Is Pizza Dough Vegan? (Dominos, Pizza Hut, Papa John’s, etc.)

More pizza places are offering vegan cheeses ( even vegan parmesan ) and meat substitutes like Beyond Meat crumbles .
Most pizza sauce is besides vegan, although not all, so pizza bianca ( no sauce ) is besides a safe option .
But there ’ s one more thing to consider : The boodle might not be vegan as well, since many pizza boodle recipes have dairy and early animal products in them .
I ’ ve tracked down the ingredients tilt of the most popular pizza chains in North America, and we ’ ll look at whether each type of crust they offer is or international relations and security network ’ metric ton vegan.

Is Pizza Crust Usually Vegan?

If you ’ re ordering from another chain, is it safe to assume that the boodle is vegan ?
Or if you ’ re buy boodle in a store, what should you look for in the ingredients list ?
There are a handful of potential non-vegan ingredients in pizza dough :

  • Whey – A cheese by-product (vegetarian, but definitely not vegan)
  • Mono- and di-glycerides –Glycerides can come from plant or animal sources. Short of contacting the manufacturer to check, there’s no way of knowing whether they are vegan-friendly.
  • Sugar – If you’re in the U.S., you should know that some white sugar isn’t vegan due to the use of bone char. This is much less common in Canada, and not a significant concern in other countries.
  • Honey – For some reason, I’ve come across a few doughs with honey (not super common though).
  • Palm anoint – While technically vegan, many vegans don’t eat palm oil. It’s not too common in pizza dough, but a few chains use it.
  • natural flavors –Not too common in pizza dough, but natural flavors may or may not be vegan. It’s an umbrella term that covers both animal and plant ingredients.

Of those above ones, sugar is the most common ingredient, followed by glycerides and whey .
In general, it ’ s not safe to assume pizza boodle is vegan .
It ’ randomness probably something like a 50 % opportunity overall whether or not a random boodle is vegan-friendly. If you want to take that probability, that ’ s your predict .
immediately, let ’ s look at each democratic chain in more detail .

Is Domino’s Crust Vegan?

dominos
unfortunately, all pizza crust at Domino ’ randomness in the United States is not vegan .
presently, there are 5 types of crust, and all of them have some sort of animal component :

  • Brooklyn crust – Whey
  • Handmade Pan Crust – Whey, Natural Butter Flavor (might be vegan)
  • Hand Tossed Crust – Whey
  • Gluten Free Crust – Honey
  • Thin Crust – L-cysteine

Whey is derived from milk and is obviously not vegan. technically the natural butter relish could be vegan, but it doesn ’ metric ton matter anyways since the handmade pan crust has whey in it vitamin a well .
Honey is besides clearly not vegan .
The only one that ’ randomness tied close is the thin crust, although it contains l-cysteine. While some l-cysteine comes from human hair or coal tar, the huge majority is derived from the hairs of animals .

Domino’s in Canada

While I was in the first place writing this, Domino ’ s U.S. web site was all sorts of messed up, so I ’ meter referring to the ingredients for Domino ’ s Canada .
here ’ s an overview of crusts at Domino ’ second :

Crust type Vegan ? Problem Ingredients
Yellow corn meal (sprinkled on crusts) Yes  
Hand tossed No Whey, sugar
Thin crust pizza Yes  
Gluten free No Honey
Pan No Whey, sugar, palm oil
Whole grain No Whey, sugar

The only vegan choice at Domino ’ south is thin crust pizza. The others are distinctly not vegan-friendly .

Is Pizza Hut’s Crust Vegan?

pizza hut logo
It ’ s a spot catchy to find the ingredients for Pizza Hut dough .
If you search about, you ’ ll find a draw of out of date PDFs .
The apparently most up-to-date source of ingredients is this locate if you ’ d like to check them yourself .
here ’ s what I ended up determine :

Crust character Vegan ? Problem Ingredients
Original pan Maybe Sugar
Hand tossed Maybe Sugar
Thin ‘N Crispy Yes  
Original stuffed crust No Cheese

The Thin ‘ N Crispy crust is about surely vegan to me. here is its ingredient tilt :

Enriched Flour ( Bleached Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid ), Water, Soybean Oil, Yeast, Salt .

The original pan and hand tossed crusts are possibly vegan. It ’ s your choice if you ’ d like to take a hazard on the carbohydrate .

Is Little Caesar’s Crust Vegan?

little caesars logo
This was the lone chain I couldn ’ thyroxine find ingredient information of any kind on-line. I ’ megabyte amazed that it ’ south not against some classify of law or regulation .
The lone thing I could find a Reddit mail that said the standard crust ingredients were :

Wheat Flour, Niacin, Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid, Water, Vegetable Oil ( Soybean Oil, Soy Lecithin ), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Yeast, Glucona Delta Lactone, Salt, Baking Soda, Cellulose Gum, SodiumPropionate ( Preservative ), Food Starch-Modified, Corn Syrup Solids, Vital Wheat Gluten, Dough .

That looks vegan to me, but that ’ s not precisely a full source that I trust. personally, I just wouldn ’ thyroxine order from them until there ’ s a better source .

Is Papa John’s Crust Vegan?

papa johns logo
You can find the ingredients in Papa John ’ s boodle here .
There ’ s one potential boastful problem : the pan oil used to cook the pizza is “ canola oil oil with natural butter relish. ”
You can find vegan versions of natural butter relish ( model here ), but it can besides be derived from real butter .
If you ’ re not comfortable taking that risk, Papa John ’ sulfur is not an choice for you at all .
If you are, here ’ s a drumhead of the different crust types :

Crust character Vegan ? Problem Ingredients
Original/Pan Maybe Sugar
Gluten free No Egg whites, whey powder, Sugar
Thin crust No Cultured whey, whey

The gluten absolve and thin crust pizza both have dairy and distinctly aren ’ triiodothyronine vegan .
The newly pan dough is reasonably simple, the only concern is the sugar ( it ’ s likely vegan, just can ’ metric ton be 100 % sure ). hera ’ s what ’ randomness in it :

Unbleached, enriched wheat flour, water, sugar, soy vegetable oil, salt, yeast .

Like allpurpose flour, unbleached flour is besides about always vegan – it ’ s a safe assumption. So are the rest of those ingredients besides the sugar .

Pizza Pizza

pizza pizza logo
I always grew up thinking Pizza Pizza was in the States arsenic well, but obviously it ’ s entirely in Canada .
I included it on this foliate because I was personally curious if they had any vegan pizza, since they do offer vegan cheeses and kernel alternatives .
If you go to this foliate on the Pizza Pizza web site, you can go to “ what ’ mho in it ” and blue-ribbon “ wheat/bread products ” to see the ingredients in their respective dough .
There ’ sulfur a few things I need to briefly explain :

  • Sugar –I’ve still noted it in the summary chart below, but it’s not as big of a concern in Canada. Some suppliers use bone char, but not many.
  • Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Ester of Mono-Diglycerides ( DATEM ) –Just like other glycerides, this may come from a plant or animal source.
Crust type Vegan ? Problem Ingredients
Cauliflower crust Yes  
Gluten free Maybe Palm oil, natural flavors, sugar, distilled monoglycerides
Whole grain Maybe Sugar, Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Ester of Mono-Diglycerides
Classic Maybe Sugar, Tartaric Acid Ester of Mono-Diglycerides

There ’ s no number for thin crust, queerly enough. If I had to, I ’ d assume that it ’ s the like ingredients as the classic crust .
The cauliflower crust is the only certain thing here, but it ’ s a lot more expensive .
Again, I ’ m not besides concern about the sugar. And vitamin a far as the mono-diglycerides go, there ’ s a good chance they ’ ra from vegetable sources, and there besides in the dough in very little amounts .
If you ’ ra all right with that position, then the whole grain and classical crusts are fine for you .

Verdict: Is Pizza Dough Vegan?

As we ’ ve seen, a small helping of pizza dough from pizza chains is decidedly not vegan .
A slenderly larger fortune of pizza dough is vegan, so vegan pizza decidedly do exist. In general, thin crust pizza is your best bet .
But most pizza dough recipes fall into the category of might be vegan. It depends on the specific chain or manufacturer .
In general, I would not be comfortable assuming that those doughs are vegan-friendly, but if you ’ rhenium o with taking that risk, or want to contact the manufacturers, you have those options .
once you find a vegan dough that ’ s correct for you, load up on the vegetables ( e.g. loss onion, mushrooms, etc. ), add vegan cheese, and top with vegan parmesan or spices ( e.g. garlic gunpowder, chili flakes ) if they are available. love !

What About Contamination?

Most pizza places will use the like roll peg for different types of boodle.

As we ’ ve seen, most pizza chains have a blend of non-vegan and vegan doughs. so, depending on how well they clean their roll pins and other equipment, there ’ s likely going to be a small total of contaminant .
This measure is thus modest that I don ’ metric ton think it concerns most vegans, but it might factor into your decisiveness .
You can always make your own pizza at home if you ’ re not comfortable with ordering out from a chain. here ’ s a bang-up simpleton vegan pizza recipe that uses allpurpose flour and yeast sol that the boodle rises .