaurant was evicted and locked out by county sheriffs so construction can begin on a new, touristy & modern waterfront attraction, The San Pedro Public Market).
(1962) Viva Cantina 900 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91506. Viva Cantina Mexican restaurant opened in 1962 in the equestrian separate of Burbank, CA on Riverside Drive. Consisting of two separate rooms with two bars, two stages and two patio areas, there are much multiple acts of live music going on at the same clock time. The restaurant interior decoration itself is decidedly 1960s with dark woodwind paneled walls, slatted wooden ceiling, dark burgundy colored leather booths and mid-century lanterns. The restaurant ’ s setting following doorway to Griffith Park and the Equestrian Center, gives it a rural palpate and there is even an area to tie horses when their riders are in the restaurant feed. (Closed during Covid-19 pandemic, 2020. This restaurant has bounced back many times from closure, so anything is possible)
(1963) The Capri 4604 Eagle Rock Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041. belittled, casual Italian restaurant owned by the lapp syndicate until 1997. Remodeled a few years ago. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY September 2019)
(1964) El Arco Iris 5684 York Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90042. loose feeling Highland Park Mexican restaurant with remodel inner and previous school vintage bless. family owned for 4 generations. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY A 2017 due to owner retirement)
(1964) Pipers 222 N Western Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90004. long standing diner with cool architectural lines ; its inside was compromised in a remodel. One vintage gestural is left facing Beverly Blvd. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY October 2018)
(1965) Capitol Burger 4301 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90019. walk-up burger roast with great sign. No frills, back to basic. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 2019)
(1965) Le Petit Chateau 4615 Lankershim Blvd, North Hollywood, CA 91602. french restaurant that looks like a miniskirt castle, with partial derivative river rock outside. The inner is black, with wood beams and a peaked thatch ceiling, olive green leather booths and wood detail. The room is filled with french country knick knacks and the walls are vintage Tudor-style. This is subdued 1960s meets old populace elegance. It is the arrant place for a quixotic meal or a sequester lunch. A distinguish cake area is darkness and erstwhile school angstrom well. The food is fancy french, with relatively high prices. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 31, 2019)
(1965) Quickie Dog/Taco Quickie 7716 Eastern Ave, Bell Gardens, CA 90201. Mid- ’ 60s drive-through/walk-up hot dog & taco stand that started in adjacent buildings & merged into one build built in 1967. Cool original signs & vintage umbrella tables. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY October 2017)
(1965) Tony Bella Vista Restaurant 3116 W Magnolia Blvd, Burbank, CA 91505. Tony ’ s Bella Vista opened on Magnolia Blvd in Burbank in 1965. The cuisine is authoritative Italian-American with huge pizza and pasta dishes. Inside is straight up 1960s East Coast italian interior decoration with crimson leather booths, knobbed wood booth dividers, built in stain glass, credit card grape leaves, a rock fireplace, gold-veined mirror, wood beamed ceiling and low ignite. The vibration is comfortable and relaxing. The plastic augury out front and the stucco outside, with mid-century lanterns, is all master. Since 1987 the restaurant has been owned by brothers Angelo and Giovanni Ferialdi, who purchased it from its original owner. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY June 30, 2019)
(1966) The Admiral Risty  31250 Palos Verdes Dr W, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275. once a aplomb sea food house, just undergo an inauspicious recast. ocean views. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY August 2019)
(1966) El Chavo 4441 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027. authoritative Mexican. Dark and romantic ; it is supposed to be Dolly Parton ’ s front-runner L.A. restaurant. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY November 2015)
(1967) Casa Escobar 2500 Wilshire Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90403. With its perplex mid-century gestural looming over Wilshire Blvd in Santa Monica, Casa Escobar is one of the region ’ randomness few remains of what the westside once looked like. This restaurant was part of a chain of several Casa Escobar restaurants throughout the Los Angeles area, including Eagle Rock Plaza, Marina Del Rey, Malibu and Puente Hills, in the first place started by Juan and Rosa Escobar in 1946. This location and the Malibu arm are the only ones left, run by two separate descendants of the Escobar family. The menu is an american take on classic Sonoran Mexican food. Besides its cover girl vintage exterior, the restaurant has thankfully hung on to its original department of the interior adenine well. The lighting is kept on the dark side, scantily illuminating deep loss leather semi-circular booths, brick walls, a long wood laminate stripe trimmed with pad black leather, late ’ 60s hangings lamps and original room dividers made from knobby wood with textured colored person glaze. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2021)
(1967) Lee’s Market 1908 E 110th St, Los Angeles, CA 90059. little market in Watts with take-out window serving fried wimp, burgers, Mexican. (YELP reported this location CLOSED PERMANENTLY in 2018)
(1968) Pico Kosher Deli 8826 W Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035. Deli serving jewish kosher. Proclaims itself to be the very first kosher delicatessen in Los Angeles. Great, wear vintage sign out front adds character. k leather booths and tables. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY June 2021)
(1968) Sabroso 19714 Vanowen St, Winnetka, CA 91306. This Valley Mexican restaurant got its start in 1968, in a freestanding build with an odd church-like top out. With counter order, its not even close to fancy, but its solid. Serving beer and wine, not always common for a counter joint, the interior is everyday except for some paint murals and an outdoor patio that institute in a little life. The owner is listed as Jorge Schneider, but there ’ s no confirmation whether he ’ s the founder ampere well. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2020)
(1969) Francelli’s 3404 E 4th St, Long Beach, CA 90804. small and basic red checkered tablecloth target serving basic Italian-American food. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY September 2019)
(1969) Jim Dandy Fried Chicken 11328 Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90044. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY early 2019)
(1969) Jim Dandy Fried Chicken 1824 W Manchester Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90047. last two survivors of the ’ 60s- ’ 70s national Southern-fried wimp chain. Cool signs. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY early 2019)
(1971) Benihana  38 N La Cienega Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA 90211. japanese hibachi chain in an early ’ 70s Pagoda-style build in which a chef theatrically prepares food tableside. This was one of the first 6 restaurants in a chain of now over 100. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 2015)
(1971) Chu’s Kitchen 111 W 9th St, Los Angeles, CA 90015. chinese restaurant with recently remodeled modern inner. silent has master 1970s sign out front man. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY early 2017 due to owner retirement)
(1971) Gardens of Taxco 1113 N Harper Ave, West Hollywood, CA 90046.
classic Mexican food. Traditional prix fixe menu recited by a waiter was the mainstay for years, but a menu was recently added. Dark interior with red leather booths, vintage atmosphere, and 1970s stained field glass. (This restaurant closed in late 2017, however food is available through delivery/take-out)
(1971) Golden Star Chinese 150 W Whittier Blvd, La Habra, CA 90631. Old school ’ 70s forest paneled inside with conventionalized Chinese themed exterior. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY October 2018 due to owner retirement)
(1971) Van Nuys German Deli 16155 Roscoe Blvd, North Hills, CA 91343. authentic german market and delicatessen serving wurst kernel sandwiches, strudel, potato salad and more. Owned by its second owner of german nationality. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 31, 2019)
(1972) Alexis Greek & Portuguese Restaurant 9034 Tampa Ave, Northridge, CA 91324. mediterranean food in a basic dining room with murals of the Aegean Sea. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY July 2016)
(1972) Ciro’s 705 N Evergreen Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90033. early 1970s rec-room vibration with wood paneled walls and tables, burgundy vinyl booths and a hand-painted sign out presence. Serving authentic Mexican food. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY July 2017)
(1972) La Frite 15013 Ventura Blvd, Sherman Oaks, CA 91403. small, family owned french bistro with amazing original vintage signboard, black leather booths, minor round tables, dim lighting & a wooden bar. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY September 2017)
(1972) The Oyster House 12446 Moorpark St, Studio City, CA 91604. The Oyster House restaurant opened in 1972 on Moorpark Ave in Studio City. Specializing in oysters on the half shell, oyster shooters, fish & chips and other seafood, the environment is casual, more like a dive bar. The front outside wall is trimmed with vintage river rock, it boasts an original plastic sign, and the battlefront door is painted with a ship ’ s port. The department of the interior is straight out of the early ’ 70s with wood paneled walls, drop ceilings, a long bar with total darkness leather bucket seats and eminent tables for eating. The venue besides features know music. (CLOSED as a restaurant PERMANENTLY July 2018 and remains open as a bar)
(1972) Wah’s Golden Hen 709 N Virgil Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90029. Cantonese-style taiwanese food served in a small shopfront, remodeled restaurant. The original 1970s sign remains. Great, cheap taiwanese food with big portions. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 2021 during Covid-19 pandemic)
(1972) Valentino 3115 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405. expensive, award winning, fine dining italian in a contemporary room. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 2019)
(1973) Buono’s Pizza 1432 S Gaffey St, San Pedro, CA 90731. Opened by italian immigrant Nicolaniello Buono, who transitioned his parents italian delicatessen into a pizzeria, it was obviously one of entirely two places in San Pedro that served pizza in 1973. still run by Nicolaniello ’ s widow and children today, the environment of the restaurant is sparse and utilitarian, with a few tables, chairs and a take-out counter. (This location CLOSED PERMANENTLY in 2018 after the restaurant moved to a new location)
(1973) Belly Buster Sandwich Shoppe 1142 W Valley Blvd, Alhambra, CA 91803. Opened on Valley Blvd in Alhambra in 1973 and is a much beloved neighborhood staple. The new owner painted “ since 1967 ” on the wall but my records show 1973. Serving hot & cold submarine sandwiches from a take-out window of a little trail that was in the first place built in 1932, there are picnic tables for eating under a shroud patio. The original owners, Corky & Don, immediately own the original The Hat pastrami shop ( est 1951 ) located polish Valley Blvd at the corner of Garfield. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY July 2018)
(1974) French Quarter Restaurant 7985 Santa Monica, W Hollywood, CA 90046.
Quaint and over the top bathetic cafeteria-style cafe, mean to feel like New Orleans. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY July 2015)
(1974) Label’s Table 9226 Pico Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90035. This bare bones Jewish delicatessen was opened in 1974 in the Pico-Robertson region of Los Angeles by La Kaplan and Leo Haas with the concept of offering good delicatessen food at less expensive prices in a no frills shopfront. It has been owned by Bruce Krakoff since 1981, who can be normally be found working the counter. Though basic, it has a actual feel because it hasn ’ t likely been remodeled since it opened for commercial enterprise. In a brilliantly literature room with flatten ceilings and ceiling fans, ’ 70s debauched food manner molded laminate booths in a fake wood finish stand in front of vintage glass delicatessen cases installed in the like earned run average. order of jewish delicatessen kernel sandwiches, bagels and liquid oxygen, white pisces, chopped liver, creamed herring, matzoh ball soup and the like are from the buffet and either taken out or brought to the booths to eat. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 2021 during Covid-19 pandemic)
(1975) L’Affaire Café 11024 Sepulveda Blvd, Mission Hills, CA 91345. quixotic french restaurant with dark leather booths, wooden walls & ceiling and exposed brick. Brick exterior with original ’ 70s sign. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 2015 due to owner retirement)
(1975) Clancy’s Crab Boiler 219 N Central Ave, Glendale, CA 91203. Family-owned seafood restaurant decorated in 1890s style via 1975, complete with sawdust on the floor. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2015)
(1975) Original Pizza Cookery 6209 Topanga Canyon, Woodland Hills, CA 91367. The Original Pizza Cookery opened on Topanga Canyon Blvd in Woodland Hills in 1975. Though it many not look like much from outside, with a standard sign, located in the back of a denude plaza, this place actually is a hide gem… Inside is pure old-school 1970s italian American, with a darken home, lots of woodwind empanel, uncompromising booths with wood dividers, sawdust on the floors, stained glass faux-Tiffany hang lamps, tons of ’ 70s countrified brick and more, this place has a vibration that is authentic and hard to reproduce. A course of vintage cigarette machines and a waiting room with video games that were installed in the early ’ 80s total to the atmosphere. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY May 2019 because of rising rents)
(1976) Conrad’s 861 E Walnut St, Pasadena, CA 91101. Conrad ’ sulfur opened in 1976 on Walnut Street in Pasadena. It is a classical, unremodeled mid-70s diner and a complete atavistic to the decorating outline of the year it was built. The outside logo is in a bright orange mid- ’ 70s baptismal font, while the interior features woodwind paneled walls, original fall fixtures, beveled methamphetamine, wood laminate tables, corrode colored tufted booths and an attach cocktail loiter. Serving classic diner food, a moment “ freeze in time ” localization opened in 1979 in Glendale and is still operating today. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2020)
(1977) Buchanan Arms Restaurant & Pub 2013 W Burbank, Burbank, CA 91506. traditional british public house mooch in a comfortable room with colonial-revival wooden chairs, exposed brick walls & red leather booths. It had an outside “ face lift ” in 2015 and replaced its cool old 1970s bless with a modern one. The inside still has a batch of its ’ 70s character left. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY June 2019)
(1977) Giamela’s Lamplighter 9110 De Soto Ave, Chatsworth, CA 91311. late ’ 70s diner-style restaurant with impound loiter. This location merged with Giamela ’ mho bomber in the early ’ 90s. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 2018)
(1977) Steer ‘n Ale 3644 E Foothill Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107. still stuck in 1970s perfection, the Steer ‘ n Ale credibly has not had a bite of remodeling since the day it opened in 1977. With woodwind paneled walls, a bolshevik brick floor, circular booths of cut umber vinyl, fake Tiffany attend lamps, woodwind laminate tables, murals of cowboys and Indians and wooden colonial-style golf club chairs, this is the prototype of a ’ 70s syndicate steakhouse, arrant with day of the week specials and Friday fish and chips. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY February 2019)
(1978) Dong il Jang 3455 W 8th St, Los Angeles, CA 90005. This is the oldest surviving korean restaurant I have been able to locate in the area so far. With a small sum of early korean immigrants arriving after 1905, there were only 650 korean residents in Los Angeles by the 1930s. There was a larger inflow in the mid- ’ 50s after the Korean war ended, particularly after 1965 when immigration laws loosened to the United States. By the late ’ 70s, most businesses in the Olympic Boulevard and 8th Street sphere were owned by Koreans and finally become known as Koreatown. Today, Los Angeles has the largest korean population of any city in the United States. Dong forty-nine Jang, which translates to “ No. 1 in the East ” was opened by Sung Woon Kim in 1978. Serving traditional korean dishes and BBQ in a board with caespitose maroon booths, a koi pond and asian cosmetic elements, son Roy Kim runs day by day operations. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY due to Covid-19 pandemic, August 2020)
(1979) Conrad’s 820 N Central Ave, Glendale, CA 91203. Conrad ’ sulfur opened on Central Ave in Glendale in 1979. It is the second arm of another existing Conrad ’ south in Pasadena, which was built in 1976. They both serve american coffee shop/diner faire. This placement is assailable 24-hours. much of the inside is original late ’ 70s, with blond wood paneled walls, a long dining car antagonistic of wood laminate, polished brick walls and unusual disco era paneled ceiling lights. The dining sphere has big semi-circular booths and 1970s chandeliers, but the upholstery looks like it had a late ’ 80s update. There is an outdoor corrode area and an attached bar with dim fall, more booths and forest beamed ceilings. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY due to Covid-19 pandemic 2020)
(1979) Enterprise Fish Co. 174 Kinney St, Santa Monica, CA 90405. Seafood. Second localization of a 1977 Santa Barbara restaurant. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY due to Covid-19 pandemic, August 2020)
(1979) La Fuente 5530 Monte Vista St, Los Angeles, CA 90042. This little Highland Park Mexican restaurant was opened by Jose Abel Sapien in 1979 and has kept its former ’ 70s authenticity in a quickly gentrifying vicinity. Located in a humble house with original vinyl booths, laminate wood tables and old-world Mexican touches, such as iron lanterns, brick-edged porticoes and woodwind beamed ceilings. In 1993, the lapp owner opened another location of the restaurant, La Fuente # 6 on Figueroa Ave in Highland Park, though not as old, it still has a vintage feel. His brother, Humberto Sapian, owns La Fuente # 4 ( 1988 ) on Colorado Blvd in Eagle Rock. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY December 2019)
(1979) Maria’s Italian Deli 22620 Lyons Ave, Newhall, CA 91321. Located in the same store front in old town Newhall since 1979, Maria ’ mho italian Deli got its start by Maria and Ben Simione in 1973 at other location in Newhall. Part italian market and part delicatessen, there is an inside dining area with tables and a few outdoor seats a well. Serving italian pastas, pizza, substitute and salads, Maria recently retired and the delicatessen was taken over by her niece, Deanna Marie .
(1979) Paru’s 5140 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90027. One of the oldest outlive amerind restaurants in Los Angeles, after Dhaba Indian, which opened in 1972 in Santa Monica. A charm and romantic indoor/outdoor eating area are a surprise when entering from outside farinaceous Sunset Blvd. primitively established in 1975 in Washington DC, it moved to L.A. in 1979. Serving traditional vegetarian Southern Indian cuisine. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY March 2019)
(1979) Spires Restaurant 2590 N Lakewood Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90815. Spires is a chain of Southern California restaurants, serving coffee bean shop american english food, founded in 1965 by greek immigrant John Haretakis. The beginning location, now a Goldenwest Diner, was opened in 1965 on Euclid and Ball Streets in Anaheim. At its peek, there were 30 locations, but today there are only 8 locations left including Carson ( 1971 ), Long Beach 2, Torrance ( 1976 ), Torrance 2 ( 1976 ), Tustin ( 1978 ), Ontario ( 1982 ) and Lawndale. All except the Lawndale localization have an octangular shaped construct, original fictile signs, wood paneled walls and vintage crimson tile on the walls behind the counter. These locations have not been remodeled and are very representative of 1970s restaurant inner decorating with brown or bluish green vinyl upholster booths. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY January 2019)
(1981) Harry’s Family Restaurant 920 N San Fernando Blvd, Burbank, CA 91504. in the first place built in 1964 as a Denny ’ s restaurant, this 24-hour American-style diner became Harry ’ s in 1981. Designed by the celebrated Googie architectural firm Armet & Davis, the build calm features much of the original ’ 60s purpose, such as river rock walls, counterpunch seating and a distinctive roofline. The greenish blue colored booths and picket wood laminate rejoinder were separate of the early early on ’ 80s “ ex post facto ” remodel, but have already become vintage on their own. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY due to Covid-19 pandemic, 2020)
(1981) Las Hadas 9048 Balboa Blvd, Northridge, CA 91325. The early ’ 80s feel is distillery omni-present at Las Hadas Mexican restaurant, with a wood laminate paneled barricade and a country kitchen decorating dodge with floral upholster booths, airport lounge-style carpets and wood table dividers. A dance floor, with its own disco musket ball and ’ 80s neon tube lights, features mariachis on Tuesdays and gets gay on weekends. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY 2021)
(1982) Corrigan’s Steakhouse 556 E Thousand Oaks, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360. Corrigan ’ mho is an eclectic old west-themed steakhouse opened by Tom Corrigan in 1982 in Thousand Oaks, CA. Tom is the son of legendary cowboy actor and stuntman, Ray “ Crash ” Corrigan, who created the 1950s western theme ballpark “ Corriganville ” in Simi Valley out a working movie ranch. Corriganville opened in 1949 and was one of the first theme parks in the country, entire of old western sets that had been used in over 3,000 films. It was a major tourist address, attracting arsenic many as 20,000 people a sidereal day. Bob Hope bought the ranch from Crash Corrigan in 1966 and renamed it “ Hopetown. ” The area is now a park and nature preserve. Corrigan ’ s Steakhouae was built as a tribute to both Crash and Corriganville and features an incredible measure of Old West memorabilia including autograph pictures of western stars, movie costumes, a stage coach hanging from the ceiling, taxidermy, framed movie posters, and an interesting solicitation of memento everywhere the eye can see. Housed in a abject, corner build with brick pare and police van wheels on the front, there is no obvious external clue to the coldness inside. The restaurant is big, with a big wrap around wooden bar taking up the kernel and booths and tables in unlike sections. The ceiling is woodwind beamed and pitched high, with a big brick fireplace and respective exposed brick walls. (Temporarily Closed until February 2019 after March 2018 death of owner Tom Corrigan. New owners are intending to remodel the building, but keep the theme.)
(1985) Hop Louie Old Chinatown, 950 Mei Ling Way, Los Angeles, CA 90012. American-Chinese food. originally opened as the Golden Pagoda in 1941, its building is a 5-tiered pagoda. It became Hop Louie in 1985 and placid retains the original architecture and much of the old school interior decoration. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY August 2016)
(1993) Gary Bric’s Ramp 7730 N Hollywood Way, Burbank, CA 91505. Old school, pallidly lit restaurant with an authentic vintage atmosphere and inside. in the first place opened in 1962, it changed names and owners a few times before becoming the Ramp again in 1993. Sandwiched between ramps for the operating expense 5 Freeway, this locate is an incredible hide jewel. Serving steakhouse do, with affiliated cocktail lounge. (CLOSED PERMANENTLY November 30, 2018)
restaura restaura

Photos by Nikki Kreuzer Photos by Nikki Kreuzer
All photos by Nikki Kreuzer All photos by Nikki Kreuzer